We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a Facelift!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2011

We have never been to Captiva before so I was excited to book and stay on the Island with my Mom and my friend.. what a joke... run down rooms, tacky accomodations and the rudest Poolside bartender I have ever seen. (older Lady with brown hair) I didn't mind paying the price but what happened to customer service!! The beach was breath taking and the weather was perfect but they should learn how to treat CUSTOMERS!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foodladySaginaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,807)
There are newer reviews for Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,559 - 2,565 of 2,807 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2011

On our eigth stay at Tween Waters Resort, we had a the pleasure of staying in the Sea Grape overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Although the accomodations consisted of a standard layout hotel room, the unit did have a refrigerator and a large lanai. The Sea Grape building is not for those who are out of shape or who have an aversion to climbing stairs -- 4 flights to be exact -- as there is no elevator in the building. The reward is an enhanced view of the nightly sunset over the Gulf. Tween Waters has a variety of accomodations ranging from poolside cottages, one and two bedroom suites to standard hotel rooms. There is an accomodation for every family configuration.

What surprises us year after year, is how the resort manages to retain the same staff. We were greeted by familiar faces at the front desk, in the restaurant, gift shops, marina, poolside restaurant, and even the cleaning staff. We were greeted with the friendliness and enthusiasm one expects when seeing a long-absent family member. The staff strives to greet you by name and go out of their way to be helpful. Hugs and wishes for a return visit next year mark your departure. What a great bunch of people!

Having spent years trying different resorts on Sanibel, we are committed Tweenies. The traffic is much lighter on Captiva. Tween Waters has it all and there is really litttle reason to leave the resort. A glorious beach on the Gulf of Mexico stretches for miles, with nary another resort in sight, just private residences on either side of Tween Waters. Tween Waters has a marina for those who wish to sail, power boat, kayak or use some other form of novel watercraft. The Old Captiva House serves outstanding dinners and the Crows Nest is available for lighter or family fare. We looked forward to a daily burger at the Oasis Pool Bar for lunch. Grilled poolside, the burgers were the best we've had anywhere. There is a wonderful full service spa for those who enjoy some pampering. A fitness center is also on premises.

For those who still have the energy after a day on the beach, there are nightly activities at the Crow's Nest for adults and families. Everything from crab races to Vegas-style vocal entertainment.

We have already booked next year's accomodations and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Weekly one bedroom suite packages now available
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottie4851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful vacation at Tween Waters. The continental breakfast was a delicious way to start off the day. We didn't ever order any of the breakfast specials, but they sounded and and looked great for only $5.95 if you stayed at the hotel. Our first night, we enjoyed dinner at the Crow's Nest and stayed for the Crab races. We weren't expecting much, but had a great time! The room was nice and clean. It was a little weathered, but nothing I wouldn't expect for an 'older' hotel at the beach. We almost felt like we were at summer camp with so many options at the hotel. You can walk to the beach, the marina, the pool, two great restaurants and a pool bar! Overall, I would recommend this hotel. We didn't take our kids, but will bring them next time as it is a very family friendly place!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rigbigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

My wife, young daughter, and I recently had a five day stay at Tween-Waters. This place is all about location. Although it's a resort, you shouldn't expect any high-end amenities.

The hotel is well situated in that it's on a narrow sliver of land offering both sunrise and sunset views. There are also a fair number of things to do right on the property (restaurants, pool, water access, spa, etc.). The rooms are relative big, but everything is a bit worn/dated. They could really use a refresh.

For a family-oriented resort, there's not all that much for kids to do. You have the pool and beach (both great), but there's no kids playground or indoor activity center. Not the end of the world, but you will have to go off-resort if you're bringing kids for more than two days.

The rooms themselves are only OK. Again, carpets and furniture are pretty worn. Our room also had a problem with something that looked like very small ants showing up all over the kitchen area. We had to put anything food-like into ziploc bags for storage.

Oh, and I found the staff to be very pleasant and professional.

Pros: Location and sunset/rise views, Great breakfast buffet, Crows Nest Pub on non-Nascrab nights; staff

Cons: Cleanliness, price, limited facilities

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BostonAreaFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

I had always stayed on Sanibel and just ate on Captiva. Very glad we made the decision to stay at Tween Waters. The location is terrific- Gulf on one side and bay on the other- right in the middle of Captiva. Contrary to some reviews I read beforehand, the service was wonderful, friendly, efficient and helpful. Food at the Captiva House was truly spectacular. Crow's Nest good for what it was; bar/restaurant lighter fare. Loved the whole Captiva experience. Beach was awesome and many water activities on the marina side of the resort. My only complaint was the pool bar closed too early and the whole island closed a little too early. Didn't really bother us but younger folk might have a hard time with this.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdinct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We loved this place. Reasons include: location, relaxed old FL feel, nice staff, big pool, exquisite beach, and general lack of glitz. The Inn's support of the United Way and the environment were terrific.
It is true that the small table on our balcony should have been replaced - but we just threw a towel over it! A small tear in the screen made no difference in the amazing view!
The staff always makes/breaks a stay for us - and we hope to return soon! It was an excellent value. Thank you, Tween Waters Inn.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gladwewent17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Just returned from a wonderful stay at the Tween Waters Inn. Having never been to Captiva we did not know what to expect. We checked-in late afternoon and it was a snap. The staff was extremely friendly. We were given several discount coupons and gift certificates to use and we used most of them. We stayed in one of the motel type rooms with a bay view. Although it is an older resort, the room was neat and inviting. Love the fact there were wooden hooks on the screened in porch for wet bathingsuits and beach towels..good thought! The matresses appeared almost brand new and were very comfortable. The bathroom was nice size and we appreciated the room safe in the closet. A small refrigerator, bar area and coffee maker (with coffee)--nice touch. Although we did not go in the pool (we planned on 2 full beach days) it was clean and warm (slightly heated). We did use the hot tub --one was hotter than the other..pick the right one :) It is a short walk across the beach road to the ocean....and all the cars stop for the pedestrians..very nice! We rented lounge chairs with cabana because in March there is wind...but we also brought chairs and our own umbrella which we set up. We ate lunches and got terrific margaritas at the pool bar...wish they had beach service and we asked about it. They said they had tried it but stopped the service. We didn't care, it was nice to get up and walk to the bar and know our stuff on the beach was safe. Breakfast, which came with the stay was continental and we did buy a cooked breakfast one morning, very economical! We ate dinner two nights at the Crow's Nest, which was delicious and the third night we ordered from the Crow's Nest and brought it back to the room and watched a movie. I recommend their Marguarita Pizza! The internet connection is free but from our room did not connect. You can go to the office and it will work fine. We just decided we didn't need it! We did not eat at the Old Captiva House, use the Spa or the marina...but it only gives us a reason to go back and we will!

Do note, there is a grocery store and liquor store on the island but it is seven miles away. Be sure to bring your stock with you.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sla837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
10.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,366 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
286 reviews
2.8 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
1,853 reviews
2.1 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#8 of 20 in Sanibel Island
514 reviews
7.9 mi away
Beachview Cottages
Beachview Cottages
#2 of 20 in Sanibel Island
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa

Address: 15951 Captiva Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range: £115 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the legendary 'Tween Waters Inn on beautiful Captiva Island. Shouldn't every day be this good? Here, across 13 gorgeous Gulf-tween-bay acres, you can enjoy 137 quality accommodations including historic one, two and three bedroom seaside cottages, suites, studios and guest rooms. Miles of sugar-sand beaches. Olympic-size pool, hot tubs and children's wading pool. Day spa. Marina for launch, dock or rental. Fitness center, tennis, kayak and eco-adventures. Award-winning dining and nightly entertainment. Plus ballroom, boardroom and banquet facilities, indoors and out, for business, weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tween Waters Hotel Captiva Island
Tween Water Inn
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa Captiva Island, Florida
Tween Waters Captiva Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing