We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Coral Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Class Vacation”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We really enjoyed our extended weekend on Captiva Island. The location is perfect, with the property located on the thin part of Captiva Island and water on both sides of the property. Very clean and well appointed rooms with nearby access to great restaurants and island activities.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,592
    720
    272
    109
    77
See reviews for
1,057
1,212
48
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My mother and I have been coming to Tween Waters for the past 5 years. Everyone is so friendly and always make us feel right at home. I would like to give a special thanks to Chris at the marina. He always makes us feel welcome. He takes the time to answer all of my questions and give us great ideas for things to do. He makes us feel like we are part of the Tween Waters family. We look forward to seeing all of you next year. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all. Thanks again for a great holiday!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Marvelous and Romantic Christmas get-away at Tween Waters Inn on Captiva Island !
We stayed in one of the historical cottages. The view from our front porch was the glorious beach on the Gulf. Even though the weather was less than sunny and had cloud cover the days we stayed...we still had a beautiful sunset. The temperatures were cooler for SW Florida at mid 70's and only required a light sweater or jacket in late evening or wee morning. It wasn't bikini weather, but we still had wonderful strolls along the beach and a late night storm brought in millions of shells ! So yes, we found some favorites and will hang them on next year's tree.
We experienced the traditional Crab Races at Crow's Nest on the 23rd. Silly, fun time. And you get to meet just about everyone staying at the Inn during it. Met marvelous couples and families from all over the globe. And food....wow ! oh my gosh have the ribs !!!! We got to try both the beef short ribs and the pork BBQ ribs...AMAZIING ! Christmas lunch was at the Old Captiva house...absolutely charming. Each morning there is a continental breakfast at the Old Captiva House. You can order just about anything from the menu, but we found the continental breakfast hearty and perfect with plenty of fruits. ( My fave ). Christmas eve we treated ourselves to massages at the the spa. Oh glory ! I'd want to do that every day. If we had stayed longer than 3 nights I would have tried the gym. As a gym bunny, their work out room looked tempting. What impressed us most was the staff. So friendly and they all seemed to enjoy their work and that makes the whole experience that much better. So while the rest of the continent was battling snow...we were being pampered Island style !

Room Tip: Get a cottage facing the Gulf !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The hotel is a bit tired and the rooms are somewhat dated. It isn't too fancy, but if you want easy access to the beach or to kick back at the pool for a relaxing afternoon then you will be pleased with your visit. Our room was similar to a remodeled Best Western or similar hotel brand.

The bar and restaurant are good and convenient. If you are there on a Wednesday night go to the crab races at the bar. However, this is not for kids and you must be an adult to attend the 9pm crab races. The crab races are somewhat like a stand up comedy act that is not G rated.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramblingagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager22, Manager at Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Ramblingagain,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience with others. We are very glad that you enjoyed our “awesome location”, our pool, restaurants and Crab Race event. However, I would like to clarify and/or offer suggestions to you and others who read your review or are planning a trip to Tween Waters Inn Island Resort and Spa in the future. First, our NASCRAB Crab Race event takes place every MONDAY and THURSDAY evening in our Crow’s Nest Beach Bar and Grill. There are 2 shows each night, one that starts around 6pm and is “kid friendly” and a second that starts around 9pm and is for adults only. The crab’s race all year long with the exception of Mid-August through October and early December. The shows are a combination race and comedy event and are very popular. We accept reservations from in house guests only and we highly recommend that you make a reservation if you plan on seeing the show.

Secondly, we do apologize that you found your room to be “average”. However, to try and accommodate a wide variety of vacationers, vacationing styles and budgets we offer 19 different types of accommodations. Our room plans range from basic pool view and water view guest rooms to deluxe studios, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom suites. In addition we offer studio, 1, 2, and 3 bedroom stand alone cottages with a variety of bay and Gulf of Mexico views. We recommend that prior to making your rooming decision you speak to one of our onsite reservation consultants who can help align your vacation expectations with one of our accommodation options. Our website has a detailed property map and tour that shows pictures and describes the amenities and location of our many different types of accommodations. Once on property if your accommodations do not meet your needs, our 24 hour a day front desk agents would be happy to show you other available rooming options.

Thank you again for staying with us and sharing your experience. Our goal is to inform and prepare our future guests as to what to expect from their stay at Tween Waters Inn Island Resort and Spa as best as we can prior to arrival. Once you arrive our mission is; “To deliver and warm, friendly and memorable island resort experience that provides a value to all our guests resulting in a desire to return”. We do hope that we accomplished our mission during your stay with us and that you will return in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly to discuss our accommodations and or any other concerns you may have.

Warm regards

Doug Babcock
Chief Operating Officer
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Dbabcock@tween-waters.com
(239)472-5161 x453
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

My husband and I have been coming to the Tween Waters for five years now. My parents live near Ft Myers, and we always combine our trip with a few days at Tween Waters. It's a great location - between the bay and the gulf. The rooms are well maintained, good entertainment (the crab races are always fun), great food, and just an all around laid back vacation area. I actually purchased my parents a gift card for their anniversary to stay here (they live about an hour away). My only little tiny gripe was when it was a chilly day on the beach, we were just sitting on one of the cabanas on the beach (no one was out there since it was so cold), and we were told by one of the attendants that we couldn't sit there since we hadn't purchased a cabana for the day. Really?? NO ONE was out there. Just my one little gripe - we are coming back again in February for three nights -- we wanted to stay longer but everything was sold out!! What a great problem to have...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I want to give a special thank you to a few folks who made our trip really special this year: Jason #1 for the amazing food at the Thanksgiving buffet, Jason #2 for the impeccable service at the Thanksgiving buffet and Crow’s Nest, and Randy Barfield of Fishy Business for the wonderful boat charter.

The reason we keep coming back to this little patch of paradise is the service. You are treated like royalty at every turn; no request is ever a problem. All the staff is professional and extra friendly.

We booked our room for next thanksgiving. Thank you again for the perfect family vacation.

Room Tip: We loved the one bedroom suite for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My husband and I moored here for two nights on our houseboat. We were greeted with exceptional
service by Don and Chris. The Marina was very accomadating with all our necessities and more. We had power and cable if you needed. Private bathrooms with showers. There was a great pool, hottubs, bar, large restaurant, and gift shop. There are two restaurants. The Crows nest is more casual and the bartender Dan is one of the best I have had server us, great guy.
We were here just at the begining of their boat lighting and it was so cool to see all the boats lit up for Christmas.
We greatly enjoyed our two nights here and will definetly return here for our next adventure on the ICW.
Thank you to Chris, Don, Dan and all the staff at Tween Waters
Sincerely the O'Malleys

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomalley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
10.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,342 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
280 reviews
2.8 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,823 reviews
2.1 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
513 reviews
14.3 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa

Property: Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Address: 15951 Captiva Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the legendary 'Tween Waters Inn on beautiful Captiva Island. Shouldn't every day be this good? Here, across 13 gorgeous Gulf-tween-bay acres, you can enjoy 137 quality accommodations including historic one, two and three bedroom seaside cottages, suites, studios and guest rooms. Miles of sugar-sand beaches. Olympic-size pool, hot tubs and children's wading pool. Day spa. Marina for launch, dock or rental. Fitness center, tennis, kayak and eco-adventures. Award-winning dining and nightly entertainment. Plus ballroom, boardroom and banquet facilities, indoors and out, for business, weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tween Waters Hotel Captiva Island
Tween Water Inn
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa Captiva Island, Florida
Tween Waters Captiva Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing