We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nokomis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Suntan Terrace
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Nokomis
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Sebring, FL
24
Reviewed 26 June 2006

I have been staying at Casey Key on and off for years. There are about 5 or so small motels and a few condos, but no high rises. The rest is mansions. The North end is all mansions and a park with a great view and jetties to fish from.

The beach is all public and there are numerous little state owned areas to picnic or stay for the day and also restrooms. Access to the key is via a drawbridge over the intercoastal waterway. Just off of the key are restaurants, stores, and a marina.

We stayed at this motel in June of 2002. It like all of the older motels on the key is over 50 years old. It had been totally remodeled and was very clean. We stayed on the beach side (unit 5 I think). Our room had 2 queen beds, a table, recliner, and kitchen with cooktop, microwave, fridge, and toaster and coffee pot. The bathroom also had a shower/tub and our room had a front and back door. Everything was in good condition and worked.

This motel like most of the others is 2 buildings. The beach side and the bayside. The bayside is a 2 story building and may not have been totally redone. There IS a newer pool (being built during our stay) and a fishing area on the bay. There was a laundry facility but only availiable after hours.

Now for the negatives. The trash storage was in the narrow area behind our room. If you opened the back door, it smelled horrible. After 3 nights our efficiency seemed small and there were no private areas to sit outside, just a small patio area at the beach. The manager was a young man who was not availiable at all hours.

As I have not stayed at this motel in a few years, I do not know about it's condition on the inside, but I just got back from staying at Casey Key and can say the outside was still very clean. However, I doubt the interior could be in as bad of a condition as others described.
There IS now a tiki bar constructed right outside of the room we stayed in and looked crowded with people. Lastly, there is no maid sevice, as with other Casey Key motels. They clean your room, start you off, and you have to exchange towels yourself.

All in all, this was a good motel and one of the few newly remodeled ones at Casey Key. It was very quiet and pleasant during our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 216 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Boston, MA
117
Reviewed 21 May 2006

Ahhhh! Suntan Terrace Beach Resort! Bed sheets that smell like another person's perfume the first night upon check in. Mold growing on the window shades. A kitchen stove caked with food and grease. Feces in the toilet bowl and urine on it's base. A carpet stained so badly it actually stinks and you must wear shoes to walk on it. Venetian blinds missing slats and some attached with paper clips. A second floor children's bedroom window with no screen, unable to close or lock looking over the cement pool. A pool that appears not to have been cleaned since last summer teaming with floating debris and so cloudy you can't see in front of you. Indoor lamps with missing lightbulbs, broken and unusable. Outdoor lights that no longer work. A manager that is never on site and only reachable by phone. A cleaning woman who drinks beer at the unmanned tiki bar during the day and argues she cleaned your room thoroughly.

Sound like your perfect vacation spot! Then stay at the Suntan Terrace Beach Resort on Casey Key! Our advice? Stay down the street at one of the many other gorgeous choices, like we did after spending two nights at the nasty little dump. You'll thank us!

17  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2006

This motel has a very poor record with the Better Business Bureau. (---) Personally, I would never do business with them again. Casey Key is beautiful, and there are many other excellent lodging options further north on the island. Why mar vacation memories by having to do battle over incorrect credit card charges? Do your research and save your vacation!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Service
6  Thank AverageDoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2005

Ok, I'll get the negatives right out of the way. This motel is old and not in the best condition. The grout on the floor tiles is falling out and the tiles wobble when you walk on them. Shower stall is moldy and the water doesn't drain. The kitchen doesn't really have the necessary amenities. No glasses in our room. Refrig and stove are small but ok. The place could really use a good scrubbing. Now with that said, lets get to the positives....
Suntan Terrace is located on Casey Key which the South end has maybe 5 old Florida style motels on. It is dog friendly and has a boat slip with a public launch nearby. (Call 1st about that because it is closed now for construction) The rest of the island consists of mansions and is fantastic for bike riding. Half of the rooms are Intercoastal side and the other Gulf side with 3 units (#1,7 & 8) Gulf front. This portion of the Gulf is great for shelling. The dogs were welcome although I don't think its legal. No signs saying otherwise. You won't see any staff here for the most part. They come in for a few hours to check people in and there gone. No housekeeping services which is fine. A nice quiet little place. I would reccommend this motel but if little things like 2 ply toilet paper, decent towels, wine glasses/opener, etc are important, pack them. Then sit back and enjoy the view!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank FloridaCabinFever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Inglis, Florida
16
Reviewed 21 May 2005

Very nice, wonderful atmosphere. Beach was right at our door. Couldn't ask for more!! Great price of $99 per night on a weekday. Beach wasn't full of people. Room has refridgerator, stove, coffee pot, etc...

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Michigan
15
Reviewed 23 March 2005

I have visited this particular resort off and on for numerous years. The staff treats you like family, the atmoshere is extremley relaxed, and the scenery is awesome. If you enjoy sunbathing, cooking on the grill, walking the beaches, or meeting new friends at the self serve Tiki Bar you will highly enjoy this resort. There are local restuarants in walking distance if you don't feel like cooking. I love this cute home away from home.

  • Stayed: April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
26178
Reviewed 13 December 2004

We travel to the Sarasota area from Orlando several times a year to attend the wonderful plays at the Asolo Theater in Sarasota and have stayed just about everywhere in many price ranges, incuding Siesta Key, Lido Key, Amelia Island, Longboat Key, Venice B & B's, and inland Sarasota. We had no idea Casey Key even existed. What a find! Only a handful of motels on the southmost end of the Key near the south bridge. The rest of Casey Key is all residential homes. No restaurants, no touristy stores (no stores at all), no gas stations, just plenty of quiet and beautiful sandy beach. The motel looks 50's built. Clean and practical tile floors (no dirty carpet here, what a concept!) Room #7 had a combination living room/complete kitchen plus a separate bedroom, and a truly spectacular view of the ocean. There is a Tiki bar where friends gather, but no food or beverage service (bring your own.) If there is a pool we didn't see it, but there are beach chairs at no charge and no hands out for tips every time you turn around. How refreshing. Plenty of dining is availbable off the Key in Nokomis or Venice. During your stay, be sure to drive the length of the Key to gawk at the "hidden retreats" of its wealthy residents. If you need fancy pools, drink service, free breakfast, and "fawning" this is not the place for you. Nothing upscale, a tad worn, but clean and for privacy, beauty, and incredible value, this is gonna to be hard to beat.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nokomis
0.1 mi away
A Beach Retreat on Casey Key
2 mi away
Inn at the Beach
Inn at the Beach
#2 of 13 in Venice
1,336 reviews
1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Nokomis Sarasota Casey Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ramada Venice Hotel Venezia
1.1 mi away
Addys Villas
Addys Villas
#4 of 12 in Nokomis
71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gulf Shore Beach Resort
Gulf Shore Beach Resort
#8 of 12 in Nokomis
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suntan Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suntan Terrace

Address: 117 Casey Key Road, Nokomis, FL 34275
Region: United States > Florida > Nokomis
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Nokomis
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family owned resort on beautiful Casey Key in Sarasota, Florida. We have all newly renovated and individually decorated rooms including studios, kitchenettes, 1 & 2 bedroom apartments and direct beach view apartments. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Suntan Terrace Hotel Nokomis
Suntan Terrace Motel
Suntan Terrace Nokomis, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing