We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Dinner”
Review of Captiva House

Captiva House
Reserve with OpenTable
Captiva House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 2 miles north of Blind Pass Bridge
Description: Welcome to the historic, award-winning Captiva House Restaurant, Gulf-front at the legendary, historic 'Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa. We invite you to sample our delicious New Florida cuisine, served with our gorgeous Captiva Island sunsets. Come, feast your eyes and your appetites tonight.
ct
2 reviews
“Outstanding Dinner”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My husband and I had a truly lovely dinner. The service was wonderful as was the atmosphere.
We have been coming to the area for more than 25 year and had never been here. Too bad for us because it will be out "go to" restaurant from now on. We had the jerk grouper and island snapper wrap, both fabulous. The crab bisque was to die for. Mary, the hostess was incredibly hospitable and very helpful. Don't miss this one. It is worth the drive out to Captiva.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dottie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    187
    79
    21
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Consistently Wonderful - Year after Year”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My wife and I are from Connecticut and we visit Sanibel-Captiva every year. Each year we try new places and visit old favorites but the one absolute certainty is that we'll be dining at least once at The Old Captiva House.

Where to begin......

First, the setting and decor are absolutely gorgeous. Old Florida meets Laura Ashley with live soothing piano music softly playing in the background. Service is impeccable. Food shines in both taste and presentation. Let me detail our last visit...

We arrived and were greeted by a most gracious hostess who checked our reservation and seated us almost immediately. Our waiter Robert and his assistant Conrad greeted us warmly within minutes of our arrival and soon we were enjoying beverages while viewing the well thought out menu and impressive wine list. Conrad then delivered a smoked salmon amuse-bouche and one of the most incredible bread baskets we've experienced anywhere (except here! - we're amazed every year). We noshed at our leisure on these and just when we decided on our choices Robert magically appeared to take our order. We got up from our table to view the artwork on the walls - the most amazing of which are the original 'Ding' Darling political cartoons (we all know the 'Ding' Darling Wildlife Preserve but how many know that he was a renowned editorial cartoonist?).
Upon returning to our table, we devoured our shared shrimp appetizer without speaking a word - we just grunted our approval to each other - after which we met Jason, out Maître D' who advised us that the sun was about to set and who asked if we would like to take our drinks outside to watch the event. We said yes and the sunset was - as it always is on Captiva - magnificent. After applauding the sun for it's performance (yes, folks down here do that for lack of a better way of expressing their thanks for such a moving experience) we returned to our table where a short time later our main dishes arrived.

My lovely wife had an impressive and delicious rack of lamb while I opted for the evenings special fish dish - a mahi-mahi that I will order again and again whenever it is available. Both dishes were impeccably prepared and plated and were absolutely delicious.

Some time later we shared a perfect crime brûlée and wondered how two hours had flown by so quickly.

This was our 28th visit to the restaurant and every detail remains as amazing as it was on our first visit 36 years ago.

Kudos to Jason, Robert, Conrad and all of those who through the years have provided us with great food and impeccable service and who have never once failed to exceed what are now our very, very high expectations. We already look forward to our future visits - we actually mark time by our anticipation of our next meal with you. You have both our admiration and our thanks and, more importantly, our promise of future patronage - from us and all of our friends (not a one of whom have been disappointed with our recommendation). It's a small thing for us to do in return for all of the joy you have brought us. Thanks again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank HuskiesCT54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonMTween, Manager at Captiva House, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
HuskiesCT54,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at The Old Captiva House. We strive everyday to improve in whatever ways we can utilizing new ideas and using creative ingredients. Your patronage over the years is a prime example of why we do what we do on a day to day basis and friends of the Tween family like yourselves make it all worth while.

My staff and I hope your travels back to Connecticut were safe and we also would like to thank you for the weather you brought with you. Temps have been in the 70's and low 80's all week even dipping into the 60's when I'm up bringing the kids to school early in the morning. We look forward to your next trip to Captiva and hope you do as well!

Jason S. Miller
Director of Food and Beverage Operations
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort
jmiller@tween-waters.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic dining on Captiva Island”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Always wonderful food, atmosphere and romantic dining. The chef always has great selections, a bit different twist on some of your typical entrees. Piano is always such a nice touch for a romantic dinner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, wish there was a water view from the restaurant”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

In fairness I cannot review a main meal, we were not very hungry so we only had appetizers and dessert. Surprisingly the restaurant was nearly empty, in contrast to the other dining establishments we ate in over the past few days. The large dining space did not give lend itself to intimate dining. There was a sweet courtyard room but it was fully booked and yet even it did not have a view of the water.
What we did eat was quite wonderful: we split the duck spring rolls that were really outstanding. I had a very filling and satisfying endive greens salad with pine nuts while my husband had a Caesar salad with anchovies. His plate would have been wonderful if he was eating a big meal but he had hoped for a larger salad for his dinner. The presentation and taste was really fine. We shared a New York cheesecake. I could have eaten two! I am very critical of the NY cheesecake and this one was perfect!
Our waiter was very personable but I was surprised that we didn't get faster and more attentive service since the place was nearly empty. I do like old historical buildings and this one was charming yet the main dining room was a bit sterile. I would go back for the food, not the view.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelleygirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good place to eat”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We stopped here to eat. Great atmosphere. Very charming and great sunset view. Food was great. Great drink selection. Recommend going here to eat.

Helpful?
Thank Courtkeegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captiva House also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Captiva House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing