We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice old Florida style Inn, close to beach and restaurants, a bit dated” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast
North Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice old Florida style Inn, close to beach and restaurants, a bit dated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

The location is great, our second floor room (Lantana Suite) was comfortable but dated - small neat kitchenette, small bath - queen bed in small bedroom, couch and chair in sitting area. Some of the blinds covering the sliders to the balcony were broken and the sitting room sliders were hard to open and close. Those in the bedroom worked well. The room could have been cleaner as could the general exterior and parking areas. Some previous guest had put out cigarettes in the window boxes on the balcony and the butts were still there - housecleaning should have noticed. The off-season room rate was very reasonable. It is located near restaurants and bistros and the room charge included breakfast at either the Keylime Bistro or RC Otters. There is a good deal of noise, music, etc from the Keylime Bistro next door but it was ok as we really liked the performer (David C. Johnson) who stopped at 10:30 PM. But there was a gregarious group of ladies who stayed talking and laughing until 1 AM which did not bother us but might bother others.

We had some difficulty locating the room after checking in at the office. The desk clerk pointed across the street when my wife asked where the room was. He failed to tell her you entered via a staircase from the back parking lot. We also discovered that there was a pool we had not been told about. We saw it after we checked out and were loading our car.

We recommend the Captiva Island Inn as a nice place centrally located with the caveat that it can be noisy, is a little dated, etc. But that can be part of the fun.

Room Tip: The Lantana Suite was nice - up a flight of stairs - awkward door opening on small landing. Nice ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    75
    46
    37
    34
See reviews for
49
161
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Let me start off by saying that the whole "sleeps up to 5 people" thing is only true if the 5th person is a ghost. There's only one bed (size full, I think) and one sofa bed, so in reality, only 4 people (2 per bed) can sleep in the room. The sofa is not comfortable, like any pull-out, so that's also not a plus. My friends and I (5 people) stayed in the suite, and thankfully I brought an air mattress just in case the bed situation didn't work out because if I hadn't, we would've had 3 people very tightly in one of the beds. Also, random fact - when you're in the shower, the curtain is thick dark fabric and the bathroom light doesn't reach inside so it's a little dark haha. The plus sides: the foyer area is a nice place to chill, there's plenty of space by the sink for a queen air mattress if you need to bring it, and they have a pretty big mini fridge plus lots of glassware, plates and silverware if you bring back leftovers. There's also a convenience store right outside if you want to purchase water, soda, souvenirs, or homemade ice cream! Walking distance from everything :)

Side note: this trip was for a wedding, and the bride and groom were staying at the Captiva Inn Honeymoon Suite - now THAT'S a room! It's absolutely beautiful, elegant finish, big couch, huge room and bathroom, gorgeous kitchen and super spacious. It's on a 3rd floor with easy stair access but also has an elevator if needed! Don't know the price difference but I think it's worth the upgrade ;)

Room Tip: Just make sure to call ahead and ask point blank how many people REALLY fit in the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kcape001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Alright I don't know old school Florida, but this suite made me IMAGINE that's what it must have been like. The colors, the art, the sand all over the floor when we left, all made us feel like we truly were on a beach getaway, minus the overbearing resort full of people. We spent two nights in January of 2014, woke up early, walked about five minutes to watch the sunrise on one side of the island, played outside all day, and watched the sunset on the other beach in the evening! The restaurants were all great, outdoor seating, very beachy, lots of music, and the staff at the Inn were so friendly and helpful. We 3 girls had a most fantastic weekend! I can't tell you how well the TV worked, or how comfortable the couch was, but I know that we slept like babies, enjoyed the hot shower, and loved the kitchenette. Thank you!!!

Room Tip: Read other reviews, some of the rooms are behind a restaurant nearby and seemed like they would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AKgumshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Looking forward to our annual girls weekend at Captiva Island Inn. With charming bungalows, we can stay connected all weekend enjoying the tropical scenery, yummy food, beautiful nature and entertaining venues all within a walk or short drive. In my opinion it's even better than the Keys with immediate access to the gorgeous Gulf of Mexico beaches.

Having kitchens and extra beds to share makes it even more affordable. Highly recommended for family reunions, weddings, and weekend away for #SWFL residents.

Room Tip: Take a look at the rooms on line to determine your favorite design. Each one is different and accomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PromoLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband and I decided to rent the Daisy cottage due to the close proximity to the beach and other attractions. For the price we paid I was not expecting much. The cottage needs a major overhaul. The room was small, had an old TV that rarely worked, as well as a fridge. The closet area had a lot of rust on the floor, the toilet shifted, the bathroom was dark, and the bed was extremely soft. However, the air worked great, and the free breakfast at one of the two neighboring restaurants was fantastic. If i was staying more then 1 night I would have left. I would however give this place another try, but would stay in the main house. You can't beat the close proximity to the beach, marina, restaurants, and shops.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon in mid June. The cottage that we stayed in was called Birds of Paradise. It has kind of an African theme to it. First impressions were good, as far as I could tell it was the only stand alone building they have. After being there for awhile we noticed it could use a little bit of work. It had a "back porch" that didn't face any other buildings, but looked like it hadn't been cleaned in awhile and the deck out there looked like they had seen better days.

We also found hair in the bed before we got in it, so that was interesting. The toilet took about 5 minutes to refill the tank and occasionally the tank wouldn't fill. We dealt with two employees while we were there. I don't remember the female's name, but she was helpful, unfortunately she was only there on our arrival date. The male that was working the other two days of our stay seemed like he had better things to do.

The things that were great about our stay at Captiva Island Inn were; they had wifi and it was only right in front of the front desk building. I found this to be a bonus, since we were there on vacation and didn't need to be distracted by being on the internet. To fall in this category as well neither of us had cell service which we enjoyed for the same reasons. The common area outside of all of the rooms was aesthetically pleasing.
The Inn had a great location to just about all that you needed. Everything from multiple restaurants, the beach, and a water sports rental place, and a convenient store were all less than 1/4 mile from the Inn. The only time we didn't walk somewhere is when we drove back down to Sanibel to go paddleboarding.
Vouchers for an actual breakfast meal at one of two local restaurants was excellent instead of your typical continental breakfast spread.
They also have a pool but we did not try it out, so I can not comment on that.

Would I stay here again? We are still undecided

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marathon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stayed here in 2010 with some girlfriends and we enjoyed our stay. Loved the old floridian island feel of the cottages. We are heading back this December to stay for four nights before we move into our rented condo on Sanibel. I can't wait to show my husband Captiva and the Captiva Island village treasures!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muriel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
0.9 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
10.6 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
11.4 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,173 reviews
8.5 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
8.6 mi away
Sunset Beach Inn
Sunset Beach Inn
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 11509 Andy Rosse Ln, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captiva Island Hotel Captiva Island
Captiva Island Inn Bed And Breakfast
Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing