We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great time, but there are some things you need to be aware of...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
South Seas Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We spent 3 days/2 nighs here, because we got a great deal through Travelzoo.
Our room had lots of space, and it was in a quiet area. Close to the Marina.
Customer service was very very good. They are very attentive and help you with anything you need.

We all had a great time, enjoyed the slides, pool and the beach.

Things to be aware: the place is HUGE, and they have a tram that you can take. The Marina is in the opposite end of the pool with the slide. Tram runs every 20 min, but it was hot and with possible rain, we decided to drive there. We were lucky to find spots to park.
We drove everyday, to pool or beach, and in my ideal vacation I forget about driving...

Room we got was very nice, but we had several ants.. :(

They are very kid friendly which worked out great for our group with 3 kids, but I wouldn't pick this place if I was only traveling with my husband.

As far as food, we didn't try the restaurants inside, so I can make an opinion.

Would we go back? Maybe, if I get a good deal (normal prices are over my price range).

Room Tip: Depends on what you want, I picked a room with full kitchen close to the marina. There are rooms clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank marcela a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,530 - 1,536 of 3,459 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

What can I say.... South Seas Resort is a gorgeous ,well maintained , beautiful, and relaxing place for anyone, couples, families older folks. Many pools abound, and the beach is glorious. Since its located on the gulf of Mexico, the ocean is calm beautiful clean and warm , Just the way I like it. South Seas has several restaurants on premises. Good old Doc Fords, magnificent food. (I will discuss this in another of my reviews) You can take a trolley inside the resort that takes you to the main pool area, comprised of 3 swimming pools, mainly, for kids with lots of fun included, slides and water fun. The staff at the pool complex is helpful and caring, giving you the best of a relaxed calm stay. You can get ice cream at SCOOPS, near the main pavilion. One of the beaches, Sunset Beach, has a beach bar and all the beaches provide, plenty of chairs , towels and umbrellas.Here, you are pampered, without worry and with plenty of ease.The apt we stayed at had a full kitchen and was lovely decorated wtih plenty of space. Housekeeping staff was impeccable, always getting the extras to you as quickly as possible. The pool outside the tennis villas, had barbeque grills, so you can enjoy a meal and then take a dip in the pool. Such a great set up for families. On this trip it was just my husband and I, and I felt I was on a second honeymoon!, SO MUCH PAMPERING AT SOUTH SEAS. When stepping outside the complex, you can take a free tram ride to the small town, just a few minutes away, with lots of restaurants to choose from. I recommend getting your supplies of food and drink either on your way out of Ft. Myers, at Publiks, or on Sanibel Island, you can visit Baileys supermarket, good prices, and a liquor store in the same outdoor shopping plaza. Dont shop on Captiva, its a FORTUNE. In a pinch getting milk eggs and bread is ok but I would not recommend much more than that. We spend over 75 dollars on two bags of groceries, before finding out about Baileys supermarket. South Seas offers gorgeous golfing, tennis, boating and you can get around the resort with a golf cart rental , by bike , by car, on foot or by trolley. Dont forget to see the sunsets, they were spectacular. With all the families present I never felf closed in or cramped, even being there with my husband , plenty of places to go when you wanted to have a quiet private stay. I will be returning to SOUTH SEAS and Captiva Island again , five stars of excellence across the board. ENJOY!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank ABrooklynTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for staying at South Seas Island Resort and sharing your experience. We're delighted you and your husband enjoyed your time with us, and we hope to see you again soon.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We just got back from South Seas. My kids, who are 6 and 4, loved it. They said this was our best vacation and they didn't want to leave. We spent hours at the water slide pool, then we went to the beach. It was a nice relaxing vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank bader80129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for bringing your family to stay at South Seas Island Resort. We look forward to welcoming you back to Captiva for years to come.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights with my wife and daughters(4/5). This is a nice resort, nothing spectacular, but a decent getaway for the family. The water slides are without a doubt the best part of this place. My kids would of spent all day there if we let them. The beach is good and my daughters always enjoy the shelling. The rest of the pools are small and overcrowded. We brought our bikes hoping for some nice morning bike rides, but that was a total disappointment. There are no biking trails in the resort, you basically have to share the road with cars and the abundant number of golf carts that go flying by all day. Definitely didn't feel safe having my daughters riding their bikes on the road. I would say other than the slides, Marco Island is a much better option. Stayed at the Marriott Resort there and loved it. In general, I would say that Captiva was not my favorite beach destination. Subpar restaurants, okay beaches and decent but not great resort. The resort needs an update and some remodeling of its pedestrian walkways, since there are not many.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review. Your feedback will help us better understand our guests' needs and deliver an even better experience in the future.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My daughters and I stayed for 3 nights at the resort. When I checked in I was informed that there was a mandatory $200.00 a day hold that the resort places on your credit/debit card. I had already paid for our stay, if not I would have cancelled our reservation. I believe I would have been stuck paying for at least one day if I cancelled at that time. Needless to say, this policy curtailed some of our activities at and around the resort. I was told that the hold would be released once we checked out of the resort. (It wasn't, I called my bank and they advised me that the resort had a hold on my account in place until midnight the next day.) On a positive note, the resort is very well maintained. Our room was clean and spacious the attendants were pleasant Would I stay again???? Probably not.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. I apologize the authorization hold came as a surprise. Many of our guests use a credit card for authorization at check in, and then switch to a debit card or cash upon departure.

Should your travels bring you to the area again, I hope that you will consider us again.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

This was our fourth year in a row to South Seas and each year we extend our stay longer. This year was a 5 nighter and we loved every minute of it. Didn't feel rushed and felt like we had enough time.

From our Bay villa "bay" View room (which happened to be the same one we had last year which was cool) with gorgeous sailboats and dolphins in sight to the kids water slides, our 7 and 4 yr Olds favorite...we enjoy south seas so much. And watching the manatees in the marina never gets old..we r always in awe at these creatures.

The service is always outstanding and the grounds are truly spectacular. This year we brought our own bikes and biked to the main beach and pool area which was a new adventure and made us feel like we were somewhat active. We also rented jet skis this time which was fun for the kids...As we were waiting for our jet skis in the water, a huge Manatee swam right by us 1 foot away...it was a thrill for all of us and a memory our kids won't soon forget!

Also we lucked out with the weather. ..A gorgeous day every day with no rain. The no-seums (sp) bugs were a little more annoying this summer but that's to be expected near the water and mangroves I guess.

South seas will continue to be an annual visit for our family. Can't wait to book our stay for next year!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Dana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for returning to South Seas Island Resort. We appreciate your visits and look forward to providing another unforgettable experience next year.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Awesome resort. We were at northern tip. Full service at pool with a lot of family activities. We stayed for a week around Fourth of July. Staff is super friendly everywhere. It was really relaxing. Dead at night though. Plan to end day by 9 pm. This is the place you go to wind down. Sweet shop great for kids. Tons of ice cream and candy choices. Stop at Publix on way in and pick up some beer or wine for nights on balcony since there is no real night life. But get bug spray..

Check out the bubble room they have great deserts and interesting decor. It's worth the trip.

Room Tip: If you are solo family get room near main pool at northern tip. If you are with group of families ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PghBanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for staying at South Seas Island Resort and sharing your experience. We had a lot of fun this Independence Weekend with the fireworks and other special events. We hope to see you again soon.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations, South Seas Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
2.8 mi away
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
12.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,448 reviews
12.2 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,962 reviews
15.6 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,678 reviews
4.9 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Seas Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Seas Island Resort

Address: 5400 Plantation Road, PO Box 194, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range: £168 - £443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Seas Island Resort is located on 330-acres on tropical Captiva Island, on the west coast of Florida, just off the beaches of Fort Myers, Fl. South Seas is an iconic resort village combining a natural wonderland with modern resort amenities and accommodations. The resort offers many styles and sizes of accommodations including guestrooms, one to three bedroom villas (condominiums), cottages and spacious private homes. Activities at the resort include tennis, golf, water sports programs including kayak tours, boating and parasailing. Kids will have a great time at the Sanibel Sea School while learning about the surrounding environment. Enjoy three lagoon style pools, complete with private cabanas located at the Pointe and H2Whoa! With two fun water slides. The resort also features some of the best shelling in the world on the miles of sugar sand beach. For relaxation, the Kay Casperson Boutique and Spa is located in the South Village, providing special pampering with a complete spa treatment menu.Dining at South Seas Island Resort is as varied as the activities, with The Harbourside Bar and Grill and The Pointe located at North Pointe. Visit Scoops & Slices, located next to The Pointe, for ice cream or coal fired pizza. In the South Village, other options include Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille, Starbucks and the Captiva Provision Company, a gourmet deli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your South Seas Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Seas Island Hotel Captiva Island
South Seas Island Captiva
South Seas Island Resort Captiva Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing