We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of fried food”
Review of The Mucky Duck

The Mucky Duck
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$33
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Captiva Island, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lots of fried food”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Most all food was fried and ordinary. it lives on it's sunset view. The parking lot is way too crowded. We've been once and that was enough. The sunset can be found everywhere down there in Captiva/Sanibel Islands.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank CeeCee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    909
    920
    479
    204
    125
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carterville
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Recent visit to an island favorite”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

The food was good nothing exceptional but the view at sunset was extra bonus. Long wait but the outside tables and music made it a worthwhile visit. As any place on the water the parking is limited. If I were younger I would walk and would recommend walking if your accommodations are nearby.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

The mucky duck is a must go on your trip to Captiva! Great view...although the parking can be a little tough. Friendly staff and good food!

Helpful?
Thank Jess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great surprise on the beach”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Had a group with me from the mid west. All they wanted was a place on the beach to get a drink and dinner. They only do wine and beer as that was the license that came with the place. Our meals were all good and very tasty. The staff was friendly and attentive. We waited for out table outside and listened to the live music. Would absolutely go back on my next trip to north fort Myers. Very easy drive over there

Helpful?
Thank d s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn NY
Level Contributor
78 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We wound up at the Mucky Duck down the block, sat down and thought we would duplicate our drinks while having a bite, not so. WARNING! The Mucky Duck only has wine based drinks and beer, as our server told us, a bit disingenuous as they advertise themselves as a "Neighborhood Pub". I have no problem if you want to be a family restaurant, that's fine, say that on your advertisements. Soon as we were done we were back at the Keylime Bistro, much better. Food was OK, nothing special, the draw, I guess, is the sunset you can see from the bar and that would be great if I had a Mojito in my hand, but you can't at the Mucky Duck.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mucky Duck also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Mucky Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing