We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CHEESEBURGERS IN PARADISE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“CHEESEBURGERS IN PARADISE”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

A wonderful 4 day destination wedding weekend started with a smooth, uneventful Southwest flight from Buffalo to Ft.Meyers and an easy drive to Key West like Captiva Island and a WARM welcome, nice, clean and cool room and great poolside party. Tasty tropical cocktails, Delicious Cheeseburgers, Grilled Chicken. and very impressive whole Roasted Pig with salads & all the trimmings, all very good ! Nice fresh fruit & pastries in the morning, beach time, pool & cocktail time, and off on a terrific Sunset Dinner Cruise with friends & families. Drinks, hors d'oeuvres , buffet dinner and a beautiful sunset were perfect ! Then party on at the Crow's Nest Bar with a good band & cold drinks. Wedding day started the same (nice continental breakfast, sun, sand, boating & pool time) then turned magical. Beautiful ceremony on the beach and great dinner & dancing fit for royalty. Raw bar (oysters, clams, shrimp) crab cakes, bacon wrapped scallops, cheeses, etc. then sit down dinner (steak, snapper fillet etc.) were very good and professionally served. Next day a bit of recuperation, reminiscing and fond farewells then one more Cheeseburger in Paradise by the pool and good bye to Tween Water Inn and back to reality.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,514
    697
    256
    104
    71
See reviews for
995
1,157
46
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My wife, our Labrador and I just spent a long weekend (3 days and nights) at Tween Waters for our wedding anniversary. It was our fourth or fifth visit and each time we like it more and more. The front desk staff is friendly and courteous, the grounds are well kept and the restaurants on site all serve good reasonably priced food. Our favorite is the Crow's Nest because of its casual vibe and super friendly bartenders and staff. At the end of a long day on the water it is a great place to wind down. The live music was very nice on the two nights we ate there. Try the pizza and the calamari, both were excellent. We bring our waverunner and explore the area. On this trip we encountered some amazing wildlife including about a dozen dolphin and two large manatee.

Room Tip: Depending on your budget, we always try for one of the cottages on the ocean side of the property. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We recently had a family reunion here. 3 hotel rooms booked along with a marina slip rental. We like this place a lot and come here often on our boat. However it is really a slap in the face when you go to the restaurant for breakfast and find out that the family members who have a hotel room get a free breakfast but for us in the marina did not. Our marina slip was over $100 per night. Tween only supplies electricity and water. Nothing else. So go figure why us staying in the marina can't get a free breakfast? Really? How ridiculous is this. Tween doesn't have to take care of a room and handle all the costs of maintaining a room when you're on your own boat. So needless to say every morning that we wanted to have breakfast with our family it cost us $12 for their continental breakfast buffet. You can't order anything cheaper than that. Not happy! Will not plan another reunion there again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Dottiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager22, Manager at Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dottiv,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review. I do apologize that you were disappointed with our hotel policy. As a marina guest you are entitled to complimentary use of all resort amenities including our pools, beach, tennis courts, etc. In addition we offer our marina guests complimentary electric, water, cable TV and Wi-Fi. It cost us approximately $10 per person to offer our breakfast buffet to our resort guests. Unfortunately the price we charge, of $2.60 per foot which is very competitive with other local marinas, does not allow us to offer our complimentary continental breakfast buffet. In the past we have discussed offering a slightly higher per foot rate and include our breakfast buffet but most boaters that we polled opted for the lower rate without breakfast. In addition a vessel could have 2, 4, 6 or more persons staying aboard. We find it difficult to account for the number of persons per vessel in a per foot rate. I hope this gives you a better understanding as to why we do not offer complimentary continental breakfast buffet to our marina guests. We do try to offer our guests many other value added advantages to staying with us. For example we are now offering a prepaid pre-purchased dinner dining credit card that entitles the purchaser to a 20% discount to dinner purchases on our property. Please ask our reservation counselors or our marina staff for details. We thank you and your family for staying with us and we do hope you will reconsider and stay with us again should your travels bring you back to our beautiful islands. If I may be of any further assistance or you would like to discuss our policy or offer suggestions please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind regards.

Doug Babcock
Chief Operating Officer
Rochester Resorts
Dbabcock@Tween-waters.com
(239)472-5161 x453
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Spent a long weekend here for a family wedding. Our room was facing the gulf so a beautiful view from the screened balcony. Comfortable, clean, cool and quiet. Bathroom was updated, bed linens and towels were good but carpet edges were frayed. Resort pool was large and included a separate "kiddie" pool in the shade. Lots of chairs and umbrellas. The pool and adjoining bar closes at 5:30pm; not a problem for us. The complimentary continental breakfast had fruit, juices, cereal, bagels and Danish. Only small "complaint" would be the system they use for beach/pool towels. Sometimes, especially with a big family, keeping track of # of towels and blue cards we had was confusing. Very easy access to the beach across the street with plenty of umbrellas with chairs and cabanas for rent. Be advised that beach is very shelly and not comfortable on bare feet! Outside of the resort, not many restaurants close by. Also a 45-60 minute car ride from Ft. Myers I-75 exit.

Room Tip: We were in the "Sea Grapes" bldg. which faced the gulf and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momlubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hernando, Fl
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I HOPE that Maria is there at the end of this month! She is Truly a gem!!!
The beach is the reason that we went, but ended up spending most of our time at the pool!
"The New Moon" sailing boat experience is NOT to be MISSED!.. Mike Gurley is a wonderful guy and knows all the places to show you! I haven't traveled very much, but this place is DELIGHTFUL!!! I don't think that it could be ANY BETTER!

Susie

Room Tip: I like to stay by the marina! I like the activity, but I suppose some people would rather have it m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mymackinac_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boonton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

the place itself is lovely. rustic tropical. quaint. if you are looking grand scale luxury this is not for you. the staff was in general efficient, friendly and accommodating. we were there for a wedding and on the plus side the food was suberb. everything dish we tried was a winner. the downside for us was the room. we had the "ding darling" cottage. a one bed with a small combined living area and kitchenette. it was small and dark to the point of almost being claustrophobic. the furnishings were cheap and ugly. there was absolutely no esthetic all to this cottage. the bedroom was mainly taken up by the king size bed. since there was not enough room to lay my suitcase out i had no choice but to use the drawers in the bedside tables which were so cheaply constructed that they fell completely out if you pulled them out more than about 4 inches. the bathroom was all new, but very very small. the bath towels were way too small and as thin as paper, but the worst thing about the bathroom was that the mirror over the sink was made for tall folks, at 5'1" i had to stand on my tip-toes to use it. the cottage had no full length mirror and the only other mirror in the place there was 14x7 wall mirror. (so much for seeing how i looked before i went out at night), the friend that we were there with was in the hibiscus cottage which was really lovely and had a very large bathroom to boot, and yes, even a full length mirror. it was tastefully furnished and was very sunny and open. and I would have been a very happy camper in it, but the hibiscus is for a max of 2. last comment....the free "continental" breakfast. I guess no ever told them that a continental breakfast should include an assortment of cheeses. I'd go back but I would be very careful about what cottage i was in.

Room Tip: the cottages are all in general groupings and every group is similar. i'd steer clear of anythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macsgirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We had our first trip to Captiva and it will not be our last. We stayed at Tween Waters and was pleasantly surprised by their rooms and the view was amazing of the ocean. Service was wonderful. Complementary breakfast was perfect for our family, the fresh fruit was great. My girls throughly enjoyed the pool as well. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NJFamily08225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
10.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,249 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#15 of 19 in Sanibel Island
265 reviews
11.0 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,284 reviews
7.8 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,706 reviews
10.6 mi away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa

Property: Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Address: 15951 Captiva Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the legendary 'Tween Waters Inn on beautiful Captiva Island. Shouldn't every day be this good? Here, across 13 gorgeous Gulf-tween-bay acres, you can enjoy 137 quality accommodations including historic one, two and three bedroom seaside cottages, suites, studios and guest rooms. Miles of sugar-sand beaches. Olympic-size pool, hot tubs and children's wading pool. Day spa. Marina for launch, dock or rental. Fitness center, tennis, kayak and eco-adventures. Award-winning dining and nightly entertainment. Plus ballroom, boardroom and banquet facilities, indoors and out, for business, weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tween Waters Hotel Captiva Island
Tween Water Inn
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa Captiva Island, Florida
Tween Waters Captiva Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing