We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice price, awesome location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice price, awesome location”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed at the Captiva Island Inn this past weekend and overall we really enjoyed it. My wife & I stayed in the Birds of Paradise cottage and it was absolutely charming. We usually stay in places such as Hyatts, Omnis, etc... but this was exactly what we expected considering the location and such. Not to mention, you can get a tour of the place at their website.

If you are expecting four or five star accommodations then look elsewhere. If you are looking for a quaint romantic cottage and simplicity, then this is your place.

I see reviewers complaining about "dirt" but I guess they expect miracle workers to constantly clean up from all of the sand, berries from trees and shells surrounding the premises! Good luck with that and if that is a concern, go stay at a Hilton or some other resort in Sanibel. We didn't mind the sandy floors because the purpose of being in Captiva is to enjoy the spectacular beach! Yes, it would have been nice to have a broom in the room but it was not deal breaker.

As I mentioned earlier, the location cannot be beat. It's perfect! The Bubble Room is practically next store, the beach is an easy stroll away, you do not have to worry about parking (which is a chronic problem on Captiva), some great restaurants are right there at your doorstep and in fact, you really don't need to drive anywhere.

We LOVED the fact that breakfast was included and we used the breakfast coupons at both RC Otters & Keylime Bistro. Both restaurants served up an amazing morning meal.

The only problem we experienced here was on our first night.

We finally made it to bed after midnight and when my wife crawled into bed she remarked about how sandy it was between the sheets. We turned on the lights and discovered sand, fresh dirt (not permanent stains) as well as a plethora of body hair. It turns out that the cleaning staff neglected to change the sheets from the previous (apparently hairy) person/people that stayed here before us.

No one was available at that hour to complain to so we had to toss the sheets & deal with it for the evening. The next morning I advised the young guy working the front desk about the issue. He didn't act surprised nor did he offer any words at all except that he would take care of it.

Thankfully when we eventually returned to the room, we had clean sheets on the bed. I hope this is not a chronic problem with this establishment and you may want to check the sheets as soon as you walk into the room. I saw that management responded to one reviewer about calling ahead for additional linens if you have multiple persons in a room so maybe you need to request clean sheets ahead of time as well? I say this because the guy working the front desk didn't even bat an eye lash at the fact that we were supposed to sleep in someone else's filth.

Either way, we didn't let this snafu ruin our trip and in fact, we really enjoyed staying here. As I mentioned before the cottage was really charming, the breakfasts that were included were awesome, the parking issue was great and the location cannot be beat. We cannot wait to be back and we hope the cleaning service issue was only a one time thing.

Last but not least, I would have really given this review 3 and 1/2 stars due to the dirty sheets but since trip adviser wont allow half star ratings, I am edging it up to 4 stars because of the free parking, the location and the free breakfast.

Room Tip: They allow dogs. We have small Pugs and they were okay with them staying in the room. Call to make s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    75
    47
    38
    34
See reviews for
50
162
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Captiva Island Inn may not be your standard five-star hotel, but it's location, breakfast options, and pricing are a no-brainer for the value. My husband and I stayed in the Love Shack while visiting Captiva for a wedding. The room is small, but there's really not reason to be there other than to sleep when you are steps away from several great restaurants and the beach (the Inn offers free beach chairs, and also has a cute little pool that is perfect for a dip after a day at the beach). The breakfast options were top-notch for a B&B - your pick of any menu item and drink from two restaurants (not the usual continental breakfast you typically find at B&Bs).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We arrived to checkin and found out we had been moved to a different villas that what we had reserved. It turned out ok, but we would have appreciated being contacted and asked or notified ahead of time. The location is perfect ... walking distance to the beach, the Mucky Duck and several other bars/restaurants/shops. Our room was large and uniquely decorate but it was not ask clean as I would have preferred. I took a shower and walked around in bare feet and the bottom of my feet were so dirty. The tile floor obviously needed to be mopped better. Would I stay there again ... maybe? I did like that breakfast was included at our choice of 2 restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at the Daisy cottage. Loved the location! Loved the breakfasts that are included. Loved the little front porch. We did not expect fancy but the bed was really awful. Super soft and I kept rolling into my husband at night. My college futon was better. Really, just a bit of TLC could really spruce up the place. Also, they do have beach chairs for you. It would help if the staff would speak up and tell you this so you don't pay to rent them down the street. Despite the bed, we thoroughly enjoyed this pretty island and cute little beachy island inn. While there make sure you check out the day cruise to cabbage palm. Dolphins are amazing! Also, the cemetary and library provide amazing history about the first families on the island.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12steele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed in the Lantana suite, very spacious and a nice location with a big balcony looking over the street and right next door to the Key Lime Bistro so we could sit out and listen to the great live music each evening. We managed to get the last few days of the low rate and would not have been so happy had we paid more as the accommodation is quite basic. Only one ring on the stove worked and there was not much in the way of utensils but there is a nice big fridge. I heated up some soup but had to throw it away as it was full of bits of black from the non stick pan. My husband took the pan to the office and it was replaced straight away. It was clean enough and the bed was comfortable but it all just lacked a bit of TLC. Nice breakfasts at either the Key Lime Bistro next door or RC Otters across the street. Despite the drawbacks we enjoyed our visit and would stay here again.

Room Tip: We liked the Lantana, nice to watch all the comings and goings down below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

A really convenient stay from which to enjoy beautiful Captiva. Three of us stayed in the Jasmine cottage and while very basic, the location and convenience couldn't be beat. I read other reviews and my advice is to understand what you are getting. This is a beach cottage. Yes, it could use some updating but that didn't bother us. We had a private patio (2 actually) with a queen bed in one room and a sleeper sofa in the adjoining room. The drains needed to be cleaned as the water wasn't draining well and the air conditioning was too loud. Also, the cottage is really missing some hooks or other way to hang or store clothes. We liked that the toilet was in a separate room from the shower. We also liked that there were two wine glasses, two regular glasses and a small fridge and coffee maker. We had beautiful weather and the place was steps from the beach. They provided beach chairs and even a decent umbrella. We spent all of our time outside and in restaurants (two of which are right there). The included breakfast is pretty good - big selection. Had it rained, we might have been less excited about the accommodations and chosen to spend all of our time in a restaurant or bar rather than the room, but it was perfectly fine for sleeping and changing in. This trip was about the beach, after all.

Room Tip: The iris cottage looked amazing for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iz1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Have stayed here before and it never disappoints! We stayed on the second floor of the inn. Our room was the last one on the end(can't think of the name) and was quiet and very roomy. You have your own bedroom and bath but the living room and kitchen are in a common area. The decorating is lovely and the bed is very comfortable. The Inn is in a great location on Captiva...you can walk everywhere. Love this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelma0313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corbanc, Manager at Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel the hotel team appreciates it. We look forward to seeing you next year! The room you mentioned is the "Samantha's Room" on the second floor of our Celebration House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
0.9 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
10.6 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
11.4 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
2.0 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,250 reviews
8.5 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 11509 Andy Rosse Ln, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captiva Island Hotel Captiva Island
Captiva Island Inn Bed And Breakfast
Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing