We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip of a Lifetime!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Have NEVER had a BETTER vacation!!! I can't wait to go again next summer. Room was PERFECT, RESTAURANTS were PERFECT and ENTIRE staff was PERFECT!!! Enjoy yourselves! I can't say ENOUGH! The 2 restaurants on site could not be any better! You don't even have to get back in your car once you arrive!!!
Susan

Room Tip: Pick one by the pool or marina. Better than by the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mymackinac_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,013)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,186 - 2,192 of 3,013 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

We had been to Sanibel before and only driven out to Captiva. I remembered the beautiful stretch of beach and wished we had stayed there rather than the chain we had chosen on West Gulf Drive. What a surprise we had pulling into Tween Waters and found that we were on that exact spot that I had wished for a few years before. The view of the beach was phenomenal. Check in was quick and informative with all the staff being helpful and friendly. After being shown where to park our car the bellman carried (at the same time) our two 50lb suitcases up the stairs to our Gulf View room. The room was elegant and comfortable but it was the view of the ocean from our screened in balcony that left me in awe.
We only walked on the beach since it was a bit cool but the view and the rolling surf added to our relaxation. There were both cabanas and beach chairs and umbrellas for rent, hopefully next time we visit it will be a bit warmer,
The free Continental breakfast was very good each morning, We opted to share an order of French toast and bacon, which was an extra charge, and it was delicious.
We ate dinner one night at The Crows Nest and we were very happy with our Fried Shrimp and decadent dessert of chocolate cake, which was recommended by our attentive server.
There is a pool and a marina which we walked by as well as many activities; biking, kayaking included, which we will take advantage of on our next visit.
There are many rooms and cottages to choose from but I'd tell you to spend the extra money and get the Gulf view room.

Room Tip: rooms on the second level are in the 300 number range, the first level is in the 200. 275 is on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I booked this place blind, which I hate to do, based on consistently good reviews and it met high expectations for service, price and location. Breakfast included was solid and views good. Pool was warm which was needed this week with some cool and rain. Beach walks for miles just across the street. Bayside views great too and bummed I didn't get to do a boat rental.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Z L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

What an incredible 3 days. Wish we had a week here. Nothing but a perfect experience. The beach was ours personal haven from the world. Very few people out this time of year. The Bubble Room is a must see.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tommytwohatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This is the 1st time we visited Captiva. The Inn is very nice. It is well located just across from the ocean. We had a room over looking the ocean. We sat in the screened in porch and watched the sun set. Breakfast is continental. If you want hot breakfast it is extra. The rooms are spacious and have a little kitchenette. Captivia is expensive so if you want food or drinks for your room get them in Ft. Myers before you come across the causeway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traceygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I have been staying on Sanibel island since 1988 and this is the best location with easy access to both Captivas main area (walking distance by beach and road) and Sanibel. Nice long beach just across the road,nice pool area with snack bar ,captiva house restaurant very nice with cont. breakfast incl....nice for dinners as well. Crows nest casual restaurant and bar which hosts crab races every mon and thurs also very fun as well as live music on the wknds! Rooms are nice even tho hotel is older. The staff was nice as well! My only suggestion would be to buy water to keep in the fridge...not sold in their machines and water tastes funny. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We had the ocean view with a small screened in porch but the bay view rooms looked nice as well as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank truman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We just got back from ‘Tween Waters after a 2 night stay. It was lovely, and I wouldn’t be surprised if we return in the future, with a few changes. We checked in around 4 pm and the very attentive staff patiently waited to escort us to our room and show us where to park. We were on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool. In the future I might ask for a room facing the ocean. There were people in the hot tub directly below our room and they were a little loud. Our 2 queen bedroom was adequate but very small. To be fair, this is a historic property, and you simply will not find lavish accommodations on this unique little island unless you want to rent a private home. There was not room for a chair or table. The bathroom was tiny but had been recently updated. The room had a small screened in balcony that fit 2 chairs and a small side table. All in all, we thought the price was high for the quality of the room. We wouldn’t normally have spent a lot of time in the room- after all, you’re here for the beautiful ocean views and pool scene. However, we were dealt with unusually cold weather and after dinner there didn’t seem to be much to do at night other than retire to our room with our 5 year old. The pool closes at dusk as well. Even sitting out on the balcony was difficult and we wrapped ourselves in blankets. Certainly not the resort’s fault, of course. Other than the pool and beach (and restaurants) there doesn’t seem to be any public places where guests can relax or congregate.

Our first night we had dinner at the Crow’s Nest which was unexpectedly good. Our server Casey was excellent. I had expected the restaurant to be more “bar-like” based on the reviews but I would equate it to a casual Midwestern supper club. They were setting up live music when we left. We liked it so much we went back the second night, although the service was not good that night. Our server kept forgetting our drinks and we barely saw him.

Our second day we woke early and had the free continental breakfast in the Old Captiva House. It was wonderful. A huge spread of fruits, pastries, yogurt, cereal, toast, bagels, juices, coffee. My meat-eating husband was pleased to find that you can order a number of proteins from the menu at a reasonable cost. We decided to brave the chill and walk into Captiva. We tried to walk along the ocean with our 5 year old but the wind got to be too much. The road is narrow and the shoulder is narrow for walking. I wouldn’t have felt comfortable letting him ride his bike. It was about a 20 minute walk; we looked around town a bit and headed back. It was nice and sunny so we found a spot poolside where we spent most of the day laying in the sun and enjoying the nicely heated pool. We were surprised at how reasonable the Oasis bar menu and drinks were.

My impressions of this resort were that it is extremely quaint and charming. The entire resort was a little smaller than I expected, and only took a few minutes to walk the grounds. The beach was flawless. The marina is small but pretty. The pool area was nicely laid out. We spent our first half of our vacation in a luxury condo on the mainland, so our small room was a bit of a disappointment. We might look into renting a cottage if we come back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mpls25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
10.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,504 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
313 reviews
12 mi away
The Westin Cape Coral Resort At Marina Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,488 reviews
7.8 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,018 reviews
2.1 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#11 of 20 in Sanibel Island
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa

Address: 15951 Captiva Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range: £163 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the legendary 'Tween Waters Inn on beautiful Captiva Island. Shouldn't every day be this good? Here, across 13 gorgeous Gulf-tween-bay acres, you can enjoy 137 quality accommodations including historic one, two and three bedroom seaside cottages, suites, studios and guest rooms. Miles of sugar-sand beaches. Olympic-size pool, hot tubs and children's wading pool. Day spa. Marina for launch, dock or rental. Fitness center, tennis, kayak and eco-adventures. Award-winning dining and nightly entertainment. Plus ballroom, boardroom and banquet facilities, indoors and out, for business, weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tween Waters Hotel Captiva Island
Tween Water Inn
Tween Waters Inn
Tween Waters Captiva Island
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa Captiva Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing