We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, England
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay.”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Hotel is situated in central Captiva which is about 15 miles to the mainland via Sanibel - there are speed restrictions on the road and so that journey can take about 30 mins.
The Hotel is in a superb location between with the sea with great beach just across the road and the sound behind. (Manitees regularly seen close to shore in the sound)
The Reception Staff, and in fact all staff, are very helpful and friendly.
The Rooms are clean and well furnished containing two comfortable twin beds, old style TV, table, fridge, Coffee making, pictures, etc. Bathroom is relatively small, but fine although ours was showing some signs of wear / age. Our Room faced the sea with a screened balcony containing chairs and table. In Room safe also provided. The room had a nice comfortable feel.
Although there was Wi Fi access in the rooms the strength of the signal was poor and not really usable.
There is a large pleasant swimming pool with bar - plus slightly irritating music !!!. Kayak rental available for use in the sound and also bicycle rental available.
The Hotel provide either cabanas or seats / umbrellas on the beach at a cost of $15 or $20 respectively which seems a bit pricey particularly since they were not that good quality. A superb beach and great for swimming or fishing. (Dolphins regularly seen)
A good quality / choice continental breakfast is provided between 7.30 - 11.00. Cooked options are available to residents for an extra $5.95.
There are two Restaurants as part of the Hotel - Old Captiva (up market quality style) and The Crows Nest (Pub style). Both are good and reliable.
This was our second visit to Tween Waters and we will probably return again. One downside is that it takes some time to get back to the mainland, but this must be balanced against the location - Captiva is a bit less busy than Sanibel.
A very good hotel perhaps falling just short of excellent in my view.

Room Tip: I would choose an upper level room with better views so long as you are ok with carrying luggage up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,553
    708
    263
    107
    75
See reviews for
1,025
1,184
48
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

A charming island resort that has everything you need in close proximity. Beautiful beach that feels private. Fun pool that is always buzzing with activity. Harbor has lots of activities. We love kayaking pine island sound, renting bikes to ride around captiva and the fishin charters. The continental breakfast is perfect--I dream about the warm, homemade coffee cakes. The grounds are loaded with palm trees and flowers and have a great island feel--you might as well be on a private island in the Bahamas! The location can't be beat, so close to great restaurants on captiva and sanibel. So many room and cottage options. Some could use some updating but most are great. We don't like the new towel policy. We were so stressed out about losing one. Food in crows nest is not the best and the crab races guy is crabby and kind of mean. It's kind of funny, but sometimes it takes the fun out of it. Overall, we lOve Tween more than anyplace else. Our best family memories are at tween waters and on captiva!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J9800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager22, General Manager at Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
J9800,
We are so glad that you enjoyed your 6th visit with us and that “you love Tween more than anyplace else”. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us and others. Over the past year we have made numerous improvements to our landscaping, pool area (all new pool furniture), and rooms (new ac units and furniture). Many of our improvements to our rooms are still ongoing as we continue the gut remodel of our 1 bedroom suites in the Mangrove Building (we have completed about ½ with plans to finish by the end of summer) and bathroom and ac updates in our water view guestrooms. We invite you to friend us on Facebook where we post all the goings on at our resort. Our new luxury towel program started this January and while the program is not perfect it does offer many advantages and has been met with overwhelming approval by our guests. This new program provides our guest with complimentary use of a much larger and more luxurious beach towel that can be exchanged for a dry and clean towel at any time. And, because guests return or take their towels back to their room the efficiency and appearance of our lounge chairs and pool area is greatly improved. I am sure you remember from your previous trips how many small white pool towels were left on lounge chairs and around the pool that we couldn’t pick up until the end of the day as we were not sure if guests were still using them. Towels left on lounge chairs gave the appearance of an occupied chair often frustrating those looking for places to relax by the pool. Please keep in mind that this is a voluntary program that guests can choose to participate in. You are more than welcome to bring your own towels. We do appreciate your comments and this is a new program for us. Please feel free to contact me directly at dougbabcock22@gmail.com to offer any additional comments and/or suggestions. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your 7th visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This was our first visit to Tween Waters Inn ..but not our last! We loved it and booked for next year before we left. Out housekeeper Ludmila was outstanding! Kept our room neat as a pin and so clean! The breakfast buffet really is sumptuous and for a very small charge a cooked breakfast can be added on. The staff was very friendly and helpful especially the young girl at Tweens Beans and Dan the host for breakfast at Old Captiva House and Lisa at Oasis pool bar. Wonderful trip.Thanks!

Room Tip: We stayed in a studio facing the Gulf of Mexico..highly suggest that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We have been coming to Tween Waters in March for the last four years. We have vacationed in the Sanibel/Captiva area for over ten years so we know the area very well. Though not perfect, Tween Waters is a very good choice for us. We like the variety of activities that are available there during the day and at night.

During the day we like to go to the beach. They have a superb stretch of beach facing the Gulf with cabanas or beach umbrellas and chairs available. If you like sunning by the pool better, their pool is big, clean, surrounded by 40 or 50 lounge chairs and umbrellas, and it features a pool side bar (for food and drinks). This year they even added a coffee shop which to this Northerner was sorely missing in the past. They have nature tours via kayak and sunset boat cruises which launch from Tween Waters' docks. If you look closely in the morning you will probably see several manatees swimming near the docks. They are quite a sight.

At night they offer a central spot to visit the many nice restaurants in Captiva and Sanibel. they even have their own restaurant, The Old Captiva House, which we tried once and was a little upscale and quite good. The best thing about Tween Waters at night is the Crow's Nest Bar which offers the only real night life in sleepy Captiva. We heard that a much larger resort on the island actually busses their guests to Tween Waters for the night life. They offer live music several nights of the week and have something called the "Crab Races" twice a week. This is a hoot! They guy who runs it has been doing it for years and is flat out hilarious and a little raunchy. It's alot of fun.

Though small they do have flaws. The bathrooms are getting a little older and the HVAC equipment is a little noisy. The cell phone reception is average and the Tween Waters WIFI internet signal is very weak almost everywhere you go on the resort.

Overall, we give Tween Waters high marks. Watching the sunset on their westward facing beach is almost worth the price of the hotel by itself. You will take alot of pictures!

Room Tip: Book one year in advance. If you want a quiet room, pick the top floor on the side facing Buck Key...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcduane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager22, General Manager at Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Jcduane,
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort and Spa thanks you for your review and very kind words. We are honored to be your “FAVORITE PLACE TO STAY IN CAPTIVA”. So glad that you enjoyed our new Tween’s Beans coffee bar. The decision to add the coffee bar was the direct result of feedback we received from guests like yourself. In addition to illy Italian gourmet coffee, if you haven’t tried it you are in for a treat, they offer ice cream, swim goggles, pool toys, t-shirts, suntan lotion, and much more. You can even get a “little mo in your jo” by adding Baileys or Kahlua. Tasha and Adam have done a wonderful job as or new barista’s as numerous positive mentions on Trip Advisor can attest to. We also appreciate your comments about our bathrooms, HVAC equipment, WI-FI and cell phone reception. I am sure you will be happy to know, again based on our guest’s feedback; we are currently addressing all of these issues. We are replacing all the tubs, tile, and lighting in our water view guestrooms. We are replacing our older style ptac HVAC units with new LG split air units which are more efficient and much quieter. We are also adding numerous boosters to our wireless system to improve our WI-FI signal and connectivity. And finally, while there is little we can do about cellular service, we are adding cellular boosters to try to improve cell reception. All these efforts are currently in process and we hope to have them completed by this summer before we tackle our next challenge. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your 5th visit next March if not before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petoskey, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

There is a sense of community at this cozy Captiva resort. I've stayed at South Seas before, there is nothing similar about them. Tween Waters has been here for 81 years. Nicely appointed rooms. We stayed on the quiet back bay side in a top level studio. The small kitchenette with micro, 2 burner stovetop, frig, coffee maker, glasses and dishes comes in handy. We kept wine, snacks, sodas available. Poolside is a tiki bar that serves a small menu and drinks. You can sit at the bar, at tables by the pool, or be waited on by excellent servers circling the pool. Breakfast is included. A lovely cold continental spread daily. Hot entrees for guests are inexpensive. Two dining choices on premises. The casual Crow's Nest with nightly specials and entertainment, or the premier Old Captiva House with piano music, and elegant fine dining. Downtown is less than a mile away with many more options or a short drive back to Sanibel. Sunsets are magnificent. The biggest treat of all are the many manatees that we view from our balcony or along the bayside shore. So fun to watch them and the plentiful herons and osprey! This is truly a special place!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012 via mobile

We went here for 4 days on a road trip in Florida and found it a very nice surprise. Although the room was just your average hotel room, the resort itself was very relaxed, small scaled and personal. The food in the 'upscale' restaurant was good, the breakfast was not as good as we expected. Too noisy, bad coffee and very limited choice for a continental breakfast (but we might be spoiled with our European breakfasts). I absolutely loved the bar, where you'd mingle with the locals, chat with the staff and leave with new friends! And that sums it up; if you're European and want to meet some real nice American people in a lovely setting, this is your spot. Or you can have a lovely romantic getaway, with a beautiful sunset and the beach to yourself, both day and night.

Stayed June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager22, General Manager at Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Ronald G,
We are very glad that you found us on your road trip of Florida and thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience with others. While most of our guests rave about our complimentary continental breakfast I do appreciate your comments. I am sure you will be happy to know that we have recently made a few changes to our breakfast service. First, we have added Sun Harvest fresh squeezed orange juice to our juice selection. Sun Harvest is a well known local citrus grower and if you have not tried their products you are in for a treat. Secondly, we have added illy gourmet Italian roasted coffee and espresso as a pay for upgrade to our breakfast service. It is served French Press style which is a filter-less approach allowing more of the oils and flavors of the coffee to “steep” into the brew resulting in a very strong and robust coffee. This is the same coffee that is being served to rave reviews at our newly opened Tween’s Beans Coffee shop and at our Old Captiva House dinner service. Thank you again for staying with us and sharing your comments. We take all guest comments very seriously as we continue to look for ways to improve upon our services and offerings to our guests. We look forward to your return and I am sure your will enjoy the improvements we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metamora, mi
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We recently stayed at Tween Waters for a family wedding, and what a lovely place it was! Even though its an older facility, it is well maintained, very clean, our room was recently remodeled with very nice countertops in the kitchenette, nice bathroom with great shower, and a beautiful view of the ocean from our screened in porch. The staff was so friendly and helpful, the food was very good, and the atmosphere very relaxing. We had an absolutely wonderul time, and wouldn't hestitate to recommend it to anyone. We'd love to go back again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcrean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
10.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,297 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
267 reviews
2.8 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,771 reviews
2.1 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
505 reviews
14.3 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa

Property: Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Address: 15951 Captiva Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the legendary 'Tween Waters Inn on beautiful Captiva Island. Shouldn't every day be this good? Here, across 13 gorgeous Gulf-tween-bay acres, you can enjoy 137 quality accommodations including historic one, two and three bedroom seaside cottages, suites, studios and guest rooms. Miles of sugar-sand beaches. Olympic-size pool, hot tubs and children's wading pool. Day spa. Marina for launch, dock or rental. Fitness center, tennis, kayak and eco-adventures. Award-winning dining and nightly entertainment. Plus ballroom, boardroom and banquet facilities, indoors and out, for business, weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tween Waters Hotel Captiva Island
Tween Water Inn
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa Captiva Island, Florida
Tween Waters Captiva Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing