We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Interesting”

Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Captiva
Reserve with OpenTable
Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Captiva is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Randy Wayne White is a local fisherman turned very successful writer. This is his original place. A bit funky and fun to relive his journey through life. We also have gone to his place (same name) in N. Ft. Myers beach. Not funky but still fun and very good food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peteo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Captiva, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here at Doc Fords Captiva and look forward to seeing you again! You've been to our Fort Myers Beach location, next you'll have to check out our Sanibel location!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    901
    551
    190
    48
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service, wonderful food, fabulous manager.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a lovely restaurant in Captiva away from the hustle and bustle of Andy Rosse lane. Great ribs, good seafood, fun drinks and nice atmosphere. The salad is great and the dressing is excellent. The manager of the restaurant went above and beyond to make sure everything was great. Highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank beachgalcarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Captiva, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're so happy you had a great time and enjoyed everything. We will see you again soon! Also remember to check out our other locations on Sanibel and Fort Myers Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We ate here twice during our stay at South Seas Resort. The food was good and our server Pattie was really nice and remembered our son's name and drink of choice! It was busy during memorial weekend but we booked a table and didn't have to wait very long. The local fish dishes - including Mahi Mahi we're very good.

Helpful?
2 Thank Lease J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Captiva, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're so happy you had a great time with Pattie and enjoyed your food. We will see you again soon! Also remember to check out our other locations on Sanibel and Fort Myers Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Shrimp was awesome!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We are picky seafood eaters and found the Yucatan shrimp to be awesome! So flavorful and cooked perfectly! Cuban sandwich we shared was just ok. Conch chowder was good. Clam chowder average.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeslieNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Captiva, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. We hope you have another vacation booked soon to Captiva Island. We'll have Yucatan shrimp ready for you when you return! Also remember to check out our other locations on Sanibel and Fort Myers Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere and Food”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We dined at the Doc Ford's in Captiva, they have a giant outdoor seating area with comfortable seats. Staff is very happy and helpful with menu and drink items. We all shared the Bayamo Black Bean Dip as an appetizer and you will not be disappointed, it was a great opener. Salads were fresh and crisp and all of the seafood items we ordered were great. The double decker brownie and key lime pie were amazing to share with the table for dessert. This was my favorite dinner place during out visit to Captiva, and I would go back often we next we visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tripsterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doc F, Manager at Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Captiva, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us here at Doc Fords Captiva and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Captiva also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Captiva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing