We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Nice, clean room, excellent service, free cocktail party, gorgeous views of either the Gulf or the Bay. Right across the street from the beach. Not much traffic to cross. Free breakfast was scrumptious.

I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallySeusse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,486
    692
    252
    102
    69
See reviews for
973
1,145
45
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Tween Waters is not necessarily the most modern, elegant, or flashiest resort on the island, but it is very friendly with a fantastic location and a comfortable ambience. Our queen suite room was clean and spacious with a screened-in veranda providing a nice view of the bay. A few steps in either direction, and you are at the water's edge. In addition to the eating places on site, there are a number of good restaurants within moderate walking distance, or a short drive. Breakfast on the outdoor patio was a great way to start the day. Don't miss the crab races at the pub -- a unique and fun experience. We would definitely stay at TW again should we return to Sanibel/Captiva.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carterville
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay at 'tween the waters' resort. The grounds were beautiful, the scenery unbelievable, our one bedroom suite was very nice. The management provided everything we needed. The continental breakfast was outstanding. We enjoyed one dinner at the 'crows nest' and lunch poolside. The beach was spacious and uncrowded. A busy resort but when you entered your room, or walked the beach, the area seemed secluded. My only disappointment was the beach rentals that had many restrictions. Many boat trips to other islands were offered, as well as kayak and bike rentals

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Have been visiting Tween Waters Inn for over 15 years. Great place! Extremely friendly service, family friendly, nice dining, great beach, who could ask for anything more. The gulf side has the best view of the beach and sunset and the sound of waves thru the night. However the intercostal side is where you catch the sunrise and the lapping of water on the boats moored there.

Room Tip: The gulf side has the best view of the beach and sunset and the sound of waves thru the night. Howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m2tno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We spent three nights here and wished we had booked for longer. Room was very comfortable with a eastward view over the water to Pine Island. In the morning we could watch the sun rise then walk to the beach in the evening to view the sunset. Beach access is great with Cabanas for rent. The Old Captiva House restaurant was very good. We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We have stayed at Tween Waters 6 times in the past 8 years. We would go back every year if we could. It is one of our favorite places to visit. The property is very well maintained and clean. We had originally stayed in a standard room but our last two trips have stayed in the larger suites and they were wonderful for our family of 4. Everyone one the staff is friendly and helpful. We love the pool and the service at the pool side restaurant. Waitresses walked around all day to check and see if we were in need of anything and are very friendly. The location is perfect with the narrowing of the island so that you get both a bay and gulf view on the same property. We love getting a bay view room so that we can wake up to the beautiful sunrises and then at night walk to the beach side for a beautiful sunset. Manatees love to relax at the shore so we could watch them right from our room balcony. They offer a free buffet breakfast for those staying on the property and the food has plenty of great options. Their cinnamon rolls are the best I've ever had anywhere. The cottages are very nice for larger families. I recommend this to everyone I know who is looking for a great place to stay when traveling to Florida.

Helpful?
Thank MargeSz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

What a real disappointment ! Booked online for 5 nights & outside everything was beautiful but the hotel room was a different question - it was dirty, old furniture & even older carpet with a very foisty smell - there was no way we could have stayed there overnight, never mind 5 nights.
To be fair, we were given our deposit back as the hotel was full, but we understand that 2 of the 3 blocks were refurbished- our block wasn't, that was clear.
Very unfair to charge high rates for rooms like this !
We had travelled from England to stay here - if it hadn't been for friends we would have had nowhere to stay that night !

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank ceb346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager22, Manager at Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Ceb346,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am very sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Your review is not in keeping with the reviews that we generally receive and I am concerned by your experience. I have sent you a personal note through this web site asking you to contact me at your earliest convenience to further discuss where we missed the mark. Over past 2 years we have renovated all the 1 and 3 bedroom suites in the Gumbo and Mangrove buildings with new kitchens, baths, furniture, carpet, lighting, and bedspreads. This summer we will complete a similar renovation in our 1 bedroom bay view suites in the Coconut building. In addition, the Coconut building did receive, along with our water view guest rooms, all new furniture, mattresses, and bedspreads less than one year ago. As always we advise travelers to review our website which includes a property map and numerous pictures of our 17 different types of rooming options. Further, more we encourage future guests to consult our onsite reservation agents who can assist in describing our accommodations, our property and our islands.

I do see that we did refund your deposit. Our goal and mission is to provide value and a rewarding vacationing experience to our guests in the hopes of creating loyal and lasting relationships with repeat visits. For the many that come back year after year and generation after generation I am proud to say that we often accomplish our goal. I again apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I will admit we are not perfect. I look forward to hearing from you so we may learn from your experience and prevent the same experience with another guest. I do hope you enjoy your time on our islands and that your travels bring you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Doug Babcock
Chief Operating Officer
Rochester Resorts Inc.
Dbabcock@tween-waters.com
(239)472-5161 x453
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
10.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,185 reviews
11.0 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#13 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
2.8 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
8.3 mi away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
10.6 mi away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa

Property: Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Address: 15951 Captiva Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the legendary 'Tween Waters Inn on beautiful Captiva Island. Shouldn't every day be this good? Here, across 13 gorgeous Gulf-tween-bay acres, you can enjoy 137 quality accommodations including historic one, two and three bedroom seaside cottages, suites, studios and guest rooms. Miles of sugar-sand beaches. Olympic-size pool, hot tubs and children's wading pool. Day spa. Marina for launch, dock or rental. Fitness center, tennis, kayak and eco-adventures. Award-winning dining and nightly entertainment. Plus ballroom, boardroom and banquet facilities, indoors and out, for business, weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tween Waters Hotel Captiva Island
Tween Water Inn
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa Captiva Island, Florida
Tween Waters Captiva Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing