We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in New Smyrna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Leesburg, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

There are so few places to stay if it's New Smyrna Beach you want rather than Daytona. But Best Western was a surprising and very good experience. It is right on the beach and all the rooms are ocean-view. The motel is just a few blocks from all the restaurants on Flagler Avenue. The way you have to get to the pool area is really awkward and would not be suitable for someone with a walking handicap because of the steps. But the rooms are more than nice. The bedrooms are separate from the small living room/kitchenette area. Rebecca is more than willing to bend over backward to make your stay comfortable. Now that we know this motel, with only a few choices for this location, Is nice, we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the pool side. The north side is rather drab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCA874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard-GM-CHA, General Manager at Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Good morning and "Thank you" for your comments. We do try hard to make every guest feel right at home and have a memorable experience. I agree, pool acces is a bit of a task and wish there was something we could do to make it easier. Years ago we had a great big boardwalk for the guests but the hurricanes took it out and the State of Florida will no longer allow us to rebuild it due to turtle issues. I'm sorry.
Your comments are very much appreciated.

Richard & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    229
    62
    23
    15
See reviews for
332
320
27
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Customers of previous owners Holiday Inn, we were curious to see changes at this perfectly located all beachview hotel. Note, majority of apts are on the oblique and thus face either NE or SE. Access to beach is a bit of a trip down a lot of stairs. Their service staff is very friendly and anxious to help, with an exception at the front desk who seemed a bit preoccupied. Apt is very well equipped, spacious and comfortable. Good beds. adequate kitchen setup. Mgt sent an inquiry re our stay within 24 hrs and actually responded to my replies immediately about the minor inconveniences - I was shocked! I did forget ro tell him that some healthy plantings in their multiple large pots at the entrance would better advertise their caring attitude.

Room Tip: Choose even numbers if you want to see the sunrise (but you get the neighboring tall bldg too). Odd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BPJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard-GM-CHA, General Manager at Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thank you and appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay. I'm really excited you are a repeat customer from our days as a Holiday Inn and will agree, there are a few steps to get to the pool both up and down. But once there, the view is fabulous and just steps from the beach.
We look foward to your next visit with us. Have a great New Year!.

Richard & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2013

The hotel was very nice, and we got an incredible rate on an oceanfront suite with 2 balconies. This hotel is in a fabulous location. But it looks a little run down. What it really needs is an architect to redesign some of the main areas so that one can go from the lobby to the restaurant or to the beach access without walking down a corridor of rooms. And the wild print carpets look out of date. The whole place needs a decorator to go through and get rid of the mish-mash of colors. The bathroom fixtures (toilet) was old, and the bolts holding it in place were rusty. Little things like that. But it still gets a 4 out of 5 because the price for the location was incredible.

Room Tip: Ask for room 615 - a corner suite. You get two balconies. Wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OutdoorGeorgiaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard-GM-CHA, General Manager at Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thank you for your great review. I wish I had met you while here since I'm from Flint, MI as well. Can you please email me at hinsb@msn.com to disucss your review. We just completed a 4 plus million dollar renovation so I'm curious to get your opinion about us needing a facelift.
Thank you again and hope we can be of service again down the oad.

Richard & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed here a night when we arrived in town late. It was the last room available, so technically, not considered the best view, however, when we woke up in the a.m., we had a wonderful view from our balcony, looking northeast, up the beach. The v-shape design ensures that every room faces the beach. The rooms here are "suite-like," with a bed/t.v. in one area and a divider and living room with sofa bed and kitchen in the other, which would make it a nice room for a family with 1-2 children. The full size fridge, stove, microwave and sink also allow for saving money on some meals. Price-wise, it is very reasonable. My favorite feature is being able to walk out right onto the beach. If we didn't have family in town, we'd be here!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgaltravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard-GM-CHA, General Manager at Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Thank you so much for your outstanding review of our hotel. I agree, we are an excellent location with rooms that are set up for families. As you stated you can just step right on to the beach and enjoy a nice walk. Please keep us in mind the next time you are in town and bring your family with you. While in town please try the dining room with the best view of the beach in town, I promise.

Have a great 2013.

Richard & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We just spent the past two days here, the rooms were excellent, the staff was exceptional from house keeping to those at the front desk. We were visiting my parent who were in there mid 80s. Due to a pipe bursting in the main living area we had to find temporary living accommodations. After reading the many reviews we thought we would give it a go. From the first phone call to the time we checked out we were treated well. Although the hotel doesn't come with a free breakfast the restaurant offers a great value menu with excellent food.

The rooms were exceptionally well done suites, not overdone but more functional. Each room appears to have been recently renovated with nice amenities. All rooms face the beach with beautiful views,

Well worth serious consideration if staying in the area.

Room Tip: Higher the room the better the view, however all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelingvince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard-GM-CHA, General Manager at Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
All I can say is, "It was our pleasure to be of service". My staff and I are very pleased you were so happy with our hotel and service.
We wish you a most Happy New Year for 2013 and hope we can servce you again.
Thank you.

Richard & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Best Western - New Smyrna Beach 12/14 - 12/17, and were very pleased with the hotel. We had a suite on the 5th floor that had 2 balconys, allowing us an ocean front view, as well as being able to see the beach both north and south. The staff was very professional and helpful. We noticed that the hotel has recently been upgraded, as everything looks new. The breakfast they served was very good and resonably priced. Very nice servers who made us feel right at home. We look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard-GM-CHA, General Manager at Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Thank you for the very kind words. I can assure you the staff works very hard to make our guests feel at home and very special. As a newly renovated hotel we are very excited moving ahead to be of service to our guests.
Thank you.
Richard & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

My husband and i were told by friends about this hotel, and i am so glad we were. When we checked in we were surprised about how nice the front desk people were and it was so refreshing. The Hotel's Gen.Manager was at the desk welcoming us to the new Best Western Hotel. Mr.Vyse let us know that if there was anything we needed dont hesitate to call him or front desk. We travel alot and we rarelyever see the Managers. Wilma let us know where everything was located in the hotel. She told us about how there Rest had a 2-2-2 special going on, and how there fitness room had been totally renovated along with rest of hotel. My huband and i had the best weekend ever. from the time we arrived to breakfast to the housekeepers it was great. Hats off to Mr Vyse and his Asst Wilma. We will be back in Feb to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. p.s. We Wish everyone who works there a Very Merry Christmas and Happy New Year

Room Tip: We had a room at the end it was a 12 unit they call it. It was the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mathew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard-GM-CHA, General Manager at Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
My staff and I are very excited your stay was such a pleasure. We do try very hard to make our guests stay here a most enjoyable one . Now that renovations are winding down we can really get back to making our guests feel special which is "What we do!". Thank you so very much for you great comments and we are very honored you have chosen us to celebrate your 35th anniversary.
Thank you again and see you in February!

Richard Vyse, Wilma Adams, and staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Smyrna Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Riverview Hotel
The Riverview Hotel
#3 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Islander Beach Resort
Islander Beach Resort
#5 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
Coconut Palms Beach Resort II
#6 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.4 mi away
Coastal Waters Inn
Coastal Waters Inn
#7 of 11 in New Smyrna Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.8 mi away
Black Dolphin Inn
Black Dolphin Inn
#2 of 11 in New Smyrna Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
Address: 1401 South Atlantic Avenue, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32169-3113 (Formerly BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#1 Family Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Smyrna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western-Oceanfront Hotel & Suites is located directly on the Atlantic Ocean. Our balconies offer a breath-taking view of the ocean where you can enjoy a cup of coffee while watching the sun rise or enjoy the activities on the beach. Our Seascape Restaurant has the coast's best view of the ocean with spectacular sunrises. In addition to our beautiful beach, you can view shuttle launches or rockets from the Cape or visit Orlando's attractions, both of which are a short drive away. The Best Western-Oceanfront Hotel and Suites is host to a myriad of events during the Daytona 500 and Bike Week. Our Best Western-Oceanfront is a 100% non-smoking hotel and look forward to serving you soon! We love our guests and we will treat you right! Please note: guests must be 21 years of age or older to check in. We no longer accept pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn New Smyrna Beach (Daytona Beach) Hotel New Smyrna Beach
Holiday Inn Daytona Beach
New Smyrna Beach Holiday Inn
Best Western New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing