We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Captiva House restaurant - a beachfront jewel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captiva House

Captiva House
Reserve with OpenTable
Captiva House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$42
Cuisines: Seafood, American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 2 miles north of Blind Pass Bridge
Description: Welcome to the historic, award-winning Captiva House Restaurant, Gulf-front at the legendary, historic 'Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa. We invite you to sample our delicious New Florida cuisine, served with our gorgeous Captiva Island sunsets. Come, feast your eyes and your appetites tonight.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old Captiva House restaurant - a beachfront jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Old Captiva House restaurant was a wonderful dining experience from the moment we walked in the door.

We arrived about 15 minutes after their Wednesday dinner hours started. The hostess, Mary, from Youngstown, Ohio, greeted us warmly. We asked to see the menu and she briefly described many offerings. When she learned that we are from Cleveland, we chatted about how she wound up Florida, when she arrived (over 20 years ago) and so on.

To Mary - Mark and gang from Cleveland say "Thank You" for your gentle persuasion to stay!

Mary seated us and said Robert would be serving us.

Robert is a friendly and enthusiastic server well-versed not only in Old Captiva’s menu, but also in fine-dining generally. During the evening, he enjoyed us and we certainly enjoyed him.

Our four meals arrived and were very pleasing to the eye, but only two were photographed as we were anxious to dig in! I had the pompano – a local fish I had never tasted but heard about in the 1948 film “Key Largo” starring Humphrey Bogart and Edward G. Robinson. The bad guy Robinson talked about how much he liked his first pompano and I decided to give the dish a try myself. Like Robinson, I really enjoyed the fish, paired with two large shrimp, all broiled to perfection with a side of crunchy fresh vegetables.

Tom, had chicken over pasta, Lisa had the exquisite eggplant and Rose had the sushi-quality tuna. All of us commented on the wonderful flavors throughout the meal. Robert tempted us with dessert; Lisa had the carrot cake and Tom the Grand Marnier mousse. Each dessert was rich, but not overwhelming.

Old Captiva House is certainly worth a stop for a fine dinner in nice surroundings fronted by a friendly staff and backed by a kitchen staff that knows how to make an excellent dinner that pleases the eye, satisfies the palate and pleasantly fills the stomach.

How much does it cost; about $25 per plate which is almost the same price as the Bubble Room from which we walked out because of their limited, similarly priced menu prior to making the lucky find at Old Captiva. Go there, you will be glad you did!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jason m, Manager at Captiva House, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Mark D,

Thank you for such a glowing review, this is what our food and beverage team strive for. I'm pleased to hear you had a wonderful experience with us and hope to see you again soon. Thank you for your time in writing such a positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    178
    75
    21
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poynton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Final nite Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Treated myself to a fine dining experience here at sunset. Good food; attentive staff; worth a visit

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jason m, General Manager at Captiva House, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Lawrence B

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments and I am glad to hear you had a wonderful dinning experience with us at the Captiva House. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A BIG letdown”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We were celebrating our friends birthday and were very excited to come here after hearing all of the great reviews. We were quickly let down. We sat for about 10 minutes before we were even greeted by our server. We had brought our own wine which we were aware of the corkage fee...not a problem but our waiter hadn't poured a single one of our classes. We even had to get up and get our own wine glasses. Through our entire service I believe we saw our waiter maybe 4 times. He only had one more table and we even saw them walking around their table pouring their own wine themselves as well. Our server was no where to be found. For the prices we were paying we expected a little more attentive service. The food was very bland and disappointing. Although we had a great time with the company we were around we left very unsatisfied! Especially since during our trip we had gone to two other restaurants and had amazing food and service. A big letdown and will not be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Disappointing and Expensive!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

On a good note, we did enjoy the piano player. He did a real nice job. We also enjoyed the sunset from our table. We did decide on the location since they were the #1 ranked Resturant on Captiva by Trip Advisor. However, food was very disappointing. The Grouper was over-cooked. The Tuna was over-salted. The carrots were not even cooked enough to eat. They were hard to slice. This was my third time here and by far the worst meal. It was disappointing considering we were celebrating a birthday. Our meal was $200 for 2 adults, 2 children which included a bottle of wine. It was not worth what we received. Too bad about the food because it is a lovely place.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JRH68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jason m, General Manager at Captiva House, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear JRH68

I am glad to hear you did enjoy our wonderful pianist but I'm sorry our culinary team had missed the mark with your experience. We take your responses very seriously and use them as a tool to improve our guest’s experience. Thank you for your comments and you time. It seems that you have enjoyed our restaurant in the past; I hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We ate breakfast here everyday, for the week we stayed at the Tween Waters Inn. The breakfast menu was limited, but that made it easy to order! Fresh fruit, cereal, and other things included in the breakfast bar. Everything was very good!
My sister also had her reception upstairs. The dinner was amazing! Everything looked and tasted delicious! We really enjoyed this place!!!

Helpful?
Thank Mindy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captiva House also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Captiva House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing