We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't say enough great things about Tween Waters Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I can't say enough great things about Tween Waters Inn”
Reviewed 21 February 2011

My first time traveling to Captiva Island, and was very impressed by it. Such a great tropical vacation after a very cold winter! The food at the Crows Nest & the Oasis was very delicious...and well worth the money. We were a little leery about going to the Nascrab races on Thursday night, but glad we went it was a very fun time. I highly recommend this place to anyone thinking of visiting Captiva Island, it's well worth your money.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juppee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,553
    708
    263
    107
    75
See reviews for
1,025
1,184
48
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plantation, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

First, the place was not as expected....a little run down, nothing going on on Valentine's Day weekend. Didn't like that bell boy (for lack of a better term) kept waiting around for a tip! Problem was I thought this was an informal place so we had no cash on hand for tipping.

Second, reservations made in Old Captiva House were specifically supposed to be "with a view of the sunset"..we were told we'd have a table by the window. Not only did we NOT see a sunset from where we were sitting but we were next to a wall...not a window...and the place was empty when we go there except for a table or two around us.

Third, our server in the restaurant was hard to understand and rude....apparently the table next to us wanted us MOVED further from them. How dare they? If they didn't like where THEY were sitting they should have been moved, not US. We literally had to get up out of our seats so that they could physically move our table. Then one of our party arrived late as he wasn't feeling well and our server never even noticed the 4th person to our party had arrived. Never brought over menu. We had to ask someone else for it....and the same thing with the dessert menus. He never once came back to our table to see if we were okay or wanted anything else.

Finally, at the end of the meal we handed him the coupon given to us by the front desk and he rudely stated "you should have given this to me before". Why? Would we have been treated WORSE because we had a coupon??

Basically, this place seems to cater to locals as their "events" seem to be held during the week not on weekends. I would NOT recommend this place to anyone..especially on a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NancyG0122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

We stayed at Tween Waters from 2/11/11 - 2/14/11 with our infant daughter.

The hotel is in a great location with marina and beach access. There are two very fine restaurants on site. Lunch is available at the pool bar. A free and well stocked continental breakfast is provided to people staying in the hotel. We stayed in a one-bedroom bayside and loved the location and the size of the suite. The rooms were clean and up-to-date with flat screen televisions, microwave and medium sized refrigerators. The bathroom is decent sized and clean.

The pool area is very large with a full service bar and friendly bartenders and staff.. Even though the resort was almost full there were enough chairs to handle the crowd. The beach was clean, easily accessible with great views of sunsets

This is a hotel that seems to have a lot of people that come back year after year. We had a great time and hated leaving. We are already trying to plan our trip for 2012.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mojo1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2011

The food here at Tween Waters is fabulous. Chef Jason Millers menu's are filled with creative dishes that are authentic to the island experience, but most of all...it's just darn good. I have had the opportunity to eat at some of the top restaurants in America & his delicious and progressive menu easily compares to any of them. He is an approachable chef as well who greets guests and is very interested in feedback. You can tell he is truly passionate about his work .
The staff here at Tweens Water is GREAT! not everyone can smile & be friendly all...the...time...so yes, i'm sure a guest has come across someone in a bad mood once or twice...but overall I certainly have not. I can't say enough good about them. Everyone smiles, everyone is helpful and genuine.
The rooms and the view are incredible. we are staying in one of the "lower end" suites...apparently..nothing low end about it though. Beautiful view of the beach, king size comfortable bed- comparable to Marriott or Hiltons heavenly beds... bathrooms & kitchen are are brand new- granite counters- flat screen t.v. nice seating area.
I'll be back again and again for sure and will bring everyone I know here because after all of the traveling I have done...I FINALLY FOUND MY PARADISE! well worth the money and then some...

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCBoston7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

Tween Waters Inn was the perfect place for us! Our vacation was wonderful thanks to their exemplary staff, charming cottage, and spectacular location! Every need was met, every request was honored, and every question was answered promptly and courteously! We love Captiva and Sanibel and Tween Waters Inn is - without question - the place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmomIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibel, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

First time to visit Tween Waters Inn.
The only thing I asked was"What took us so long".
We had prime rib and it was the best we ever had."
The staff was above standards, so friendly and helpful. They always took care of our needs. Our room was right in front of the majestic sunsets, you have to experience them, not a word could describe them.
We plan to return soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookie222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We have been going to Tween Waters with our two daughters for the past 5 summers and planning another trip for summer of 2011. The staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and comfortable and we love the resort. The beach is beautiful and great for shelling. Waves are quite calm most of the time and it is great for children. The cabanas and umbrella rentals are great and complimentary towels. The pool is a relaxing oasis with a great little grill restaurant and the bartenders are so nice and great service. We get our room on the bay side so it is really quiet and nice to see the boats from our balcony. The restaurants and shops on the resort are nice and we enjoy the complimentary breakfasts. We absolutely love Tween Waters Inn.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
10.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,295 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
267 reviews
2.8 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,771 reviews
2.1 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
505 reviews
14.3 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa

Property: Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
Address: 15951 Captiva Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the legendary 'Tween Waters Inn on beautiful Captiva Island. Shouldn't every day be this good? Here, across 13 gorgeous Gulf-tween-bay acres, you can enjoy 137 quality accommodations including historic one, two and three bedroom seaside cottages, suites, studios and guest rooms. Miles of sugar-sand beaches. Olympic-size pool, hot tubs and children's wading pool. Day spa. Marina for launch, dock or rental. Fitness center, tennis, kayak and eco-adventures. Award-winning dining and nightly entertainment. Plus ballroom, boardroom and banquet facilities, indoors and out, for business, weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tween Waters Hotel Captiva Island
Tween Water Inn
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa Captiva Island, Florida
Tween Waters Captiva Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing