We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Captiva's real treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Mahwah, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Captiva's real treasure”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Forget Sanibel condos and South Sea Resort - Tween Waters Inn combines retro South Florida charm with modern style and comfort. From suites to cottages, the sunny accommodations have a warm, Tommy Bahama feel and great views. Choose the beautiful pool and jacuzzi (with the Oasis Pool Bar) or the exquisite private beach (with cabana rentals), but always make a point to catch the classic sunsets. They throw in free breakfast, and the staff throughout is warm and courteous. With fine dining at Old Captiva House, light fare at the Crow's Nest, Marina services, boat and kayak rentals and a newly renovated day spa, you'll scarcely need to leave, and surely not want to check out. And did we mention pet friendly? They're not just pet tolerant; just ask our cat, Jasper, whose flown in from NJ over a dozen times. He loves the cottages and their screened in porches. TWI makes for a tropical getaway without a passport.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager22, General Manager at Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Robertfw,
WOW! Thank you for your kind and supporting words. I will be sure to share your review, as I do with all reviews, with our staff. We look forward to Jasper’s and your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,550
    706
    263
    106
    75
See reviews for
1,023
1,180
48
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I came here expecting a decent enough facility, maybe a little on the shabby side. I'm delighted to have been proved very wrong. True, the buildings are on the older side; rooms are a tad small but they've been updated nicely.

Most important, the food, facilities, and services were outstanding. We arrived late and hungry. My grumpy husband wasn't very nice to the hostess in the restaurant (Old Captiva House) but she was unfazed and polite and got us a table with only a 15 min wait, despite no reservation. The food was excellent and fairly priced.

Even the poolside bar food was great! The waitresses were overstretched, but they still did a good job and, most amazingly, stayed cheerful. The pool is great, and the beach is beyond fabulous. We watched manatees and other wildlife from our balcony. Awesome!

On our last day we were able to extend our checkout time, a great help. EVERYONE here was friendly and helpful. Thank you, Tween Waters. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbfromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Aurora
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This place is a delight...charming ambience, great staff and fabulous location. We watched dolphins and manatees from our balcony. Breakfast was more than we anticipated and lucious...lots of choices, all good. The beach is wonderful, miles of sand and a beautiful walk.

We had a one-bdrm suite and it had more than we needed. The balcony alone was worth the trip. The staff is fantastic.

We can rate this place EXCELLENT but even that doesn't do it justice. You need to visit...and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for the second story of GUMBO LIMBO because it has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SnookyBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We live in Florida and my husband and I wanted a weekend getaway. Having traveled to Captiva Island many times we are familiar with the properties. We have stayed at tween in the past on the bay side because the cottages were booked. We stopped in and just by luck they had one available. Although not direct beach view you were still able to sit on lanai and see the water have a read and relax . The cottage was perfect.....Beautiful and updated inside..kitchen ,dining, living room and full bedroom and bath. I am a bit of a hotel snob and was very impressed with the cottage. My only complaint was "no doggies" our yorkie would have loved it...the complimentary breakfast was just right to get your day off to a great start. staff friendly and helpful. love the pool and the bar. Will return....cottage is a must stay

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachbum2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

A PERFECT, romantic weekend getaway for my boyfriend and I!!! The location can't be beat. Our room was very nice and clean and had a porch right on the water. It was a lot of fun hanging out by the pool (great food and drinks too) and on the beautiful beach. Breakfast was free and delicious. We brought our bikes and rode down the island and browsed the gift shops-beautiful view and one of my favorite things we did. We definitely want to go back in the next couple months-it's just a quick trip from Tampa :) The only thing I do wish is that it was a little bit more affordable...our room was over $300 a night after taxes, etc.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AutumnElizabeth87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager22, General Manager at Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
AutumnElizabeth87,
We are so glad that you had a “PERFECT, romantic weekend” with us. Our location is ideal for both couples and families alike as the beaches, marina, pool and islands offer something for everyone. With over 22 miles of paved bike paths on Sanibel and Captiva, biking is a very relaxing and popular mode of transportation. If you cannot bring your own bike there are several areas on the islands as well as our marina that provide hourly, daily and weekly rentals. Our room rates do very depending on the time of year, type of room and length of stay. We offer many different types of accommodations from water view (gulf, bay, or pool view) guestrooms to 1, 2, and 3 bedroom suites to individual cottages ranging from studios to 3 bedrooms. Please visit our website or call one of our onsite reservationists to discuss your rooming options. Another good idea is to add you name to our email list. Click the “sign up to save” button on our website and fill out the application. This will entitle you to receive our twice monthly e-blasts offering our best rates and packages. Currently we are offering a 3 night package for $160 per night (plus taxes) which also includes $50 in free resort values (good 4/15/12 – 5/24/12). We also offer midweek and offseason rates at different times of the year for those that can be flexible with their travel. Finally, we encourage you to “friend” us on facebook to keep up to date with all the island and resort happenings as well as facebook only specials. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. I hope my advice helps in making your future plans and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brainerd, MN
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Stayed at Tweenwaters for 8 days Feb/March 2012. It is an older Resort. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. Met many people from all over the US who come there annually as well as first timers like ourselves. This resort was very customer friendly, lots of southern charm. Plan to visit again.

Room Tip: Had a bayview room because oceanview was full. Was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatBrainerd_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This place is a perfect stay for Linda and me. We have been coming off and on to Tween since the 80s and never tire of its charm. From check in to check out the staff is available for our needs and wants. They know what the guest wants before he thinks of it. EVERYONE is friendly and goes to great lengths to provide what we ask. Pool food is tops and servers are attentive. Towels provided by Tasha? - efficient and concerned. Eli at the front desk is engaging and warm and absolutely knows everything (hold your heart boys). Carol in reservations makes you feel that you belong here. Galina has looked in on us to see if all the houskeeping is good.
Breakfast is incredible and Pauline is so good to us. All of the servers work hard to please.
Dan the manager of the breakfast is always checking to see if all is ok.
Dinners at the Crow's Nest are tasty and artistically presented. The Chef - Jason Miller - is OUTSTANDING. He will come out and talk with you at any time.
What else is there to say. World Class! Ray and Linda Vermilya

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rayandlindaShelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
10.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,295 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
267 reviews
2.8 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,768 reviews
2.1 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
504 reviews
14.3 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa

Property: Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Address: 15951 Captiva Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the legendary 'Tween Waters Inn on beautiful Captiva Island. Shouldn't every day be this good? Here, across 13 gorgeous Gulf-tween-bay acres, you can enjoy 137 quality accommodations including historic one, two and three bedroom seaside cottages, suites, studios and guest rooms. Miles of sugar-sand beaches. Olympic-size pool, hot tubs and children's wading pool. Day spa. Marina for launch, dock or rental. Fitness center, tennis, kayak and eco-adventures. Award-winning dining and nightly entertainment. Plus ballroom, boardroom and banquet facilities, indoors and out, for business, weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tween Waters Hotel Captiva Island
Tween Water Inn
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa Captiva Island, Florida
Tween Waters Captiva Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing