We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Already planning to spend the 4th here next year!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Already planning to spend the 4th here next year!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

I initially chose the Tween Waters b/c we wanted to bring out two dogs, fawn Boxers who think they are human. Being a pet friendly resort is what enticed us, but we will be going back for everything else that makes Tween Waters a unique experience. We stayed in the Frangipani Cottage (114) it was perfect- comfortable bed screened in patio, and a little kitchenette to prepare snacks. Above all, the service is really what sets Tween Waters apart. We have stayed at many large, high end resorts where the service is great and there is always someone there to assist. Tween Waters offer impeccable service that blends into the background. During our entire trip we had everything we could have requested, without having to request it. I believe that is the sign of excellent service. We had every opportunity to enjoy the pristine beach, and peacefully marina b/c the staff at Tween Waters thinks of everything!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MKLPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager23, General Manager at Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
Ms Post,
Thank you so much for your kind words. We agree with you that the cottages are such a neat experience. I wonder if you saw the plaque on the wall that describes the cottages history. At one time cottage 114 was housing for instructor pilots at a Ft Myers Army Aircorps training field during WWII. The cottage was brought to Tween Waters during the late 40's and has been the home of many visitors since. We also are very proud of our staff. Many are from Europe and bring with them that "old world" professionalism, caring and friendliness. When here next year you might want to take part in our annual guest fishing tournement - its a free event that's all for fun with some great prizes. Also don't miss the Spa.....you're sure to love it!
Have a wonderful year - we'll look forward to your return next July 4th!
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,408
    660
    231
    99
    68
See reviews for
909
1,093
40
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

Just returned from a long weekend at the Tween Waters Inn. My husband and I stayed in the Sea Grape Building Beach front studio. We found the room to be beautifully decorated. The bed was very comfortable, we slept well and comfortably. The air conditioning system worked very well. The studio had a microwave, refrigerator , coffee maker and all utensils needed if you want to cook in the room. The studio was kept very clean and had all amenities, fresh towels, and great shower. The studio was on the second floor, facing the beach, with a small balcony and a beautiful view. The paint in the balcony was chipped. Maintenance should be aware of these details that take away from the magnificent facility. This building does not have an elevator. Other buildings did have an elevator.
The employees are very warm, helpful, and caring. Beach cabanas with two lounge chairs are available for $20.00 per day. A set of coupons was given to us upon check-in ; one of the coupons had a $5.00 discount for the cabanas/umbrellas. Reserve your chairs and umbrellas in the morning; the beach staff takes care in making sure that your reserved chairs and umbrellas are reserved and are there for you if you choose to leave the beach for other activities. I commend the beach staff. They are very attentive and are constantly checking for needs. In our case, we were asked to call them if more shade was needed throughout the day.
Continental breakfast is included each day. I give an "A" to the breakfast . Lots of choices available (for a continental breakfast). If you want a hot breakfast, you can have other choices for $5.95. I commend the employees at the Old Captiva Room breakfast restaurant. The gentleman that greets you at the entrance is very accomodating and works very hard to please all guests.
Upon check-in an $80.00 voucher was given to be utilized in the restaurants. We decided to have dinner at the Old Captiva Room. We were very pleasantly surprised with the exquisite dinner and service. This is a great incentive for guests!
The pool area is kept clean. Employees are always around picking up cups, setting up chairs etc... Over all it was a good experience for a long weekend. Lots of families with children. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxed stay; I suggest that you relax at the beach area. The pool area gets quite busy and noisy with many families and children (this was not a problem for us). It was very difficult for us to receive or make phone calls from our cellular phone.Calls would only come in outside the buildings. Recommendation to management: Continue to paint and repair different areas of the buildings, balconies (chipped paint where needed etc..). You have a great place with potential for five stars. Congratulations on having a great team.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flatraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager22, General Manager at Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
Flatraveler8,
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank for your comments and recommendations. I always enjoy talking with our guest and listening to their experiences during their stay at Tween Waters Inn. In fact, many of the new policies and programs we have instituted are a direct result of feedback we have received from guests like you. For example we are now serving Sun Harvest fresh squeezed orange juice with our free continental breakfast based on a guest suggestion.
As for your room, we have received a lot of compliments on the recent renovations in the Sea Grape building which include new kitchens with granite counter tops, travertine bathrooms and new furniture. And the view over the Gulf at sunset is hard to beat. I did have a conversation with our maintenance department about the chipped paint. Thank you for pointing that out. In addition, during our conversation, we implemented a new inspection procedure where a member of our maintenance department, along with a member of our housekeeping inspection staff, will inspect each room before check-in. We hope the additional inspector, who is better mechanically trained, will improve the quality of our rooms and overall guest satisfaction and experience. Finally, you are correct and it is worth repeating, the Sea Grape building does not have an elevator. All of our other buildings are equipped with elevators and we do have a full complement of bell staff on site to assist guest.
Thank you again for taking the time to share your experiences. I will be sure to share your review with our staff and personally thank them for their hard work and dedication. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

We've been by Boat and by car and have always enjoyed coming to Sanible/Captiva Island!! Relaxing Times along with relaxing, fun and enjoyable dinners & Beautiful Sunsets!! Life doesn't get much better!!

Room Tip: Call to see if any open rooms and specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CRT3lcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager22, General Manager at Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
CRT3lcos,
We love the fact that you have found multiple ways of arriving at and enjoying our property. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with others and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmetto, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

If you are looking for a place to go with family, couples, and friends this is it! We have been visiting Tween Waters for decades and there is no place like it. Food is great, rooms are comfortable with great views, and the property has something for everyone. We bring our boat down to use which we keep in the marina. There is a ramp on site which makes it convenient for launching. We live only 3 hours north yet we still find our way back each and every year for a piece of the "Tween Waters". I highly recommend it. We will be checking in again this June 23rd with a party of 13 and can't wait.

Room Tip: Poolside and bayside rooms are our favorites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cikrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager22, General Manager at Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Cikrab,
We are thrilled to hear that you will be joining us again on June 23rd. What a great way to spend a vacation, sharing your experience with 12 of your closest family and friends. We pride ourselves in trying to provide something for everyone which is why so many groups and families come back year after year with sometimes 2, 3 and even 4 generations of family members. Like you, many of our guests take advantage of our boat launch and free trailer parking during their stay. We hope you and your friends and family enjoy your stay with us and we are glad you continue to recommend us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

We really enjoyed Tween Waters. Great pool, beach, spa and other features.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul34467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

We had a room with a great view of the bay side of the island. The room itself had been updated with a comfortable bed and bathroom counter. The blanket had holes in it but it was clean. The overall decor was decent. The internet speed was so slow we had to try repeatedly to get service.

The first day we went shelling and after tried the hot tub only to find it was disgusting--slimy, slippery, and smelly. I called and left a message with the front desk, asking them to call us back so we could plan on using the hot tub after the kayaking trip the next day. They did not call us back. They cleaned the hot tub the following day which did us very little good...and it was cold! When I called again, I spent 5 minutes on hold and had to reinerate my dissatisfaction in order to get an adjustment on the room cost. Management definately did not exceed, let alone meet, my expectations as they state on their phone message.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank docoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager23, General Manager at Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
We very much appreciate the time taken by this Tween Waters Inn guest to comment on their experiences at the resort.
We regret the guest apparently did not receive a return call from the Front Desk as requested pertaining to the issues they sighted regarding the resort’s hot tubs. The hot tubs, along with our Olympic sized pool, are checked three times daily for proper chemical and PH balance. The hot tub chemicals and PH were within the proper range the day of this guest’s first contact and the next day as well. Our pool service personnel did not recognize any other issues. Located near the hot tubs is signage requesting persons using the facility to shower before entering the water to prevent an accumulation of body oils and sun tan lotions. Perhaps this did not happen with regards to those who used the hot tubs before this guest. When this guest contacted the Manager on Duty the next morning, the water in both hot tubs was drained, the units were cleaned and then refilled. Unfortunately the heater in one tub did not operate when the unit was started but the heater for second 1200 gallon hot tub performed as it should. And, as this guest indicated, a room rent discount was applied to their account for their inconvenience.
We are very sorry that this issue adversely affected this guest’s stay, as well as any other guests who were staying with us at the time and had a similar experience (however, no other guest comments were received by the hotel’s Front Desk). We have retrained our pool maintenance staff to be even more aware of not only chemical/PH levels but any other pool/hot tub issues that may need addressing.
We appreciate this guest’s comments which have helped us to improve our level of pool/hot tub operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Some of the reviewers do not understand that this resort is somewhat remote and on very expensive property; therefore the prices seem high; but probably are not as out of line as others might say. The beach is across the street which is very acceptable in this remote location and the beach is very spectacular, as Captiva is a barrier island, so the beach is prettier than a coastal community. The water is much more blue and more clear than e.g. Fort Myers beach or Naples. It is true the resort in parts is hardly new and pristine, however my room was more than acceptable. The clientele around the pool seemed to be somewhat local from Fort Myers and it may be that they sell some sort of memberships for locals. I did not care for that aspect of it and some of the clientele was quite unattractive, smoking, overweight, loud, etc. I also noticed that some employees smoke on duty. Again Captiva is somewhat remote and it may not be that easy to find employees. I had a much better experience the year before on Sanibel where the pool experience was superior and Sanibel has much more to offer, restaurants, entertainment etc, and less expensive. And Sanibel has better service. The beach though at Captiva/Tween Waters is inordinately superior to Sanibel beaches. So if the beach is important to you, Captiva is better, but I prefer pool side, and walks on the beach rather than swimming in the ocean.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Columbus321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager23, General Manager at Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
We appreciated this guest’s constructive comments regarding their stay at Tween Waters Inn.
Their comment about the cost of property in this location, taxes, operating expenses, etc. is correct. These costs are significantly higher than those experienced by hotels in a lot of other areas and therefore have an impact on room rate structure. And, the hotel has through the years preserved its heritage and history by maintaining the cottages that have been on property since the 1920’s and ‘30’s, many with décor that is period appropriate. Several of the individual cottages have been declared historical buildings in this county. The resort is celebrating its 80th birthday this year!
This resort , which includes a 40 slip marina for boats up to 70 feet, enjoys customers from literally all over the world. During our “off season” periods many, but of course not all, of the hotel and marina guests are from the local area. On some days, there are a limited number of persons who are invited to be on the property on a day use only basis but that number is controlled to be quite low so as to not impact the hotel and marina guests. Of course, the resort does not discriminate as to the guest’s appearance, or on any other basis.
The “employee smoking” comment has generated a modification in our policies regarding employee smoking. As with many other businesses this resort allows those employees who smoke to take an occasional, limited smoke break. However, this guest’s comment is an indication that perhaps all smoke break areas may not be out of view of our guests. This issue is now being addressed property-wide.
We do whole-heartedly agree with this review that Captiva beaches are unlike any others. It truly is a little bit of paradise.
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
10.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
10.9 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#12 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
1.1 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
14.3 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,367 reviews
10.6 mi away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa

Property: Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Address: 15951 Captiva Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the legendary 'Tween Waters Inn on beautiful Captiva Island. Shouldn't every day be this good? Here, across 13 gorgeous Gulf-tween-bay acres, you can enjoy 137 quality accommodations including historic one, two and three bedroom seaside cottages, suites, studios and guest rooms. Miles of sugar-sand beaches. Olympic-size pool, hot tubs and children's wading pool. Day spa. Marina for launch, dock or rental. Fitness center, tennis, kayak and eco-adventures. Award-winning dining and nightly entertainment. Plus ballroom, boardroom and banquet facilities, indoors and out, for business, weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tween Waters Hotel Captiva Island
Tween Water Inn
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa Captiva Island, Florida
Tween Waters Captiva Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing