We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jensen's "On the Gulf"

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Captiva Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jensen's "On the Gulf"
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Jensen bros. marina cottages in the past and have always been pleased with the cleanliness and quaintness of the cottages. They are convenient to everything Captiva and the manatees are right there all the time. This time we stayed at the Beach Nest House on the gulf side with another couple and we were all pleased with the spaciousness and nearly a private beach. We loved it and didn't lose any of the convenience of the marina cottages. The beach houses or the marina cottages can't be beat.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bilsano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    29
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
26
114
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Ok - I'll keep this brief as I fear once I start waxing lyrical about this place I won't stop! Stayed in the beach cottage for 4 nights - wish it'd been longer, family of 4 (2 teenagers). Being from the UK we had not heard of Captiva - which is a gem. The Jensen crew are wonderful and go the extra mile. We even had a comp 2hour boat trip with the friendly and knowledgable Jeff as our captain. Now at the end of our two week whistle-stop tour of Florida our stay at Jensens will be the highlight - a very special place indeed ! Exceptional sums it up :)

Room Tip: I don't think you could find a bad one but the beach house is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stockytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

This place is great! Low-key, laid-back, extremely clean. The Jensen brother I met was a great guy and we are anxious to return!!!! Great food in walking distance. Interesting old graveyard in the town area. I like the Captiva atmosphere more than Sanibel, not sure why. The manatees at the dock area is another plus. This is one of the few places that we will return to again and again. There is a great grocery store in Sanibel, so we only ate out for dinner.

Room Tip: We liked the old post office building but will try a spot that overlooks the beach next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grp1640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yantis, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

I wanted a getaway vacation to just relax and unwind, and we found the perfect answer at Jensen's 'On the Gulf'. We stayed 6 nights in the PO Sweet just steps from the beach with the most gorgeous sunsets. The cottage was quaint, clean, and had everything we needed. The location is central - you can walk to most anything on Captiva, and only need a car if you opt to go back to Sanibel for shopping or other activities. But what really makes this place special is the Jensens - if you need something, they'll find a way to help you out. We walked over to the marina and sister resort everyday to fish from the docks, or just check in with the manatees. No matter which Jensen we ran into, we were always greeted with a welcoming smile. We rented one of their boats one day for a trip up the bay to the state park - it came with a map, generous advice, and fishing equipment to boot! I can't wait until the next time we can go back, and yes, I'm sure there will be a next time!

Room Tip: The PO Sweet is perfect for two - not a beachfront view, but you are only steps away. It's very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMS107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safety Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Jensen's on the Gulf was an experience beyond our imagination. We made inpromptu plans to take an overnight trip and called Jensen's to check availability. As they usually book several nights as a "minimum stay" they were able to accommodate us for only one evening. Within minutes of arriving, we got the "minimum stay" - who would ever want to leave this Paradise? Our check-in was a flawless 90 seconds and the staff was so friendly and happy to have us, even for one night. We stayed at the Post Office Box - a beautifully clean and accommodating room with a small frig, microwave, coffee maker, silverware and plates for two. King size comfortable bed - private garden setting a tiny walk away from the beach! Beach chairs, umbrellas and towels - it was just overwhelming that Jensen's "thought of everything" to make even one night a memorable one! We will definitely book again, and next time for several days. You can't find a cleaner, friendlier, more accommodating stay on the Island!! Thank you Jensen's - see you again soon!!

Room Tip: If all you want is a quiet little hideaway in a comfortable air conditioned room with a large screen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4nance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockledge, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed at the P.O. Sweet at Jensen's On the Gulf for a week and felt right at home. Steps from the beach, great for watching sunsets, roomy cottage, close to everything in Captiva. The Jensens are a friendly bunch - we enjoyed meeting them at their sister resort, the Twin Palm Resort and Marina. Public areas were very nice and never ever crowded. The cottage had everything we needed including a full kitchen and a great back porch. Would recommend this place to anyone who wants a beach vacation off the beaten path. Nice and quiet but close to everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaneyZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We have been coming here for over 30 years and it just keeps getting better and better the people at Jenson's marina staff and ownership have been absolutely fantastic and friendly in every single way I would
recommend this beach resort to anybody who wants the most comfortable fantastic vacation experience, in the USA ! Fishing is Fantastic in the bay and read off the beach

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judoka265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
0.6 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
10.5 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
0.5 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
0.3 mi away
Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast
8.8 mi away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jensen's "On the Gulf"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jensen's "On the Gulf"

Property: Jensen's "On the Gulf"
Address: 15300 Captiva Dr, Captiva Island, FL 33924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captiva Island's only small resort directly on the beach. Romantic, intimate, laid-back, on your own peace. SW Florida, USA, beachfront resort on the shores of the Gulf of Mexico. Enjoy gentle surf lapping on our white shell strewn beach, swaying palms, and your loved ones from your front row seat to incredible sunsets that will take your breath away. Reserve one of our dramatic view suites or garden cottage suites and learn the secret of the best small Inn on Captiva! Walk to everything including Jensen's Historic Twin Palm Marina - Captiva Island's Boating & Fishing Headquarters. Join the generations who've returned to us over the last nearly 40 years the Jensens have preserved the natural beauty that stole their heart - True Captiva Island. PEACE - LOVE - CAPTIVA. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jensen`s `On The Gulf` Hotel Captiva Island
Jensen's "On The Gulf" Captiva Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing