We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“complete package”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Shelby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“complete package”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This place is a perfect stay for Linda and me. We have been coming off and on to Tween since the 80s and never tire of its charm. From check in to check out the staff is available for our needs and wants. They know what the guest wants before he thinks of it. EVERYONE is friendly and goes to great lengths to provide what we ask. Pool food is tops and servers are attentive. Towels provided by Tasha? - efficient and concerned. Eli at the front desk is engaging and warm and absolutely knows everything (hold your heart boys). Carol in reservations makes you feel that you belong here. Galina has looked in on us to see if all the houskeeping is good.
Breakfast is incredible and Pauline is so good to us. All of the servers work hard to please.
Dan the manager of the breakfast is always checking to see if all is ok.
Dinners at the Crow's Nest are tasty and artistically presented. The Chef - Jason Miller - is OUTSTANDING. He will come out and talk with you at any time.
What else is there to say. World Class! Ray and Linda Vermilya

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rayandlindaShelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,516
    697
    258
    104
    71
See reviews for
997
1,158
46
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Our (wife and me) week was great! The manatees, the dolphins, the seashells, the staff, the grounds (manicured & full of flowers) the room, the food and beverages (especially the fresh fruit every morning), the beach, the bay, the cruise, the huge pool, the new hairdo - everything perfect!!
We can't wait to return.
JJ & D

Room Tip: Some have ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPerdue812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, CT
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My husband and I returned to Tween Waters a couple of weeks ago for a one week stay. This was our third stay at Tween Waters and we finally decided to stay a full week, in a suite this time, overlooking the bay rather than the Gulf of Mexico. We loved being on the bay side and seeing the birds and manatees along with the boats at the marina. The suite was clean and quiet and we had a small screened in porch to sit on too. I used the kitchen minimally but it was very handy to have it there and we fixed ourselves some Super Bowl snacks to really feel at home. I was disappointed with the water temperature in the shower. I like it really hot and it was closer to warm than really hot. And my husband began to have a few allergic reactions to something in the room; the staff was very helpful in giving us foam pillows. However I wonder if pets had been in the room, will certainly find that out before we book next time. We love Tween Waters and want to stay longer next year but need to find out about the pets, and if they are restricted to certain rooms or just allowed in every room.
The swimming pool and poolside bar are the best, we just love the perfect water temperature. And of course who can say anything but rave reviews on the full continental breakfast offered each morning for free? A great way to start the day.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CTtraveler717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager23, General Manager at Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Thank you very much to the reviewer for their helpful comments. Staying in one of the bayside units at Tween Waters Inn is really a special treat. No matter how many times I look out over the bay waters I never tire of exactly the things you have mentioned – the boats, the marine life and the birdlife. Frequently we see several manatee come to our bayside shoreline and relax under the warming rays of the sun.
I do apologize for the limited amount of hot water you experienced in your suite’s shower. During February we unfortunately had some issues with the heating system in one of our bayside buildings. However, that problem was repaired and the system is operating properly now. I was sorry to hear of the reaction your husband suffered. Tween Waters has about 20 units that are pet friendly – these include a number of the bay view guestrooms, bay view studios and a several of the resort’s cottages. However, there are no pet friendly units in the type of unit you occupied - a bay view one bedroom suite.
I enjoyed your comment about the pool being the perfect temperature. The Olympic size pool here at Tween Waters is geothermally heated. We extract water from a deep well on the property, run it through several heat exchangers that extract the heat from it and then transfer the heat to the pool water. The water that was pulled up from the deep underground source is pumped back to that source through another well. This system is environmentally friendly in that considerably less energy is needed to maintain a comfortable temperature pool. By the way, in the summer months the process is reversed and the excess heat from the pool is removed leaving the pool at a refreshing swimming temperature.
Thank you for returning to Tween Waters Inn. We will look forward to your next trip to our little part of paradise here on Captiva Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
264 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We recently spent a week at Tween Waters Inn and are already making plans to spend at least a week, moybe two weeks, next year. Having stayed at the other "resort" on Captiva, we found Tween Waters to be relaxed, down-to-earth, and much less pretentious than South Seas resort. There was a good mix of visitors, a number of whom have been coming back for years. We were in one of the older buildings, but it came with a small but nice kitchen, and lovely bath with large soaking tub and separate shower, and, best of all, a third-floor screened lanai with a drop-dead view of the beach and the gulf. The room was spotlessly clean. A very generous continental breakfast buffet is included in the price. The list of amenities is really long. But our favorite was to enjoy the sunset from our private lanai or just to walk the mile-long mostly private beach. Very relaxing!

Room Tip: If you want a gulf view, request that. You have an option of a studio with screened lanai, and ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rac-columbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We had just arrived at the hotel we had originally booked and it was a disaster! We were able to find a room at the Tween Waters Inn and we were so pleased from the beginning. The staff was wonderful, the location spectacular and they treated us so well we completely forgot about our mishap. The rooms could use a little update but the people definitely made the place!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dissapointed1954828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

From the moment I arrived at Tween Waters I felt like I was part of a huge loving family. From the CEO, Tony and his wife Angie, to the woman who cleans my room (Lourdes), to the women in the spa (Denise, Danielle, Amy), to Jeff at the front desk, Rick, who is in charge of renovations...my experience here has been extraordinary. I have been blessed enough to have traveled a great deal and there is not another place like Tween Waters anywhere. I am staying in 304 Mangrove Building and the view defies description. I am writing a book and trying to rest my knee, which refuses to heal from double-knee replacement. I am in chronic pain 24/7. I can't imagine a better place to give me one last shot at recovery..without surgery again. So the next time you are thinking about a vacation, and need to decide what is the best place to relax and soak up the sun with a margarita by the beach or pool, look no further then Tween Waters Inn in Captiva, Florida...heaven on earth.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hol121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We just returned from a quick get away celebrating our 25th that falls on Valentines day! I have been to Sanibel/Captiva several times on business trips but this is our first stay at the Tween resort. A friend and local business owner on the island recomended it and I cant thank him enough ,as it was a first class resort and we were impressed with the well kept grounds and friendly staff. When I needed something from the front desk they responded iin minutes to solve the request.
Dinner on our special night was at the Old Captiva restaurant located on the property. We both had excellent meals and a great selection to choose from as we do not eat any red meat or poltry. So Snapper and Sea Bass was the choice and both were prepared perfect and the presentation was well done.
We stayed in the cottage # 112 which had a fireplace and small kitchen.large bathroom and screened in porch.
Tuesday early evening there was a nice party hosted by the resort with free drinks and a nice assortment of munchies. We met the owner and enjoyed hearing about the resort and the island life.
Will we go back?
already planning it and I forgot to mention they are pet friendly so our 4 legged child Cody gets to go next time!

Room Tip: The cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumrdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager22, General Manager at Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Cody2454,
Happy anniversary. Let me say that all of us here at Tween Waters are truly honored that you choose us to celebrate such a special occasion. Please pass our thanks on to your friend and local business owner as well for recommending us to you. It is very rewarding to hear that of all the hotels and resorts located within SW Florida that we were top on the recommended list. I will pass your accolades on the Chef Jason Miller and the Old Captiva House staff who continue to provide one of the best dining experiences on the islands. Finally we are glad that you enjoyed our weekly manager’s cocktail party that we hold every Tuesday night in season. We feel it is a nice way for us to get to know and thank our guest for choosing us for their vacation experience. It is also on opportunity for us to hear guest feedback which we view as a real gift. Thank you again for choosing us for your 25th Anniversary get away and we look forward to your return visit with your 4 legged friend (please check with our reservation staff as not all of our units are pet friendly).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
10.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,251 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
265 reviews
11.0 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,289 reviews
7.8 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,710 reviews
8.3 mi away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa

Property: Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Address: 15951 Captiva Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the legendary 'Tween Waters Inn on beautiful Captiva Island. Shouldn't every day be this good? Here, across 13 gorgeous Gulf-tween-bay acres, you can enjoy 137 quality accommodations including historic one, two and three bedroom seaside cottages, suites, studios and guest rooms. Miles of sugar-sand beaches. Olympic-size pool, hot tubs and children's wading pool. Day spa. Marina for launch, dock or rental. Fitness center, tennis, kayak and eco-adventures. Award-winning dining and nightly entertainment. Plus ballroom, boardroom and banquet facilities, indoors and out, for business, weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tween Waters Hotel Captiva Island
Tween Water Inn
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa Captiva Island, Florida
Tween Waters Captiva Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing