We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great beach front”

Review of 163-Pelican Pointe

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Captiva Island, Florida

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jenn219
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Great location but house needs attenion”
Reviewed 19 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012

We stayed at Pelican Pointe over the Thanksgiving holidays. This property offers the best location, the best views, hot tub with views and elevator. The owners/management need to read these reviews and take action. The house needs attention. Most of the previous complaints cited were still not addressed when we arrived. I had to borrow supplies from the clubs own kitchen to cook spaghetti...no stock pot! Crazy when it's so simple to fix. The dining roon is next to impossible to seat 6 let alone 8! Broken dining chairs that are very dangerous. My biggest disappointment was the "4th bedroom". This is a 3 bedroom house with a den . The 4th room has no door and no privacy and sits right off the dining/kitchen area . I never would have rented it if I had known.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: It's a three bedroom not a 4 as advertised
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gigi F
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Great beach front”
Reviewed 2 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

This is a pretty well equipped home. However, we arrived during Tropical Storm Debby and the entire island was flooded. The golf cart would not go through the roads that were now rivers. Our part of the island was pretty flooded for 3 days so we were under house arrest. We enjoyed the hot tub--although the top was pretty unsightly with a film of scum on it. It was nice to have a second large fridge, but the kitchen freezer did not make any ice which was frustrating. The kitchen is pretty well equipped but did lack a large stock pot and the blender was missing the top. The dining area is really tight and some of the chairs were damaged and dangerous to sit in. The beds were nice and comfortable. We had more problems with management than we did with the house. The master tub did not drain and our calls were ignored by the NCIC. Finally they did respond when we made a personal visit to the office and they did finally clear the drain. There was a lot of broken glass surrounding the property and there was a huge bee nest on the second level near the elevator. The elevator was a godsend getting our stuff to the main floor. Some of the screen has large holes so we plugged them with some tin foil. Don't get me wrong, we'd surely rent this house again as the view is completely amazing and the fact that you don't have to rely on loading a golf cart to go to the beach--- you can walk right out the back door to your own private beach. We saw boats catching big tarpon in the pass which was fun to watch although our fishing only netted about 2 dozen catfish... that may have been due to the weather. We did have about 3.5 hours of power outage on our first day. We did not realize the water ran on a pump so we had to improvise with bathroom options until power was restored. The only extra tv was in the master, but the fact that we were inside for 3 days, it would have been nice to have another for the kids to hook up their Xbox in another bedroom. The house had lot of fun games, cards and poker chips which come in handy when you need a break from the sun. It was a good time and just advise you to keep on management b/c they do have a habit of ignoring you unless you show up in person. Took a while to figure out wifi passcode, but it's on the back on of the router. Lots of handicapped accessibility for older folks with elevator and grab bars in master bath.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beach front
Liked least: crowded dining area, damaged dining chairs and lack of response from management
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2012
Thanks for your review. Tropical Storm Debbie put us behind on service calls with leaks and damaged golf carts. Due to high winds our staff could not get to the island for service for 36 hours. Thanks for your patience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OH
Reviewed 25 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New Hampshire
Reviewed 17 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: proximity to beach
Travelling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FL
Reviewed 4 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Travelling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$278
/ Night
Book Now
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing