We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gulf Sands Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nokomis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gulf Sands Beach Resort
Davison, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a night in March 2014 and had a very nice time. It is a old time motel but very, very nice. Had great view of the sunset and beach was beautiful. Room needed a little update, but other than that is was nice place to stay. Owner was very friendly. If you want quiet and laid back place to stay, THIS IS IT!. We would stay there again. We would rather stay at a little motel like this than a big fancy hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    3
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

This may have been a nice place to stay if it were 1970. Someone needs to give this hotel owner glasses, because either he can't see or he just doesn't give a darn. Saying it is dated is an understatement! It is in a state of disrepair and obviously no one cares to update anything. I'm not saying our room/apt. was totally dirty it was just really ugly, old and not very convenient. The bedding (what there was of it) was horrible and so was the rigged bed. The sheets were black and white (to hide stains?), the bedspread was very dingy and the blanket I found in a closet was filthy. When I attempted to sit on the bed the other side tipped up like I was on a seesaw. Upon further investigation we saw that they put 2 twin foundations facing the wrong way under the mattress. We ended up wrapping ourselves up in our beach towels to sleep, which we didn't get much of because the mattress was so uncomfortable. In order to turn on the ceiling fan, you had to stand on the bed to pull the too short chain! There was a lamp on a nightstand at the foot of the bed which was unusable because their weren't any outlets to plug it in. The only outlet we could find was up next to the wall switch.
The handle on the faucet in the bathroom sink kept falling off and the mismatched towels, besides being undersized they looked as if they had been purchased along with the decorations back in the 70's.
There was also no outlet in the bathroom for a hairdryer etc.
I could go on and on!
The only positive thing I have to say is the beach is pretty but at $125.00 a night it wasn't worth it.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money. Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank TLKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annapolis
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

We spent a week in Feb. at this 'no frills' motel. The owners (Sue and Allen) are extremely accommodating. The rooms vary from really nice to just okay. They were clean and had all the right stuff for our week's stay. The beach was beyond beautiful and if quiet is what you're looking for this is the place. No high rises in this neighborhood and a few really good places to stop for lunch, dinner, drinks or some really good ice cream. I'll be back...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rmw1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

We had the 2 bedroom on the 2nd level looking out at the Gulf. Very beautfiul view. This is 4/10 mile from the main beach and is quiet and peaceful. We took photos of the sunset each night. The other occupants that we met had come there for 22 years. Beds were comfortable, everything in the kitchen and room worked fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VegasRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

We visit Casey key each Christmas and its the highlight of the year! My family have stayed at gulf sands for many years and the location is superb! The beach is just in front of the apartments and the sunsets are exquisite!
The apartments have always been shabby but very clean. This year we were gutted to find the apartments dirty and falling into serious disrepair! The curtains were hanging by one hook and didn't offer any privacy. The bathroom was dirty and the sheets for the beds were like something out of a squat! There also seemed to be some dodgy long term residents in the apartments! Despite having paid for three nights we checked out and went to the Hampton inn where we felt much safer! We were gutted!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank margaret g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

i thank you guys for a nice peaceful enviorment.. cant wait to go back.. i was amazed by how beautiful the sunsets were from my room and outside my room. beach was never to crowded and meet great people. if your looking for a great time this is your place...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melissa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012 via mobile

Website is misleading, location is GREAT. Room was absolutely discusting it appeared it wasn't cleaned in month's for God sake the remote had bugers on it. Bedding hadn't been change in God knows how long, pulled the blankets back and found hair on them. This place could be a GOLD mine, obviously it's not ran RIGHT!!!!!! Will never return there until rooms are updated and they have new management

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nokomis
0.4 mi away
A Beach Retreat
A Beach Retreat
#2 of 12 in Nokomis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
2.3 mi away
Inn at the Beach
Inn at the Beach
#2 of 13 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramada Venice Hotel Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bayside Venice
9.0 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,257 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nokomis Inn and Suites
Nokomis Inn and Suites
#5 of 12 in Nokomis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Sands Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Sands Beach Resort

Property: Gulf Sands Beach Resort
Address: 433 Casey Key Rd, Nokomis, FL 34275-3373
Region: United States > Florida > Nokomis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Nokomis
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Gulf Sands Beach Resort Nokomis, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing