We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We loved everything about Tween Waters---the wonderful beach and ocean, our cottages, the food, staff, grounds, laundry, pool. Parasailing. This, in my estimation, is better than any of the many caribbean resorts we have been to--especially if you like a smaller, well kept property and happen to love the ocean as much as we do. Also, flying into Ft. Meyers is easy---rather small airport and about an hour away from Tween Waters. We will be back and thank you for a great vacation.

Room Tip: We had two cottages on the road overlooking the beach----great. Beds are good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plymouth_MaAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,011)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,139 - 2,145 of 3,011 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

Beautiful property with fine facilities. Second floor studio overlooking the bay was clean and quiet. Breakfast buffet can be tiring after several days. Main restaurant is very good with steep prices. Crows Nest could be better other than the Monday special.
Beach area pristine. Employees are friendly and always pleasant and helpful. You won't find the pool to be peaceful-the constant music and noise will send you to the beach. Well kept grounds.
Best complement--we'll be back.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool, facing the bay or gulf--top floor for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BostonG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Tween Waters was a great place to stay. It was a full service resort with a small inn feel. The staff was very attentive. Jefferson went above and beyond to accomodate a room change request so I could be over the marina instead of the pool. Even though the resort was full in Easter weekend, he made this happen for me. Sounds like a small issue, but the change made our stay the best ever! We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The little cottages are unique and will rent one of those next time for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hfed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Lived it, loved it!! Great pool and beach! Crab races, lots of activity on the bay side watching the boats and yachts....lots of different water and land attractions to be seen,dolphins,manatees,birds of all kinds, Shelling,shelling,shelling!!!! Close distance to many attractions!!!

Room Tip: Bay side for watching, south side quieter...beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

While our room was a bit tired and dated the Tween Waters Inn had gorgeous beaches and excellent food. Upon our arrival the front desk was extremely nice and helpful but the friendly service ended there. The nicest person we met was the man who set up our beach chairs and umbrella each morning. Other than that, the servers, staff, hosts , and hostesses could barley smile at you let alone greet you or respond to a question.
If your looking for beautiful beaches this resort won't disappoint, if your looking for friendly service try somewhere else. Once they have your money you are just another number here.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager22, Manager at 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Frank B.

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review. I am glad that you enjoyed our location, our beach and our food. I apologize that you found your room to be a “bit tired and dated” and our staff to be unfriendly and responsive. As you can see from or many positive reviews that are complimentary of their interactions and responsiveness of our staff that your experience was not typical and/or our desired outcome for guests that stay with us. I would love the opportunity to speak with you further about your experience both in terms of customer service and room quality so we may learn for the mistakes we made during your stay with us. I have sent you a personal note through Trip Advisor encouraging you to contact me directly to discuss further. As always I will be sure to share your comments with our staff at our coaching and counseling sessions. Thank you again for staying with us and sharing your comments. We do hope that if your travel plans bring you back to our beautiful islands that you will give us a chance to make your next stay at Tween Waters Island Resort and Spa “great”.

Kind regards and I look forward to speaking with you.

Doug Babcock
Chief Operating Officer
Rochester Resorts Inc.
Dbabcock@tween-waters.com
(239)472-5161 x453

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We've been coming to Tween Waters since childhood...over 50 years. It is as good as ever. Room upgrades look great. Love seeing the families with young children along with empty nesters, young couples and older types all at Captiva to relax. Great mix of people. If you like Bloody Mary's do not miss getting one mixed at the pool bar...the best! Excellent staff throughout the property that make us feel at home. Absolutely love Tween Waters!

Room Tip: Rooms on the bay give you the treat of watching the manatees feed in the marina area and sunrise. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gatordowneast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Call them at Tween Waters Inn on Captiva Island and ask, "what is the percentage of returning guests to your resort"? I have no idea but almost everyone I ask when Linda and I are there have been there before. The place has a kind of magic that pulls us there.
I think it's the managers free poolside coctail hour with snacks once a week that includes Derby Sage Cheese; or Barbara who serves the fresh grouper sandwich or salad (and much more) beside the heated pool; or L M, the manager who knows everything and remembers everything; and Villas, who does not speak very good English but understands exactly what you want for breakfast; or is it Tonia who serves us dinner at the Crow's Nest and can balance the requests of 4 or 5 or 6 tables of guests and still stop and talk and laugh with you.
If you are in the marina - Harry Cullen has everything you want, including new kayaks this year.
Where else can you get a full gourmet breakfast for less than 10 dollalrs or a continental breakfast free with fresh baked strudel and ten different kinds of fruit and so much more.
We return and return and return. Just ask Carol when you call.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rayandlindaShelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager22, Manager at 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

RayandlindaShelby,

Thank you for your return visit and for pointing out all the things you love about Tween Waters Inn Island Resort and Spa. Yes, it is true, we do have a very high percentage of return guests. I always enjoy hearing what makes our islands and resort so special to them. While the reasons vary greatly, there generally is one common element: Our employees. Many of our employees have been with us for 10, 20 and even 30 years; and truly enjoy what they do. More importantly, they genuinely enjoy seeing and developing relationships with our guests that return year after year and now, in many cases, generation after generation. To me, it is very warding to watch each of them follow our mission statement (which I have stated before in my management responses) and now embrace our 4 core values that we implemented about 6 months ago. Our core values are:

1. Warm and Kind - To consistently deliver friendly service with a smile.
2. Empowerment – We empower our employees to take ownership and to make decisions that ensure guest’s satisfaction.
3. Accountability – We hold all the members of our team accountable for their actions, both personally and collectively, in fulfilling our mission.
4. Team Work – Our team works together to consistently deliver positive guest experiences through effective communication, sound leadership, and respect for our external and internal guests.

Thank you again for your return visit to Tween Waters Inn Island Resort and Spa and for sharing your kind words. I will be sure to share your experience with our team in our coaching and counseling sessions. Positive reinforcement goes a long way in showing our team that their interaction with our guests does affect their vacation experience.
Kind regards and we look forward to your return.

Doug Babcock
Chief Operating Officer
Rochester Resorts Inc.
Dbabcock@tween-waters.com
(239)472-5161 x453

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
10.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,502 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
311 reviews
2.8 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,017 reviews
2.1 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#11 of 20 in Sanibel Island
530 reviews
14.3 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa

Address: 15951 Captiva Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range: £165 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the legendary 'Tween Waters Inn on beautiful Captiva Island. Shouldn't every day be this good? Here, across 13 gorgeous Gulf-tween-bay acres, you can enjoy 137 quality accommodations including historic one, two and three bedroom seaside cottages, suites, studios and guest rooms. Miles of sugar-sand beaches. Olympic-size pool, hot tubs and children's wading pool. Day spa. Marina for launch, dock or rental. Fitness center, tennis, kayak and eco-adventures. Award-winning dining and nightly entertainment. Plus ballroom, boardroom and banquet facilities, indoors and out, for business, weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your 'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tween Waters Hotel Captiva Island
Tween Water Inn
Tween Waters Inn
Tween Waters Captiva Island
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa Captiva Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing