We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“accomodations were a bit dissapointing but location was great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Seas Island Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
South Seas Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“accomodations were a bit dissapointing but location was great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed at Harborview Villas for 2 weeks. The place was a bit worn down since we were here 5 years ago but we really enjoyed our stay. The pool was great and the beach was phenomenal. This is an excellent location to bring a family because there are plenty of things to do right in the resort.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank originalkeithb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for staying on Captiva and sharing your experience. To be clear to potential future guests, Harbourview Villas are Hilton Grand Vacation accommodations that are managed and sold by HGVC, where Harbourside Guestrooms are the hotel rooms on North Pointe, and were renovated in early 2013.

Thanks for coming back to the area and we hope it doesn't take 5 years for your next visit.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,503
    859
    456
    205
    154
See reviews for
1,704
811
25
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (882)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

My grandmother purchased a timeshare in harbourview villas before it was built. It is very move and has a pool and hot tub. It is two rooms two full baths with a hot tub inside also. the cleaning job wasn't very good and we has it redone. The barbecue outside is nice. The dock in the back is awesome because you can dock a boat and fish off of it. I also saw some manatees and even an alligator in the water. There is a beach across the street from us and there are some cool stores in the resort. You can rent golf carts walk or take the trolley around. There is a golf course and parasailing Nd fishing pole rental with wave runners also. I would go back and probably will every year.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank originalreidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthSeasCaptiva, Guest Relations Manager at South Seas Island Resort, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thanks for visiting Captiva via Hilton Grand Vacations. We're glad you enjoyed the resort amenities during your stay and look forward to your family's return.

With warm regards,
Anthonia Smith
Dir of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

I will start by saying that we rarely go to the same place on vacation two years in a row but my kids and husband fought hard this year to go back to South Seas Captiva Island. We stay at the Harbourside Marina and LOVE it and I am pretty picky about hotel rooms. The staff almost everywhere is super friendly and helpful. We love to stay on the North End in the hotel because it is very close to all of the things the kids would want to do so everything is right next door like the waterpark and pools, the T dock and the marina for fishing, the kids activities at Scully's and Sunset beach is literally across the street so we wouldn't want to stay in any other location until the kids are bigger. We had an amazing time again this year and caught all types of huge fish - a 45 pound Snook, lots of 20-30 inch red fish, snapper, pinfish, greenbacks, a guy right next to us caught a 6 foot black tip shark....so it was extremely fun for my boys who all love to fish. The resort, beach, pools and room are super clean. We love this place!!!!!

Room Tip: I think the North End is the best location to stay in for people with kids who want easy access to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We booked this at the last minute for an end-of-summer vacation. We've always stayed on Sanibel and wanted to try Captiva in general and this resort specifically. I have to say it was exactly what we wanted.

We stayed in a Marina room - 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, kitchen and dining area, living room, screened in balcony overlooking the marina (where you can see manatees swimming in the marina if you're lucky like we were). It was very clean and spacious for our family of 4. Each room had a TV in addition to the one in the living room.

The resort in general has a full compliment of services: water-sports, several pools, a fantastic beach, gym, golf course, a grocery store, and gift shops. Check in and check out were painless. The only problem we had was that the previous guests had locked the in-room safe, but guest services sent and engineer right over to open it up.

Housekeeping was great and respectful of our times in and out of the room. As an added bonus, the pool had 2 grills, so we were able to have BBQ's by the pool a couple of times. There are other grills around the resort, so keep an eye out if you like to grill out by the pool on a resort paradise.

Some of the water-sport options like boat rentals were pricier than elsewhere on the island, and the restaurants were okay, but not worth the price ($30 pizza with delivery?). This is the only reason I'm ranking it "Very Good" as opposed to "Excellent" - I'd have liked to have had a better dining experience for breakfast/lunch/dinner.

But other than that, this was a great vacation destination. The beach is beautiful with chairs, towels, and umbrellas provided at no extra charge. I will say that was another nice part of the experience - it didn't feel like they were trying to nickel and dime you every time you turned around.

We definitely want to come back again.

Room Tip: Marina rooms have their own pool. This was a nice change from the busy main pools. If you can, get o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlupetin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

At the end of July, we stayed in one of the tennis villas at South Seas Resort on Captiva. We were very excited because we heard wonderful things about this resort. Upon check-in, our front desk agent was less than thrilled to be assisting us. We told him that we had never been to the resort and were happy to hear any information. He acted annoyed while the agent next to him was overly helpful to the couple checking in next to us. Maybe he was just having a bad morning- it was obvious he was not happy to be there! Our tennis villa was nice, but room service was terrible! One evening, we requested towels and it took over two hours for them to be delivered to our room- we were late for dinner and tried to call housekeeping several times but no answer. Another evening, we heard loud banging on our door and a man yelling "housekeeping". In return, my husband was yelling "just a minute" and trying to get to the door as we had just gotten back from the beach and were changing. The man didn't wait and used his key to come in. Once inside, he mumbled something about "oh, there are people in here I must have the wrong room" and left. Many of the housekeeping staff were from Jamaica- a few mornings they came in to clean while we were still there which was fine, but for some reason they liked to tell us many times they were from Jamaica. We were not sure why that mattered unless they were hoping for bigger tips since Jamaica is a poor country? In literature from the resort, they claim to be "green" and environmentally friendly. Unfortunately, we wondered how true this was. Our balcony faced the deck of the tennis office where there were trash cans and recycling cans. Each morning, we saw a man come to empty each, but he always put the trash from the cans and the recycling in the same bag! I guess he could have sorted through the trash to take out the recycling materials later, but I cannot imagine this! We did let management know of these things through a survey and hoped these things would not happen to future guests (especially since you pay a lot of money to stay here and a hefty resort fee each day). A few days later, we received an email assuring us our concerns would be directed to the correct person. We haven't heard anything since.

Room Tip: Tennis villas are nice but far away from main resort activities such as main pool and activities for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Our trip started with a request for a king bed having been messed up. If you book on South Seas site it takes you to booking.com. Our reservation clearly stated two adults. However, somehow the hotel had us listed as two adults and two children, two queen beds and a pull out double! We also, saw on their reservation that there where specified arrival times of between 5-6pm. None of these notes where are notes. We could only come up with the fact that maybe someone called in with a similar name and made these requests, but they where documented on our reservation.
The manger came out and spoke to us, stated that there where no king beds available water front. But he did have one Marina front. Same building. I asked about sunrise/sunset where this new room was? He said that it was sunrise, water view sunset. Well, we arrived at the "marina" view, which in fact was a canal view. ....if you can imagine a U shaped building, we where placed in the small section of building...water view on right, marina on left. Also, no sunrise on that side, some of the sun set could be seen.
The room, nice and cold, but run down. Mattress needs updated as does all the stained white bedroom furniture. The shower/tub has glass blocks one was very much broken. Tiles had a lot of grout/caulk that are grey...time for new caulk and grout.
The water never reached hot! Not ever! It was Luke warm at best. Which was okay since we visited on the hottest week of this year. I would have preferred an option of how hot my water should be...taking makeup off in lukewarm water is not nice.

Golf cart....it is a must! The trolleys do not have A/C! So, imagine walking 2.5 miles in heat, jumping onto a trolley only to find it blowing more heat. The golf cart at least has a breeze. They allow you to talk the golf cart past the property. So, you can go off property to a certain point and enjoy other shops and restaurants. Money well spent.
The food and service on property, no complaints. The breakfast buffet is very extensive. The subs we purchased at the store where $10, but each one was good for 2 meals....there was that much chicken on them!

We went on the shelling cruise one afternoon. It was enjoyable. A nice afternoon.
The location is lovely.

I am just disappointed that on my birthday weekend, we wound up with a substandard room! Especially, when hearing that the hotel was at only 57%capacity...really managers! nothing else could have been done due to your errors??

Room Tip: Read he other reviews....there are many warnings of the rooms needing remodels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blndkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomasboro, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed at South Seas for our honeymoon this past weekend and could not have asked for a better location and staff! The staff was helpful and always had a smile on their face. I liked that instead of having to pay cash for food/drinks, you could use your room card and pay for it at the end of your stay. We have stayed at other locations on the island, but South Seas be far the best.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
1.1 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
10.8 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
11.5 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#12 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
14.7 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,367 reviews
11.3 mi away
Sanibel Harbour Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Seas Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Seas Island Resort

Property: South Seas Island Resort
Address: 5400 Plantation Road, PO Box 194, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 471
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Seas Island Resort is located on 330-acres on tropical Captiva Island, on the west coast of Florida, just off the beaches of Fort Myers, Fl. South Seas is an iconic resort village combining a natural wonderland with modern resort amenities and accommodations. The resort offers many styles and sizes of accommodations including guestrooms, one to three bedroom villas (condominiums), cottages and spacious private homes. Activities at the resort include tennis, golf, water sports programs including kayak tours, boating and parasailing. Kids will have a great time at the Sanibel Sea School while learning about the surrounding environment. Enjoy three lagoon style pools, complete with private cabanas located at the Pointe and H2Whoa! With two fun water slides. The resort also features some of the best shelling in the world on the miles of sugar sand beach. For relaxation, the Kay Casperson Boutique and Spa is located in the South Village, providing special pampering with a complete spa treatment menu.Dining at South Seas Island Resort is as varied as the activities, with The Harbourside Bar and Grill and The Pointe located at North Pointe. Visit Scoops & Slices, located next to The Pointe, for ice cream or coal fired pizza. In the South Village, other options include Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille, Starbucks and the Captiva Provision Company, a gourmet deli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelClick and TravelUp so you can book your South Seas Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Seas Island Hotel Captiva Island
South Seas Island Captiva
South Seas Island Resort Captiva Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing