We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Check the room out first !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Check the room out first !!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

What a real disappointment ! Booked online for 5 nights & outside everything was beautiful but the hotel room was a different question - it was dirty, old furniture & even older carpet with a very foisty smell - there was no way we could have stayed there overnight, never mind 5 nights.
To be fair, we were given our deposit back as the hotel was full, but we understand that 2 of the 3 blocks were refurbished- our block wasn't, that was clear.
Very unfair to charge high rates for rooms like this !
We had travelled from England to stay here - if it hadn't been for friends we would have had nowhere to stay that night !

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank ceb346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager22, Manager at Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Ceb346,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Your review is not in keeping with the reviews that we generally receive and I am concerned by your experience. I have sent you a personal note through this web site asking you to contact me at your earliest convenience to further discuss where we missed the mark. Over past 2 years we have renovated all the 1 and 3 bedroom suites in the Gumbo and Mangrove buildings with new kitchens, baths, furniture, carpet, lighting, and bedspreads. This summer we will complete a similar renovation in our 1 bedroom bay view suites in the Coconut building. In addition, the Coconut building did receive, along with our water view guest rooms, all new furniture, mattresses, and bedspreads less than one year ago. As always we advise travelers to review our website which includes a property map and numerous pictures of our 17 different types of rooming options. Further, more we encourage future guests to consult our onsite reservation agents who can assist in describing our accommodations, our property and our islands.

I do see that we did refund your deposit. Our goal and mission is to provide value and a rewarding vacationing experience to our guests in the hopes of creating loyal and lasting relationships with repeat visits. For the many that come back year after year and generation after generation I am proud to say that we often accomplish our goal. I again apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I will admit we are not perfect. I look forward to hearing from you so we may learn from your experience and prevent the same experience with another guest. I do hope you enjoy your time on our islands and that your travels bring you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Doug Babcock
Chief Operating Officer
Rochester Resorts Inc.
Dbabcock@tween-waters.com
(239)472-5161 x453
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,459
    677
    243
    102
    69
See reviews for
954
1,121
45
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Old Florida beach resort, nicely updated. Pick from standard motel rooms, extra large suites with screened balconies, or traditional cottages. Reserved parking for your unit. The resort is on a narrow isthmus between the gulf and a small bay with manatees, fun to watch the boats coming in and out of the marina (or to catch one for a fishing trip.) Nice beach for walking and shelling right across the road. Nice large pool area. Generous continental buffet in the gourmet restaurant, hot items available for order. Excellent restaurant onsite and right down the road in Captiva. Make your way through the traffic in Sanibel and drive straight to Tween Waters to relax!
p.s. Visiting the Ding Darling Wildlife Refuge and Tarpon Bay is a must-do. Nature, not commerce.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a better view. If accessibility is an issue, ask for a building with an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JLPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

It had been over 30 years since our last stay and how things have changed. The resort appears dense and compact on the outside but our stay was quiet and comfortable although the room was a bit small. Great location on Captiva Island with the marina on one side and the Gulf on the other. It is a crowded island this time of year but the outstanding sunsets and walks on the beach more than compensate. The staff was great with one minor exception...not a deal breaker though.
The continental breakfast, included in the room rate, is fantastic.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the pool, nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kdubyaNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager22, Manager at Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
kdudyaNH,

We appreciate the fact that you remembered us after 30 years. Thank you for staying with us again and for sharing your review. Part of the beauty of our location on Captiva, besides the beach and bay access, is the fact that we are on a more remote part of the islands. We are glad that you found your stay “quiet and comfortable”. I do apologize that you found your room a bit small. We do have many rooming options including newly remodeled 1 bedroom suites and cottages that are much larger than a standard water view room. I always advise our future guests to discuss their accommodation needs with our on-site reservation staff who can assist in booking the appropriate accommodation for your vacation needs. Our reservation staff have been in each of our over 17 different room types and provide us valuable insight on guest’s feedback and expectations during our renovation processes. I am also glad to see that you found our staff to be “great”. However, I am curious as to what the one exception was. If you would please contact me directly to discuss I would appreciate it. We value all of our guest’s feedback and often use their opinions as discussion topics at our managers meetings as we look for ways to improve upon our offerings and services and to “coach and council” our staff. Thank you again for your return visit. We do hope it will not be another 30 years before you return again.

Kind Regards

Doug Babcock
Chief Operating Officer
Rochester Resorts Inc.
Dbabcock@tween-waters.com
(239)472-5161 x453
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robbinsville, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed the location, amenities, and most of all, the staff. The room was a 3rd floor Gulf view, which was wonderful. We spent just a few short days there and wish we stayed longer. The spa was relaxing, poolside was nice, and the beach is a very short walk across the street. The room was in clean, nice, and comfortable. Don't forget to check out the crabs races on Thursday night (corny but fun), and the money raised goes to the United Way. We can't wait to return with family.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at Tween Waters perhaps 10-15 times over the years. Love Captiva (except Sanibel traffic in the Spring) with the perfect beaches and climate. Quaint village and restful locations with enough to do. Resort is great with a fantastic pool, boating, kayaking to Buck Key for untouched Florida nature, wonderful breakfasts, on site entertainment and nice dinners.
For those who complain about the price, go ahead and find anything less- especially if you cannot stay a whole week. Our room was nice but a tad worn. We will be back though.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winston-salem
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at 'Tween Waters. The first time was over 10 years ago when it was not as large. The location can't be beat, but they have really crammed too many buildings on this site. The "water view" guest rooms seem small for the price and many of the bayside second floor rooms have minimal views of the water because of the height of the vegetation. Get a 3rd floor room. Also, the coupon books they give you are all to be spent within the resort. Be sure you get out and enjoy Sanibel, not just Captiva. The Ding Darling Wildlife Refuge, Shell Museum and Crow (Clinic for Rehabilitation of Wildlife are all worth a visit.

Room Tip: Many of the bayside"water view" rooms on the 2nd floor barely view the water because the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keehir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager22, Manager at Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Keehir,

Thank you for coming back to visit our resort and taking the time to share your review. I am glad that you enjoyed our location and the value of the coupon books that we provide guests that stay with us for 3 nights or longer. I couldn’t agree more that visitors to our islands should get out and explore all the wonderful things that make Sanibel and Captiva such a wonderful and unique destination. After all Arthur Frommer named Sanibel Island his favorite destination in 2012.

I do apologize that you found your water view guest room to be “small for the price”. For travelers like yourselves and for our future guests reading your review I would recommend visiting our website which has pictures and floor plans of all of our over 17 different rooming options. In addition I would encourage guests researching our property to talk to our onsite reservations agents who can explain all of our room types and can assist in selecting the accommodation that best meets your vacation expectations. Our accommodations range from standard guest rooms to 1, 2 and 3 bedroom suites and individual cottages with many different layouts and views of the bay and the Gulf of Mexico.

Our mission is; “To deliver a warm, friendly and memorable island resort experience that provides value to all our guests resulting in a desire to return”. By including complimentary continental breakfast buffet, a resort coupon book, and offering discount 3, 5 and 7 night vacation packages without any hidden resort fees we hope you see the value in your experience with us. If not I would be happy to speak with you personally to discuss where we have missed the mark with your stay.

I, on behalf of all our staff, thank you for visiting us again. We do hope you will stay with us again when your travel plans bring you back to our beautiful islands.

Kind Regards

Doug Babcock
Chief Operating Officer
Rochester Resorts Inc.
Dbabcock@tween-waters.com
(239)472-5161 x453
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We had the best vacation ever at Tween Waters. We loved the size, location and views! We stayed on a boat at the Marina. We loved how easy it was to walk to the pool, beach and restaurant. The crab races were fun. The pool was great. The cottages looked so nice. We rented bikes and rode around the beautiful island. We also rented kayaks and paddled through the mangroves on Buck Key. What a blast! A big part of what made our stay so nice was Harry, the Harbor Master & his crew! Harry is always available to help & made us feel at home. We always travel to different places every year, but next vacation, we're going back to Tween Waters again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
10.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,152 reviews
11.0 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
2.8 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
8.3 mi away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
10.6 mi away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa

Property: Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Address: 15951 Captiva Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the legendary 'Tween Waters Inn on beautiful Captiva Island. Shouldn't every day be this good? Here, across 13 gorgeous Gulf-tween-bay acres, you can enjoy 137 quality accommodations including historic one, two and three bedroom seaside cottages, suites, studios and guest rooms. Miles of sugar-sand beaches. Olympic-size pool, hot tubs and children's wading pool. Day spa. Marina for launch, dock or rental. Fitness center, tennis, kayak and eco-adventures. Award-winning dining and nightly entertainment. Plus ballroom, boardroom and banquet facilities, indoors and out, for business, weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tween Waters Hotel Captiva Island
Tween Water Inn
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa Captiva Island, Florida
Tween Waters Captiva Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing