We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best vacation rental experience ever”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Really Private Pool and Private Shower Behind These Palms
Private outside shower
New Italian Leather Sleeper Sofa/Loveseat
Fully Equipped Entertainment Center
Comfortable Seating for Six Guests
Sparkling clean pool!
Kitchen and dining
Kitchen & Dining
Dining room looking to front door.
Seating outside dining room
Master bedroom w LCD TV & i-Pod docking speaker
Lanai from master b to pool
Lanai from pool to master bedroom
Guest bedroom
Guest bedroom w LCD TV and i-Pod dockinfg speakers
Guest Bath
Llarge beach cart is easy to roll with these tires
Captiva entrance at Blind Pass Bridge Village center 2.5 miles past
Beach Path, a two minute walk from the Mermaid
Captiva's 'crowded' beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Captiva Island, Florida

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Dr K
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best vacation rental experience ever”
Reviewed 14 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Best vacation rental experience ever from the minute we walked in the door at the mermaid house we knew we were in for a week of perfection. The house has everything you need to relax and enjoy the wonderful island of Captiva. Stepping out the French doors into the pool finding an oasis of quiet and privacy. The kitchen is well appointed and had everything we needed. The beds were comfortable and everything was very clean. So many little extras including Internet access a full music system with a wonderful selection of music. Appreciate all of the attention to detail that the owner has provided for this charming welcoming rental. Highly recommend and hope to return some day

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NLN59715
Bozeman, Montana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Our FAVORITE place!!”
Reviewed 1 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

My sister and I have a lovely tradition of vacationing in Florida with my now 86-yr-old mother, 83-yr-old aunt and my cousin. This year was our 8th trip, after missing a couple of years for various health reasons.

We've tried three different condos and one other vacation home with pool and after our third visit staying at the Mermaid House I can confirm that it is BY FAR our favorite! It is clean, lovely, unpretentious, and so very comfortable for us. You can tell this place is cared for with love, and we've seen some improvements over the years. The landscaping is lush and beautiful, making the pool and grounds quite private. This year it was a little cool the first two days but the heated pool and various sunny outdoor seating areas made it very pleasant to be outside. Larry is never intrusive but is always attentive to our needs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doymo
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“The Mermaid House is a Wonderful Place to Stay!”
Reviewed 14 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed at the Mermaid House with my parents. We all loved it! It is all on one level which makes it easy. The house presents as very large. There is so much space to spread out. The indoor and outdoor furnishings are very comfortable. It's almost hard to decide where to relax. I'd say the lanai with it's heated pool was a favorite spot. There was plenty of sun and shade with all the tropical vegetation around the home. It's also very quiet. The home is well-appointed with everything you'd need. The owner is very nice and provides a cooler, beach chairs/towels, a pull cart and bicycles. The Mermaid House is a short walk to the beach which is gorgeous. We went every night to watch the sunset. Captiva Village is also just a short walk to enjoy the restaurants and shops. We will definitely stay at the Mermaid House when we return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tallyo
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cute As A "Beach" Button”
Reviewed 18 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We got lucky! There was a cancellation! So glad we found this little jewel to spend our Valentine week. The house was island perfect...Jimmy Buffet tunes greeted us when we opened the front door! Larry has this unique way of greeting his guests...music! Mermaid House has everything you need to make your visit delightful! The screened pool area was private and relaxing. The king sized bed was so comfortable that if the beach and shelling had not been calling in the mornings, one could just snooze away the day! We cooked and grilled several meals in the well stocked kitchen...all utensils and dishes were abundantly provided! The house lives up to its name with the many mermaid works of art decorating every nook and cranny. The house is just absolutely comfortable!!

To get to the beach you do have to zig and zag a bit, but it was an easy little walk. All in all, the house is a perfect getaway if you want a quaint and cozy "Margaritaville" beach cottage with all the amenities! It wouldn't take long for you to find that "lost shaker of salt"!!

Thank you, Larry, for sharing your idyllic Mermaid House! We do hope to return!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda M
Racine, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 19 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Very nice comfortable home. We will reserve for next year. Hoping Bikes are tuned
up and Gas grill clean and ready for us. Very nice location. Pool very clean and nice
but a little chilly.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2017
We can't control the weather. The pool temp could not be held to 85 degrees as the week started with a rare cold front bringing several days of temps in the 40s at night. It did recover by later in the week as expected. The grill could easily be cleaned by pre-heating the burners for 15 minutes and use of the supplied grill brush (found inside the grill) as explained to our guests. The remarks on the bicycles still puzzle me, as there were 4 bikes for two riders and no mention of any issue was made during the stay. This is our first less than 5 star rating since 2010! As a final note, the guests have already reserved the house for next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail C
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“We already booked again for next year!”
Reviewed 7 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely home! There is so much to do on Captiva, or you can do nothing and float in the pool all day. (Our choice). This house is really well cared for and we lacked for nothing. Clearly great effort has been put into planning a restful stay for guests at Mermaid House. We were so sorry to leave, that within a few weeks of coming home we booked this home again for next year. We love Mermaid House!
We recommend sunsets on the beach, The Ding Darling nature preserve (bring your binoculars), Cayo Costa shelling cruise, Il Cielo for a fine dinner and Baileys for groceries on the island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Heated pool, house is quite private but can walk to everything. Lush landscaping.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Reviewed 27 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How friendly the house seemed.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing