We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and Restful Family Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
South Seas Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful and Restful Family Vacation”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We rented a house that was perfectly suited for our family of 7. The housekeeping staff was outstanding, bringing whatever items we needed during our week's stay. The house was clean and comfortable and close to the beach. The resort facilities were readily available and always clean. This is my second stay at South Seas and highly recommend this to families. Our family will plan another vacation stay there.

Room Tip: Talk to the people who rent the houses....they know the perfect type of accommodation for whatever s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for returning to South Seas Island Resort and sharing your feedback. The private homes are a great option for families and friends to stay together while also enjoying a little more privacy. Cheryl, our reservation representative for the homes, is certainly a tremendous asset to the resort with her knowledge of each home and the amenities on property.

We look forward to your next visit.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,541
    892
    474
    217
    165
See reviews for
1,772
835
25
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (912)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My wife and I have never been to the West Coast of Florida before and a friend suggested that we would like The South Seas Island Resort on Captiva Island. He was wrong....we fell in love with it. South Seas is a complete resort. It has beaches, pools, golf, boating, activities for young and old. We stayed in a room at the Marina with a view of the harbor. It was across the road from the beautiful par three golf course and Sunset Beach. The balcony room allowed us to view the comings and goings of boats large and small. The room was spacious with two extremely comfortable queen size beds, a flat screen t.v., microwave and fridge and a safe for valuables. The bathroom had a double sink, large bath tub and shower and a separate water closet.

The property is spectacular and the sunsets are truly romantic. There are several restaurants on the property that serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. For those who wish a quick bite, there's Scoops and Slices, a throw back to a fifties ice cream and pizza parlor. They even have a ships store where you can buy anything from a breakfast or lunch sandwich to wine or spirits or suntan lotion and snacks. No need to drive your car around the two mile long property. The resort provides a trolley that goes from the marina to the front gate. It runs every fifteen minutes until about 11:00 p.m. For those who prefer to go it alone, bikes and golf carts are available for rent.. Captiva is a magical island and South Seas Island Resort makes even more special.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the north side of the resort. It's close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank papaphila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. Captiva is a very special place and I'm happy to read that you have found your paradise. We look forward to your return.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband and I had a fantastic time at South Seas! I was a little wary based on the reviews I'd read, but everything was absolutely wonderful. The pools and grounds were gorgeous, the beaches pristine, and our room was comfortable and clean. The restaurants are pricey, but what I would expect to pay at a resort. The staff was helpful and respectful. We loved the relaxed, low key feel of the resort. We had a wonderful week, can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank W7589LG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review. I'm glad you and your husband were able to relax while with us and we look forward to providing many more wonderful experiences while at South Seas Island Resort.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had seen this resort on a prior trip to Captiva - and I read reviews that were hit-or-miss, so I was hopeful it would be a "hit" since it looked nice on the outside. We rented a beach villa for Mother's Day weekend.

We arrived at our condo to find popcorn everywhere, trash on the floor, an unmade bed, and worst of all, a full toilet that had been like that long enough to permeate the condo with a stench. I have never had that kind of experience anywhere, including plenty of far cheaper hotel and motel rooms. We called the front desk and housekeeping, and finally left for dinner after nobody appeared. When we came back, we found housekeeping finishing the clean several hours after our discoveries.

This was obviously a horrific start. But all in all, it was a nice condo on the top floor, pretty comfortable, and quiet. The beach is right there and chairs and umbrellas were available for guests. We had a nice time. We wanted to extend our checkout from noon but when we asked, we were told "checkout at noon is complimentary" which sounded a little weird.

I would have liked to give a better review but first impressions mean a lot, and this one could not have been worse if they tried. I honestly looked for the hidden camera hoping we were on some sort of joke show. Not sure I would take a chance and come back. There are plenty of places on Captiva that wouldn't make this kind of mistake.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tony053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. I'm embarrassed to read of your arrival experience and understand how that would impact your experience. Please email me at asmith2@southseas.com so we can discuss your stay further.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My husband, 22 month old son, in-laws and I spent a lovely 6 day stay at this resort the end of April. My mother in-law chose this place based on its reviews in Parents magazines. They were right! South Seas is a perfect place for families of all ages. We stayed in a beach villa which included two beds, two baths, a living room, fully equipped kitchen and beach front screened in balcony. We had everything we needed to be self sufficient but the grand thing was we had all the amenities of a hotel... Cleaning service, pack-n-play provided, we even could have had our fridge stocked. We were yards from the beach and a trolley ride away from fun in the sun. There is a pool complex with 3 different pools for any age. My toddler loved the zero entry kid pool. I loved the frozen drinks! There's even an indoor play center with arcade and toddler toy zone. Quite clean too!
A lot of folks on Trip Advisor have been commenting on run down facilities. I think since then they've made many updates and improvements; updated decor, new bathroom fixtures. Our kitchen had all stainless steal appliances! Better then my own house.
We didn't pay for half of this trip, thanks to our parents. However, I can tell you, it isn't cheap. Skip the buffet breakfast and eat at RC Otters. Food and beverages on the resort must be purchased with the room key, no cash. Try to eat and drink off campus. There are so many great places on the island, try them all! If you have the funds, I'd definitely recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Beach villas are great! Quiet and closer to town and shopping. Loved the end unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathrynD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for bringing the family to South Seas Island Resort. I'm glad you all had a great time and we look forward to your return.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
147 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Banging doors, some that do not close automatically, paper thin walls, stained disgusting carpet, ants and little bugs in room, screaming children and loud vacationers everywhere, staff who are their own 'island' time, sad choices for breakfast/lunch/dinner-everything very expensive, cocktail/dinner events directly below your room, the list goes on. If a 'resort' is what you want, think again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank overdoityks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. I apologize that it did not exceed your expectations. I welcome the opportunity to discuss your visit in further detail if you would please reach me at asmith2@southseas.com.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
307 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Just returned from another stay at South Seas Resort. My wife and I have been visiting since the remodel about 8 years ago. Multiple visits over the past 8 years some by boat docking at the marina and many at the hotel and rental homes. This time we were in a one bedroom beach villa.

Check in was not up to par. We drove to the hotel and had confirmed our arrival time and that the room would be ready the day before. Despite this the check in attendant assured us the room was not ready at 1pm when we arrived. I assured her I thought it was - and after a bit of attitude and tussle she found out that yes, indeed it was ready complete with a welcome package already delivered and in the room from my staff.

The rooms now need another round of updating. they are starting to show age and simply are average at best. Service also needs a step up from previous visits. This time it was nearly impossible to get a drink at the main pool. Despite renting a cabana for 225 per day we finally walked over to the bar, struck up a conversation with the bartender and he took care of us. Wish I would have gotten his name to add to this review. 6 hours later when we were leaving an attendant showed up and wondered where we got all the empties - that pretty much sums it up. we tipped the bartender very well and appreciated his solving the problem.

Dinner at the Harbour restaurant was good. Menu is well thought out and the new chef has some great dishes - try the Moroccan group! had some good service in that venue.

Breakfast options are very limited.

All in all, still a good location and offering for families but be prepared for some service issues.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for returning to Captiva and sharing your review. I apologize for the error at checkin. Please contact me prior to your next visit at asmith2@southseas.com so we can ensure a better experience.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
2.8 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
12.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,251 reviews
12.2 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
669 reviews
15.6 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,501 reviews
10.3 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Seas Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Seas Island Resort

Property: South Seas Island Resort
Address: 5400 Plantation Road, PO Box 194, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Seas Island Resort is located on 330-acres on tropical Captiva Island, on the west coast of Florida, just off the beaches of Fort Myers, Fl. South Seas is an iconic resort village combining a natural wonderland with modern resort amenities and accommodations. The resort offers many styles and sizes of accommodations including guestrooms, one to three bedroom villas (condominiums), cottages and spacious private homes. Activities at the resort include tennis, golf, water sports programs including kayak tours, boating and parasailing. Kids will have a great time at the Sanibel Sea School while learning about the surrounding environment. Enjoy three lagoon style pools, complete with private cabanas located at the Pointe and H2Whoa! With two fun water slides. The resort also features some of the best shelling in the world on the miles of sugar sand beach. For relaxation, the Kay Casperson Boutique and Spa is located in the South Village, providing special pampering with a complete spa treatment menu.Dining at South Seas Island Resort is as varied as the activities, with The Harbourside Bar and Grill and The Pointe located at North Pointe. Visit Scoops & Slices, located next to The Pointe, for ice cream or coal fired pizza. In the South Village, other options include Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille, Starbucks and the Captiva Provision Company, a gourmet deli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your South Seas Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Seas Island Hotel Captiva Island
South Seas Island Captiva
South Seas Island Resort Captiva Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing