We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Beach Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We've stayed at Tween Waters a couple of times and will continue to go back. The location couldn't be better and service is friendly. The restaurant isn't my favorite but the crab races make the bar a fun spot. All in all, a perfectly laid back week on the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kb816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,008)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,676 - 2,682 of 3,008 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2012

I've stayed at Tween Waters several times over the past 10 years or so and always enjoyed it. Typically I like to stay in the cottages since they have always been very nice. This time we opt to stay in an ocean view hotel room, I have to say I was very pleased. They have recently redone the rooms and they were much nicer than in years past. I had stayed in a similar room about 8 years ago and have since always gone with the cottages because the hotel rooms were pretty gross, but they couldn't have done a better job with the remodel. They are very nice and upscale rooms now. Loved the bathroom - it is really large with a nice tub and large shower. The bedding and pillows were perfect and the view was amazing from the room too.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LynnSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Stayed for three nights over Christmas.

Room was an efficiency type with a sofa bed and separate bedroom. It was quite comfortable. The bed was a wee bit on the soft and wobbly side but I'm a big fat lardarse so can't really moan too much about that.

The location is great, near a fantastic, deserted but pristine beach, only down point is you have to cross a main road to get to it. Beach chairs and cabanas a bit expensive at $15 to $20 a day. Free WiFi but it didn't work too well on my balcony and not at all inside the room.

There's a "pub" on site called the Crows Nest which was OK, staff were quite friendly. The fancier restaurant place is called Old Captiva House and you can eat breakfast or dinner there. We were disappointed not to be able to get an inside table there on Christmas night despite being resident. No one said we needed to reserve but we got fed outside. Our server Skip was a nice guy and right on the ball. The middln'te aged woman greeter was a touch rude and seemed to enjoy her position of authority over guests a bit too much for my liking.

The pool area is quite pleasant with drinks and basic food on offer from the friendly staff. I didn't fancy the hot tub much as it looked dirty but this may have been the colour of the tiles in it, couldn't really tell.

I'd stay here again. it felt like a laid back and relaxed place where everyone had come to have a good time. The only suggestion I'd make is that some money spent on sharpening up the look of the grounds and building exteriors might be a good idea.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager22, General Manager at 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Mark T.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. Everyone agrees that our beach to bay location is ideal but as you point out there is a road between us and our beautiful beach. Fortunately, it is a small 2 lane access road with a speed limit of 25 mph and does not seem to pose many issues with our guests. I do apologize that you were not able to secure indoor reservations for our Christmas Buffet. Our Christmas Buffet, much like our Thanksgiving Buffet, has become very popular and sold out much earlier than we anticipated. We thank you for your comments and we will be making changes for next year. Our reservations staff will be informing our in house guests to make Christmas Dinner reservations early and we will be opening The Crow’s Nest restaurant, as we do at Thanksgiving, to accommodate the increased demand. In addition we are in the process of interviewing wireless providers to update our WiFi service. Thank you again for staying with us and sharing your comments. We always encourage guest feedback as we continually look for ways to improve our services. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed at Tween Waters for the first time this past December for three nights. We were told we got a discounted rate for $133 a night, gulf side king suite. The room was clean and very nicely decorated and comfortable. Great big soaking bathtub too, and we had an end unit, so no noisy neighbors on each side. (Just above us! Noisey slider doors opening and closing constantly!)
The continental breakfast was very good and much appreciated. Didn't mind paying for the use of the cabanas or chairs and umbrellas since you have to do that just about everywhere nowadays. The coupon booklet was a nice gesture and we ate at The Crows Nest and had a fantastic meal. Get the prime rib on Tuesdays, 2 for $30. Excellent meal and very affordable- attentive wait staff. My only gripe was that the room next to us was under renovation, and they were tiling and pulling out/replacing the bathtub practically the whole time we were there. The tennis courts directly across from us were being repaired, jack-hammered and painted also- those workers started very very early (7:00AM? Come on- We're on vacation!) Painters were there every day painting on the stairways, buildings, etc. No signs stating "wet paint", but the painters were very nice and polite and accomodating. I feel we should have been told upon check-in (or even when booking!) that construction was on-going and they were aware we would be inconvenienced (perhaps that was the reason for the discounted rate?), but also, why of all rooms, did we have to be put in the only room next door to the tiling and bathroom reno? We should've been given the choice to move, and were informed by a phone message the next day at about 10:30AM of work being done, after we had already left for the beach for the day. All in all we had a nice time, but I feel as though we should have been informed of all the construction and renovation happening.

Room Tip: Gulf side view is awesome- watch the sunset from your balcony. Would request second floor room next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDJKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager22, General Manager at 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

JDJKC,
Thank you for staying with us for the first time and welcome to the Tween Waters family. As you pointed out we are hard at work updating rooms, painting buildings and redoing the tennis courts. I do apologize that you were inconvenienced by our renovations. We try to schedule our renovations when occupancy is low so it is less disturbing and it offers us the ability to move our guests to unaffected buildings. Our front desk staff was informing guests at check-in that the building was being painted and if it was an issue, guests could choose to be moved to our bayside building. If this was not presented to you upon check in, I apologize. I have already had a conversation with our front desk manager to insure that the information will be presented to future guests and we have hung “wet paint” signs as you suggested. In addition, we are in the process of updating all 60 of our water view guest rooms with new split air conditioning units which are very quiet and efficient. I am also having our maintenance department check and adjust all of our sliding door units to solve the noise issue. Thank you for bringing that to my attention. We always encourage our guests to present any issue that they may encounter during their stay with us to our front desk personell. Most often they are able to find a solution. If we don’t know there is a problem than we cannot correct it. Once again thank you for staying with us and we hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Captiva and Sanibel are quiet islands off of Fort Myers, Florida. Tween Waters is a wonderful experience if the type of vacation that you seek is relaxing, isolated, quiet. One reviewer stated "the Ritz Carlton it is not" and that is an accurate statement. If you are looking for that kind of place then go further south and stay at the Ritz in Naples. Tween waters has a Marina on the bay side and local boaters and fishing guides stop use the marina regularly. So it has a local flair. The beach is across the street, but we aren't talking a four lane high way. Captiva is a skinny little island and the road that runs up the island is narrow and the speed limit is 25. The Tween Waters beach is the best on the island (in my humble opinion) and I have seen dolphin frolicking right off of the beach every time I have been there. There are Kayak rentals on the bay side and I was fortunate enough to be staning on my balcony when a sea plane pulled up just below my room. A short conversation later and the kids and I were on an air tour of the area. The pool is large and the service from the bar and grill are great. The restaurant on the premises has wonderful food (not always easy to find on Captiva). This is just a barefoot kick back resort .. I live in Fort Myers and when I want to get away for an overnight this is where I go. It's truly one of those places where you can forget about life for a while. (While you are there drive up to the Mucky Duck for sunset .. it's touristy and cliche but it's still one of my most favorite things to do on Captiva .. then grab dinner either at the Sunshine Seafood Factory, the Green Flash or, if you like dessert, the Bubble Room)

Room Tip: Highly reccomend one of the suites that faces Pine Island Sound
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SWFloridaTeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We flew to Ft. Myers on Christmas Day and stayed at the Tween Waters for 3 nights. This was our second visit. On our first visit, we rented one of the historic cottages. This time I booked a package and opted for the lowest priced rooms--pool view, on the 3rd floor of one of the buildings. The room itself looked to have been updated, with lovely seashell quilts, nice furniture (no desk, however, for the laptop), and a small screened in balcony overlooking the large pool. This room served our needs quite well, except that the water in the bathroom was only warm, not hot, and the water pressure on the "hot" was very low. Since we had not noticed this until evening, we decided to let the front desk know the next day.

My husband played golf in Ft. Myers in the morning, while I took advantage of the continental breakfast included with the room. There were a variety of fresh pastries, croissants, breads, and muffins, tons of fresh fruit, cheese, yogurt, cereal, and juices. There was an option to purchase a hot breakfast for a small additional price, but we never bothered.

Next, I brought my book out to the pool area. There were a variety of seating arrangements--many, many loungers, chairs under some palapas, and a covered area near the bar/grill with seating for a meal. The towel game was in full swing--people putting their towels on loungers early in the morning, then not showing up until early afternoon, but there were plenty of loungers in spite of this. There was also ample shade, if you are not a sun worshipper. The wait staff was busy making the rounds, bringing people food and drinks.

When my husband returned, we headed for Sanibel for lunch, and on our return, we stopped at the front desk to report our hot water problem. Someone showed up within the hour to work on it. Unfortunately, it was not going to be an easy fix, so they moved us to a new room (this was not a problem as we had only packed for a few days, and there were just two of us--it took us minutes to collect our things). There were no rooms available in our building, so they upgraded us to a gulf-view studio. It was lovely; completely remodeled, with a king bed, partial kitchen with granite counter tops, and a bathroom with a soaking tub, separate shower, and beautiful tiled surfaces. It also had a large balcony facing the gulf (it should be noted that a busy road runs in front of the Tween Waters, so that was part of the view, but it didn't bother us). The one downside to these rooms is the hollow-core connecting doors, which were located on both sides of the room. It is very easy to hear your neighbors through these.

I should also mention the beach. It is across the road and is possibly the best beach on Captiva. There are some shells, but it is nothing like on Sanibel. The Tween Waters had what they call cabanas (two wooden loungers covered by a sun hood) and umbrellas with two chairs each, all rentable at a reasonable price for the day. It is a great place for sunning, playing, and watching the dolphins!

All in all, we had a great stay and we will return to the Tween Waters in!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jodyminn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

If you're looking for noise, unruly crowds, snobs, white gloves, tourists, perfection, or 5-star glitz with a matching price tag and as much stress as you came to Captiva to get away from....you should probably stay away from the Tween Waters Inn.

However, if you want great value, relaxation, natural beauty in a laid back atmosphere, spectacular beaches & glorious sunsets, wonderful food, prompt service from a staff that cares, give TWI a try.

We've been coming here annually for ten years, and not every stay nor every room has been perfect - but whatever may need attention now and then is promptly addressed by virtually the same staff we met when we first came here so long ago. This year, we took advantage of a great discount package they offered, and enjoyed all our meals at the poolside bar (the Oasis), the Old Captiva House, the Crow's Nest, and all the other local eateries both here and on Sanibel. Unfortunately, the weather didn't cooperate quite so much on our trip this year, so we were only able to be awed by two magnificent sunsets - but the beach is pristine, and the shelling was great.

We'll be back next year to see the crew and get our fix

Room Tip: Suites have central air - better and quieter. Smaller rooms have individual units - noisier and may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LawfulMoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
10.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,500 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
311 reviews
2.8 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,014 reviews
2.1 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#11 of 20 in Sanibel Island
529 reviews
14.3 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa

Address: 15951 Captiva Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range: £168 - £363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the legendary 'Tween Waters Inn on beautiful Captiva Island. Shouldn't every day be this good? Here, across 13 gorgeous Gulf-tween-bay acres, you can enjoy 137 quality accommodations including historic one, two and three bedroom seaside cottages, suites, studios and guest rooms. Miles of sugar-sand beaches. Olympic-size pool, hot tubs and children's wading pool. Day spa. Marina for launch, dock or rental. Fitness center, tennis, kayak and eco-adventures. Award-winning dining and nightly entertainment. Plus ballroom, boardroom and banquet facilities, indoors and out, for business, weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tween Waters Hotel Captiva Island
Tween Water Inn
Tween Waters Inn
Tween Waters Captiva Island
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa Captiva Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing