We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing beach vacation with very few complaints”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 069-Casa La De Da

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Captiva Island, Florida

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
christyu4...
Miami, Florida
1 review
“House needs TLC”
Reviewed 2 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We have been vacationing at North Captiva Island for the past 7 years and we love it! Every year we pick a different house to vacation at. It makes each years experience at NCI a little unique. This house was by far the WORST we have ever stayed at. We had issues with the water, cleanliness, locks on doors and windows, and insects. Even though the NCI staff tried their best to fix all the issues, the house still needs a lot of TLC. It seems the owner has abandoned it. The only positive point was the location of the house...very close to the beach. Some houses that I do recommend...Sea Glass, Key Lime Time, What the Shell, Casa del Sol, and Green Flash.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caesarvir...
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
“Relaxing beach vacation with very few complaints”
Reviewed 4 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We all know the old saying “a visit to the beach is cheaper than therapy”, and I can veritably attest that when it comes to North Captiva Island in Florida, USA, this statement could not be truer. It might be how the island is only accessible by small plane and ferry, the small selection of restaurants and stores, the lack of cars and abundance of golf carts, or the friendly nature of all residents and vacationers. With perfectly hot afternoons sandwiched between brisk mornings and evenings, North Captiva Island’s weather can’t possibly have a complaint! As mentioned earlier, the island doesn’t have a broad selection of eateries, and while some may see this as a bad thing, it’s quite the opposite. There are a total of four establishments one can get some fulfilling island and traditional American food: Mango’s Poolside Café and Bar, Barnacle Phil’s, The Boat House, and Over the Waterfront. All said restaurants are delicious, filling, and family friendly! When visiting the island and wishing to eat at OTW or Boathouse, it is important to book a reservation for your party at least a week before your desired date, as they are smaller establishments, therefore filling up quickly. Another factor to consider when eating out on North Captiva is the price of the restaurants, which can get rather high, but not outrageous. The big draw for me were the beaches. North Captiva’s beaches are not the typical Floridian beaches with dark teal, murky waters. North Captiva’s beaches look like they are straight from the Caribbean, with crystal blue waters and light sand beaches. The water is icy and refreshing, and the sand is just warm enough to make your toes toasty if you stay in one spot for too long. An interesting and popular activity on North Captiva is swimming out to the sandbar on the main beach. Maybe a hundred feet from the shore lies a small sandbar where anyone of any age could spend an hour or so combing through the sand and shallow waters, picking up shells, sand dollars, and bird feathers. In all, North Captiva Island is a safe, fun, tranquil beach vacation for youth and adults of all ages! I highly recommend at least one visit to this island getaway in one’s lifetime.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth H
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, house needs lots of attention”
Reviewed 6 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We had 6 adults, 5 children for a stay over Christmas and New Year's Eve. This was our first visit to North Captiva. The size of the house worked really well with sufficient beds and bathrooms though the hot water could not keep up with the needs for showers. The porches on both levels were very nice tho the furniture was not comfortable. The location is terrific with a very short walk to the beach and easy walk to Mango's and the big pool. The small heated pool was a nice feature. We had a rickety golf cart and because it was such a busy week no replacement was available. The house is for sale and it seems that a lot of maintenance has been deferred--the decks show a lot of wood rot, the furniture cushions are shot, the tiled dining table is missing tiles-- things like that.The kitchen was equipped with plenty of plates, bowls, silverware, but very few glasses. We were glad we had brought a lot of plastic cups. We pre-ordered our groceries from Public and that process worked very well--which is good because there is little ability to buy anything once on the island. The logistics of the ferry and luggage transfer, coming and leaving, were smoothly handled. Our sink backed up on New Year's Day and we did get service that evening (after two calls)to clear the problem. We luckily found a dilapidated umbrella in the garage--it would be really helpful if umbrellas were available in the way beach chairs are. The family agreed it was a really good trip and spent a lot of time at the beautiful beach, but we would not recommend this particular house.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Booneidee
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great house, odd management”
Reviewed 9 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

House was perfect for two families with four young children. Plenty of room. Small pool suited kids well. Furniture was comfy and sturdy, not pristine but in great shape. Easy short walk to beach -could go back and forth to get a snack or use the bathroom easily. Great shelling at the beach; not crowded at all. Saw lots of wildlife from turtles to birds to manatees and dolphins. Loved the house and the island. Only complaints: 1) only one person could shower at a time in this house with five bathrooms! water simply wouldn't work if it was being used elsewhere. 2) the stairs were steep and one step was slightly off, several of us tumbled on that step

The management company runs a shop, two restaurants and the housekeeping, etc. Housekeeping and maintenance were helpful and kind. All personnel were pretty nice. But there were a lot of things that were a bit off or weird regarding how the whole thing was run. No ice in bar or store. They told us no ice on the island because a machine was broken but then Barnacle Phil's had ice. There were no umbrellas, we had to buy. The golf cart wasn't in great shape. We got mixed messages from different staffers in the office. When booking, sometimes I got immediate responses, sometimes people responded and sounded confused about my requests. These are just a few things that happened, and they are small...but there were a lot of little oddities every time we interacted with the club and services. We will probably return but if anything gave us pause it was the management of the club.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and house
Liked least: Management
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review! We are glad you enjoyed the island and the home. Casa La De Da has a wonderful locating so close to the beach and it's own private pool is wonderful for families. We apologize for any confusion you encountered and for the ice machine being broken. We hope you visit North Captiva again!

Thank you,

The North Captiva Island Club Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
audreylev...
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect family getaway”
Reviewed 26 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Great location and perfect house for a family vacation- huge common area for hanging out and playing games. Service on the island could not have been better. We would definitely go back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review! We are glad your family enjoyed the home and the island. Hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,

The North Captiva Island Club Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI
Reviewed 9 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Apr 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review. We are glad you once again enjoyed North Captiva, especially the beach!

We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,

The North Captiva Island Club Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lino Lakes MN
Reviewed 29 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Mar 2014
Thank you for your very kind review and for continuing to make North Captiva part of your annual travel for 16 years! We love hearing the staff was able to help during your stay - we will pass along your kind words!

We look forward to your next visit!!!

Thank you,

The North Captiva Island Club Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing