We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Resort Guests Get Ready to be Disappointed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
South Seas Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Hotel Resort Guests Get Ready to be Disappointed!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I spent the first day of our three night stay trying to overlook all the things I thought were mediocre. I had heard from several Floridians how much they enjoyed going to Captiva so I thought surely if I gave it time I would see only the positives. My three night stay only reinforced the negatives that outweigh the positives. The one positive is the beach but even this has a down side. Your resort fee covers the beach chairs and umbrellas which are set up by an overworked staff. All three days I had to wait for assistance to get 4 chairs and it was only on the last day that I got 2 umbrellas. Believe me you need them if you are spending any amount of time at the beach. If the resort would properly staff the beach there would be several attendants working with the resort guests. Not having enough resort staff was a common theme throughout our stay. The staff was accommodating but there were too few people to fulfill everyone's needs. The only person from the staff that was actually rude was the gentleman who checked us in.
The rooms at the resort are equivalent to a low 3 star hotel. The problem with this is that they are charging rates equal or surpassing several lovely 4 star hotels in southwest Florida. I can't imagine paying their high season rates over the winter months for these less than average rooms.
The other mistake I made was to think that "resort" meant that all my wants would be met at the property. The food was mediocre at best. We had to drive off property for breakfast and dinner every day. And for those of you who still think you want to venture to Captiva I would also caution you to be very careful with the island dining choices. The Captiva House and The Mad Hatter stand out and are worth the extra dollars. Most other spots like the Key Lime Bistro are horrible!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suef786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,520
    870
    460
    213
    156
See reviews for
1,730
822
25
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (891)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

The pictures really make this place look like a tropical paradise and it is really billed as one of the most family friendly resorts in the country. Our one bedroom "beach view" room was very spacious, although we really couldn't see the beach from our 2nd floor balcony. Tile floors in the room really could have used a good scrubbing, especially around the perimeter of the room. The living room television was huge by hotel standards which was nice since we caught a rainy day on our first day. The kitchen itself was nice, but our coffee pot really didn't work well, nor did our toaster. The poolside tiki bar was being rebuilt while we were there so we were unable to make use of it. The beaches are very beautiful and unspoiled by the condominiums that often block up much of the skyline on more populated beaches. Be sure to bring some insect repellent though as we really were eaten alive by the "sand fleas". Not sure if that's a seasonal thing? The additional pools in between our room and the beach could have used some pool towels. While there was an overflowing return bin of used towels there while we visited, you must go out to the beach to get a blue towel to use at the pool. The housekeeping is a little unusual in that they deposit a bag of "fresh" towels for the room outside of your door in the early hours of the morning. We weren't really sure if we were supposed to put our dirty towels back in the bag and drop them outside of our door? All of the towels smelled as though they had been washed in vinegar.......not the usual fresh bleach smell that you find at most hotels(strange right?). Be aware that with the exception of Doc Ford's(not owned by the resort) which stays open till 10pm, most of the resort shuts down at 9pm so if you are looking for a little "night life" you will NOT find it here. Alcoholic beverages that we purchased were not really a good value. $10 buys you a drink that I would guess was about 8 ounces, served in a plastic Dixie cup. You should also be aware that in addition to your nightly room charge there is a daily resort fee, state sales tax, and county tax applied to your room. In our case it was an additional $74 per day. An 18% gratuity is automatically added to your meals. This seemed to make getting water and coffee refills a bit tough at breakfast. We are also in the habit of tipping 20% for good service. The ice cream set up at Scoops was really nice, but also the floors were a bit on the dirty side.

I would like to recognize 3 really great individuals who went above and beyond. The lady at the front desk who checked us in was very friendly and helpful. The "F&B" manager at the bar/restaurant closest to the main pool actually bought a round of smoothies for the kids in our group and the other kids ducking in out of the rain on our first day which we thought was really nice. Also, the lady at the omelet station on our first visit to breakfast actually went to the back to get some sun dried tomatoes even though there weren't any out in the omelet options. Wish I had their names. Overall though I would say there really wasn't anything that would compel us to come back here. Just feel like our money could have been better spent somewhere else.

Room Tip: Beach view does not guarantee you a view of the beach itself based on proximity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulea, Sweden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We chose this hotel after having checked out earlier because of cockroaches on our previous hotel. Coming here was like reaching heaven after being in hell. Instead of cockroaches, we saw dolphins playing. Our flat was spacious, with large balcony, washing machine and a big jacuzzi bathroom. The pool area was excellent for children. Staff friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverview, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I booked a one bedroom condo in the tennis club villas for 6 nights for myself, husband and our two kids. We are on day 5 now and the place is great. We got a Florida resident special rate which included one free night and free breakfast buffet for kids 12 and under with paying adult. The buffet was very good but pricey (over $50) for two adults. The room is clean, comfortable and has a full kitchen. Each set of villas has their own pool. We do not have direct beach access over here but it's only a short walk across the street or a short trolley ride to the north end of the island. Kids are loving all the pools, water slides and nature we are surrounded by. We've seen manatees, found sandollars, starfish, hermit crabs and heard there are dolphins that come to the marina in the evenings. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The island is very large and private. They offer every water sport and activity we could think of. There is a $6 toll to get on the island so bring cash or have a sun pass. Outside the resort there is two grocery stores, restaurants, bookstores, shopping and cvs pharmacy. I would definitely recommend this place and hope to come back again.

Room Tip: If you want to be near the pools and activity center stay on the north end of the island. South end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainbowspice420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a short visit. The villa we stayed in was basically a privately owned condo that is being rented out by the resort. It was clean and nice. Not amazing for the price. The bathroom was tiny and could do with a little upgrading. We had a nice view of the marina. Beware the "no see um" at dusk. Bring some bug spray. The beach was beautiful and the water very clear. We enjoyed the ability to rent and ride bikes all over the complex. There were lots of bicycle racks for you to secure your bike. They have a really cute old fashioned ice scream and candy shop for kids. There is also a great kids pool with a water slide at the north side of the complex. The parking is free but there is a resort fee billed separately. Avoid the trolley, the waits are too long. They offer free wi-fi but don't expect to watch a movie on-line because it's waaaay too slow.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mommydiva1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We recently took advantage of the south seas summer special book 3 nights get 4 th free. We stayed in the 2bedroom beach villas. We requested "recently updated" and the unit was very nice. We stayed in the 2400 building located next to the pool. We were on bottom floor (2 levels). Fairly easy access to the beach, just a short walk. We were surprised to see how busy the place was. It was difficult when booking to figure out where to stay, beach villas are not close to the pools with the slides and fountains ( and bar) but we wanted beach access so... In the end I think we made the right choice for us. The resort pools were very crowded in mid day much better in morning and after 5. We hauled our bikes with us but quickly realized WAY to busy to let the kids ride around or to the other end of resort. The bike path is very small, almost nonexistent in certain parts of the road so we drove to the other end. We also took the trolley once just so we could say we did it! All in all nice trip, great room, nice beach, staff was excellent. We ate at mucky duck (overpriced, not worth wait - just get drinks enjoy the band) and south seas restaurants. We enjoyed the resort places and also cooked in the condo.

Room Tip: Stay at harbor side if your not worried about being on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marabellelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just came back from a family vacation at South Seas and our kids could not be happier. The staff was amazing, they responded to all our requests pretty fast and, contrary to past stays, they were incredibly friendly and attentive. Yes, some of the units may need a little updating, but we took a Gulf Cottage and had a wonderful time there. Not as comfortable as home, but it is the beach. We cooked a few dinners, so we do not have much to say about the restaurants, although we had good poolside service and the kids enjoyed the pizza and ice cream. You do need to rent a golf cart in advance, but they also have trolley service in the resort. The location is ideal for relaxing and water sports. We took lots of beautiful pictures of the sunset.

Room Tip: Gulf Cottages have a beachfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RomC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
2.8 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
12.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
12.2 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
15.6 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,396 reviews
10.3 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Seas Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Seas Island Resort

Property: South Seas Island Resort
Address: 5400 Plantation Road, PO Box 194, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Seas Island Resort is located on 330-acres on tropical Captiva Island, on the west coast of Florida, just off the beaches of Fort Myers, Fl. South Seas is an iconic resort village combining a natural wonderland with modern resort amenities and accommodations. The resort offers many styles and sizes of accommodations including guestrooms, one to three bedroom villas (condominiums), cottages and spacious private homes. Activities at the resort include tennis, golf, water sports programs including kayak tours, boating and parasailing. Kids will have a great time at the Sanibel Sea School while learning about the surrounding environment. Enjoy three lagoon style pools, complete with private cabanas located at the Pointe and H2Whoa! With two fun water slides. The resort also features some of the best shelling in the world on the miles of sugar sand beach. For relaxation, the Kay Casperson Boutique and Spa is located in the South Village, providing special pampering with a complete spa treatment menu.Dining at South Seas Island Resort is as varied as the activities, with The Harbourside Bar and Grill and The Pointe located at North Pointe. Visit Scoops & Slices, located next to The Pointe, for ice cream or coal fired pizza. In the South Village, other options include Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille, Starbucks and the Captiva Provision Company, a gourmet deli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your South Seas Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Seas Island Hotel Captiva Island
South Seas Island Captiva
South Seas Island Resort Captiva Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing