We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect island get-away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Poland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“perfect island get-away”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed for 5 days on Captiva, hotel was great, the location, the view, the service was excellent. the on-site restaurant, The Captiva House, was exquisite and and delicious. The breakfast buffet, served each morning and included in the price, was especially good with fresh fruit and pastries. The service all around the resort was friendly and very helpful. House-keeping staff very efficient and thorough. Short walk to the private beach and the on-site marina provides various boating or kayaking activities. Have stayed on Sanibel previously, prefer Captiva, a little more secluded and short drives to Sanibel. Definitely will go back. Rooms have screened in balconies facing the marina or ocean.

Room Tip: They also have cottages as well as rooms and suites. Request the Roosevelt or lindbergh cottage if w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,592
    720
    272
    109
    77
See reviews for
1,057
1,212
48
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Came to Tween Waters for our 30th yr Anniverary. What a great week it was. From check in to check out. All was great. Restaurant staff, cleaning crew, Pool staff. All treated us like royalty. BIG thanks !!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGallet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockledge, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Tween Waters Inn on Captiva Island is the best place to stay if you want spectacular sunsets and a beautiful beach to relax. The resort has everything you need with great food, great views, fun hermit crab races, and much more. We throughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobandKimT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is nothing more than a glorified hotel......not a resort.
The room is nice enough...but not any nicer than a Hampton inn for half the price.
WiFi is non functioning in the rooms...when I asked about it at the front desk there answer was..."well it's free so don't expect it to work well". I have to say that answer was humorous.
The free breakfast consisted of fruit, cereal, coffee, miniature bagels. It's free why would I expect more. I have gotten better free breakfasts at motels off the interstate.
The beach access is across the road the when you get there they hit you up for $20.00 for an umbrella and two rickety wooden/canvas chairs that I had to wrestle with to get the to recline.
Everything offered was overpriced within the complex. The room had a kitchen, fridge, mini stove etc...but (laughing). You can't bring any food into the pool area.
The Tv has no movie channels available. Even Motel 6 has HBO.
All in all it wast a large disappointment for $230 plus tax a night, so much so that my wife and I cut our stay short by one day, and ate the cancellation fee.
This was a mistake.... Never to return.
Save your money and stay at a Hampton inn for half the price

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Art V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager22, Manager at Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Art V,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review. I do apologize that we did not meet your expectations and that we did not fulfill our mission which is; To deliver a warm, friendly, and memorable island resort experience that provides value for all of our guests resulting in a desire to return. Visitors come to Sanibel and Captiva Islands for many reasons including its remote location, natural beauty, uncrowded beaches and undeveloped surroundings. I will readily admit that our islands, and our resort for that matter, are not for everyone. However, to the people like Arthur Frommer who in January 2012 named Sanibel Island as his second favorite travel destination behind Bali Indonesia, and to the more than 475 reviewers on Trip Advisor that gave us 91.7 and 91.8 Customer Satisfaction Scores in 2012 and 2013 we fit the bill. I completely agree and see why you were disappointed in your experience if you were expecting a roadside Hampton Inn or Motel 6 experience. We certainly are not that. We do offer a wide variety of accommodation options from economical pool view rooms to stand along 3 bedroom villa like cottages with water views that fit a wide range of budget and vacationing needs. We strongly believe that the value we offer, which includes complimentary continental breakfast buffet each morning, compares very favorably to all other island properties.

In addition, I did walk all over property and checked the Wi-Fi in many of our rooms and found it in perfect working order. While it is true that our Wi-Fi is free, we do expect it to work properly. We have spent over $10,000 in the past year upgrading our antenna and band width to accommodate the needs of our guests. However, because we are spread-out over 15 acres in a campus like environment and not an enclosed high-rise we do have more challenges getting access to all points of our property. If you will kindly provide me with your name and dates of stay I will personally check the Wi-Fi access in your room to make sure it is functioning properly. Thank you again for staying with us and I again apologize that we did not exceed your expectations. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your visit in greater detail so my team and I can learn where you felt we may have missed the mark with your experience.

Kind Regards,

Doug Babcock
Chief Operating Officer
Rochester Resorts Inc.
Dbabcock@tween-waters.com
(239)472-5161 x453
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have been coming to this resort for over 25 years for a "stay vacation", both as a couple and with our family. It is like being thousands of miles away from Florida at a Caribbean island. The staff is always friendly and the property clean. We like to stay in the cottages (most are efficiencies but the two bedroom is fantastic for a family), which are very popular because of their small kitchen (some have ovens) and our ability to bring our dog.

The beach is just across the street and the property rents chairs and canopies, making it convenient for travelers. The continental breakfast is usually enough to get your day started, but they also offer discounted breakfasts for guests which are tasty.

Room Tip: Love the cottages...book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth_Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strafford, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My family thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to Sanibel/Captiva- the beach is beautiful and we found loads of shells! On a walk along the beach, my daughter and I viewed crabs, a sea turtle making its way to the ocean and dolphins! The visit was perfect and relaxing- it is a quaint wonderful place to stay! We had a room on the bayside and the oceanside and we enjoyed both views!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was a long weekend getaway for us.

We had a studio on bayside, palmetto building. room had small fridge, smooth top 2 burner range, silverware, pots and plates, etc. fully equipped, and had toaster. small safe in closet, This was a remodeled unit, and very nice looking. one problem was the new LG a/c. it blows right on the bead at your head. hard to change the air flow. also had a ceiling fan over bed. screened patio, with nice chairs and table. nice view. I saw dolphins in the bay in the morning.

2 issues with room, pet friendly meant some barking dogs when people go to breakfast./dinner, and the tile floors are loud, and transmit the moving furniture upstairs. -better feet on chairs or rollers would solve this. get a upstairs unit! all rooms have doors to the next so you can hear thru the doors a bit if your neighbor is loud. The cabins might be better for next time, or maybe the beach view units, even thought they are pretty close to the road, there is not much traffic at night. if you wish to sleep in it could be an issue.

Pool is saltwater treated rather than chlorine which was very nice on the skin. also the water was cool, or cooled. again, nice benefit when its in the 90's. I didn't eat at the pool grill but it seemed nice.

Everyone working at the resort couldn't be nicer or friendlier. Service was really outstanding, and made up for some of the shortcomings of the property. Everything on captiva/sanibel is pricey, but Tween was reasonable considering the island location.

the website is very lacking in info. hard to tell what is in a room, rates, and what is offered.

Kayaks, SUP, and boat rentals on site.

Room Tip: top floor, end unit for quiet. all have adjoining doors for families. -that also makes them not as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ftl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
10.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,342 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
280 reviews
2.8 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,823 reviews
2.1 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
513 reviews
14.3 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa

Property: Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Address: 15951 Captiva Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the legendary 'Tween Waters Inn on beautiful Captiva Island. Shouldn't every day be this good? Here, across 13 gorgeous Gulf-tween-bay acres, you can enjoy 137 quality accommodations including historic one, two and three bedroom seaside cottages, suites, studios and guest rooms. Miles of sugar-sand beaches. Olympic-size pool, hot tubs and children's wading pool. Day spa. Marina for launch, dock or rental. Fitness center, tennis, kayak and eco-adventures. Award-winning dining and nightly entertainment. Plus ballroom, boardroom and banquet facilities, indoors and out, for business, weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tween Waters Hotel Captiva Island
Tween Water Inn
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa Captiva Island, Florida
Tween Waters Captiva Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing