We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family vacation but a few hiccups to start”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
South Seas Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great family vacation but a few hiccups to start”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

My family and I just got home from a week at South Seas. Our vacation didn't start off on a good note. We got to the resort at 3. They told us our room would be ready by 4. 4 came 430, and 5. I call and they told us they would find out. No call back for an hour. Finally at 6 I call and they tell us our room is ready. We booked a harborside waterview room, which had a great view. After the mess with the room we wanted to get changed and have dinner but our luggage didn't show up for another 2 hours. The person I spoke to was understanding and said they would send a voucher for dinner.

The next day we came back to the room at 5 and the room hadn't been serviced. At 6 the maid knocks on the door and handed us towels saying something about her shift ending. The next day, no maid service at all. We called and complained but nobody seemed to think it was a big deal. Finally the next day they got their act together and the room was serviced every day while we were at the beach..

Remember that dinner voucher I was promised? We arrived Sunday and that's when I was told I would get it. Tuesday I call the front desk and they acted like they had no idea what I was talking about or didn't care. They said would call back in a few. No call back. Finally the next day I call the main number and they knew what was up and had it sent right over. That was the end of any negative experiences on the trip.

The people who work at the restaurants, pool, stores,and beach are extremely nice and very attentive. They were amazing. The wait staff at the harborside restaurant were top notch. They went out of their way to make our stay great. Also Caitlin at Skullys was great with my young son.

Overall it's a nice place. It's kept clean, the point and harborside restaurants are great, and the beaches are awesome. If you are from the northeast don't get pizza at scoops and sliced but the ice cream is fine. The harborside water view rooms were great aside from the maid issue. Also harborside restaurant is a little pricey but nothing too crazy in comparison to other resorts. Outside the resort down the street there were a few good restaurants we tried which were the Bubble Room( weirdest place on earth), Mucky Duck, and Cantina Captiva. Those were all good places and easy on the wallet. Also bring bug spray. We were eaten alive at night by the "no see ums".

I just think the front desk acted like they didn't care most of the time and the maid service was iffy at the start. The trolley drivers were always in a bad mood in the evening too. They had no care if people were running for the trolley in plain sight or if a small child said thank you when exiting. If these things could be improved on this would be a 5 star review.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VinceVsound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. On behalf of the entire team, I apologize for the hiccups you did encounter. The breakdown in communication we had as a team is correctable and this feedback can be used as a teachable moment to understand how our errors impact guests in real ways.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future and providing an exceptional experience.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,520
    871
    460
    213
    156
See reviews for
1,731
822
25
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (892)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn NY
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

A 330 acre property this place is BIG but has a tony resort feel as they break up the properties into smaller sections. It reminds me a lot of Tortola B.V.I., which is one of our favorite islands. The suites were spacious, spotless and ours had a Murphy Bed and a convertible sofa, could have slept 6. King-size bed with an en-suite bathroom and a 2nd one down the hall. Most importantly, ceiling fans in every room and they were huge. Many places to eat here as you explore the property, we chose The Pointe for lunch which is located north of the resort and you can drive, walk, take the trolley, rent a bicycle or rent a golf cart to get there. The Pointe has indoor and outdoor seating with a huge wraparound porch with big ceilings fans. The Pointe overlooks the pool, the beach and the ocean which equals -Paradise. The food was fine and hit the spot and the service was excellent, Shareka thank you. (I hope I have her name right)

The second day we headed south so I rented a golf cart which, in my opinion, is the best and most fun way to get around the island, $125.00 for the day and worth every penny. There are plenty of things to keep you busy, shopping-wise there is nothing they don't have whether it's souvenirs, casual wear, restaurants. You can't cover this all in even two days but you can only take the golf cart as south as the Green Flash Bar but don't worry, that covers plenty of territory. There is a Starbucks right outside the front gate, which is in walking distance from the suites. You can also rent a bike, powerboat or pontoon boat to take out in the Bay. Plenty of things to do for the kids, great place for couples and singles will have more than enough locations to go bar-hopping. We will definitely be going back, flying into Ft. Myers this time. Great place, very-friendly staff with beautiful surroundings equals Captiva-ting.

Room Tip: Try and get the Bay side suites as the docks provide much better light at night as opposed to the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your experience at South Seas Island Resort. I'm glad you took advantage of so many of the offerings and thank you for highlighting Shareka at the Pointe. We look forward to your return.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

My family spent a week at South Seas over Spring Break (April 2014). We loved every minute of it. Our room was clean and spacious on the harbor side with a view of the Gulf as well. We loved watching the dolphins constantly performing for us right outside our window. The food choices were many on the island itself with several right on the resort. The ice cream & pizza shop right on the resort was our kids favorite! There are many activities for families that are free (scavenger hunts, crafts, miniature golf, swimming, water slides). The staff was fantastic. I would bring your own drinks, alcohol (if you want) and snacks because the local stores are pricey. The beaches were beautiful and not really very crowded. Seashell hunting was amazing! An affordable, family friendly resort! We would definitely go back!

Room Tip: We like the Harborside rooms for the view and the dolphin/manatee watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thanks for staying at South Seas Island Resort. We're glad you and your family enjoyed the beach, pools, restaurants, and all the activities found right here on the resort. We look forward to welcoming you back.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I was fortunate enough to grow up vacationing with my family at South Seas on Captiva for over 20 years during the 80's and 90's early 2000's.....always have fantastic memories. After a 10 year hiatus, we returned and were so please that the resort is still such a special place. We had heard that the hurricane some years ago devastated the property, but we found it to be in pristine condition and very well managed. The golf course was especially in fantastic shape.....golfer friendly and great views of the ocean. The GM, Shawn Farrell, and the Golf Operations Manager, Brian Cooper, were especially hospitipal. This resort is a no brainer for an epic family vacation! Cheers, Paul R.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Welcome back to South Seas Island Resort and thank you for sharing your experience. The Captiva Course is a great little Par 27 course and Brian has done a great job running the show. Thank you for mentioning him and we look forward to your return.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at the resort for 2 nights in a Bayside Villa that overlooked the bay. The room was so spacious and clean and could easily sleep 4 very comfortably. I was amazed at the size of the resort - the numerous activities - the trolly - the 2 beaches (which we did end up using). I honestly cannot say enough, the whole experience was awesome and I look forward to taking our family back and staying in the beach villas at this resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmrockstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thanks for staying at South Seas Island Resort and sharing your review. If we can help with planning for your next visit, please let us know.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seminole, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Just wanted to put in writing that we stayed at South Seas the week of June 15, 2014. I believe when someone does a great job you should say something. Steve at the big pool gate does a wonderful job of making everyone feel welcome. He's attentive to everyone both on your way in and out! Steve adds to the resorts atmosphere!! Debbie K.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for mentioning Steve at the Resort Pool Complex. He has been a wonderful addition to the team and he appreciates you taking the time to recognize his efforts. We look forward to welcoming you back to Captiva soon.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

The hotel is located at the end of the island, has his own beach, the rooms are very nice and comfortable, services is very nice, all attractions are near to the hotel and don't miss the sunset...is amazing!!!.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Santiago C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your review of South Seas Island Resort, Santiago. We appreciate you staying with us and we look forward to your return.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
2.8 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
12.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
12.2 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
15.6 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,396 reviews
10.3 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Seas Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Seas Island Resort

Property: South Seas Island Resort
Address: 5400 Plantation Road, PO Box 194, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Seas Island Resort is located on 330-acres on tropical Captiva Island, on the west coast of Florida, just off the beaches of Fort Myers, Fl. South Seas is an iconic resort village combining a natural wonderland with modern resort amenities and accommodations. The resort offers many styles and sizes of accommodations including guestrooms, one to three bedroom villas (condominiums), cottages and spacious private homes. Activities at the resort include tennis, golf, water sports programs including kayak tours, boating and parasailing. Kids will have a great time at the Sanibel Sea School while learning about the surrounding environment. Enjoy three lagoon style pools, complete with private cabanas located at the Pointe and H2Whoa! With two fun water slides. The resort also features some of the best shelling in the world on the miles of sugar sand beach. For relaxation, the Kay Casperson Boutique and Spa is located in the South Village, providing special pampering with a complete spa treatment menu.Dining at South Seas Island Resort is as varied as the activities, with The Harbourside Bar and Grill and The Pointe located at North Pointe. Visit Scoops & Slices, located next to The Pointe, for ice cream or coal fired pizza. In the South Village, other options include Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille, Starbucks and the Captiva Provision Company, a gourmet deli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your South Seas Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Seas Island Hotel Captiva Island
South Seas Island Captiva
South Seas Island Resort Captiva Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing