We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing doesn't describe it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jensen's "On the Gulf"

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Captiva Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jensen's "On the Gulf"
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Northport, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“relaxing doesn't describe it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

right on the gulf-privacy with a price-wonderful people run it-if you are looking to relax this really is the place-captiva is laid back and beautiful-leave all your dress up clothes home-the island is made for shorts t-shirts and flip flops-jensens fits right in-we stayed at the beach house and it was wonderful-right on the beach-private and comfortable-wasn't the fanciest place we've stayed but clean comfortable if a bit pricey-if you go try a boat ride from their marina-you'll see dolphins and manatees-the only reason it doesn't get a full 5 stars is the price-but with only positives otherwise you can tolerate it

Room Tip: if you need 2 bedrooms the beach house is unbeatable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy48305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    29
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
26
114
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galena, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

We have been visiting Jensen's on the Gulf for 23 years. We like to stay in the beach side # 2 or 3 are our favorite units. They are perfect for family or just a couple and the view is outstanding. Complimentary beach chairs and gear is really nice. The discount on boat rental was also appreciated. We recommend a week long stay. You have plenty of dining options nearby. We loved Keylime Bistro, RC Otters and Mucky Duck the best. We were sad to leave today but don't worry we will be back!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Heidi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

My girlfriend and I just came back from our first visit to Jensen's On the Gulf.We stayed on the gulf in #1 on the beach. Perfectly adequate accommodations for two.Your staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. We rented a pontoon that was in immaculate condition (Brand New) We were given a quick yet thorough run down on operation of boat and given an easy to understand map of the bay (Thanks Jack.) We had a blast! Later that evening we checked out guitars jamming at the marina. JUST AWESOME!!!! From one Jensen to Another Thanks! Making plans for next year to stay at Jensen's with my two sisters and their family's. CAN'T WAIT

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
287 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Yes…that place you go to and never want to leave. My wife and I stayed for 3 short nights in the P.O. Box last week. I cannot say enough positive things about this special place on the Gulf and the staff. Check-in at the Marina was smooth and Greg was so helpful at the Gulf spot to settle us in. The P.O. Box is perfect for a couple and they have thought about absolutely everything you might need and then they leave you alone. That beautiful beach is only a 30 second walk away and a few short blocks away are several restaurants to choose from. It only took us till our first morning on Captiva to realize that we did not want to go back home ever again. We will be back!!

Room Tip: Do bring your coffee and the fixings for it. I brought filters with me, but they already had some in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afton, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
190 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Just returned from week at Jensens on the beach.. Everything is there for the beach, chairs, towels, shell nets, umbrellas, etc... We fished from beach and caught fish every time, so fun.
The view was amazing from our room, Beach house #2.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank k_branTulsa_Oklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is the only place in Captive that is right on the beach. The Jensen family was most hospitable and their property is clean, quiet & beautiful. We stayed 6 days in the condo, South Beach Unit #3 which looked out directly onto the beach. The property features 5 cottages of various size and the 5 unit condo which is some 20 ft from the beach. Our unit was on the 2nd floor: kitchen with range, oven, microwave, full refrigerator & coffee maker. One bath, 2 bedrooms,living room & small dining area. Room had WiFi connection & cable TV. Everything was VERY clean & newer. Towels are provided, there is a laundry room on the first floor with free machines & detergent. Beach chairs, umbrellas & some beach toys are all available at no charge. No need to get up early & stake claim for a spot on the beach. It is huge, clean & more frequently than not you will be the only ones there. Sea birds abound. Osprey & Frigatebirds cross with the Pelicans, Black Skimmers & Royal Terns scooping out their meals between the dancing dolphin not 10 yards offshore.
There are many excellent restaurants within a 10 minute walk. The fish dishes are creative & fantastic. We dined at a number of great places including: Key Lime Bistro (small & outdoors, so do reserve, mouth watering bacon wrapped scallops ), RC Otters ( small, with a very tasty Uncle Hank's Grouper Ruben & local beers on tap for lunch), Sunshine Seafood Cafe (small, outdoor deck & awesome paella), Doc Ford's (large dining area, terrific mojitos & deep water Mahi Mahi, a bit further down the road, located in the South Seas Resort) and the Old Captiva Inn located on the Tween the Waters property (to die for creamy crab bisque & a unique grilled snapper wrapped in phyllo dough,also a larger restaurant, white table cloth type, reservations are recommended, you will need to drive to get here).
The Bubble Room is also a nice place for the children; loads of toys & memorabilia throughout. One place we regretted stopping by was the Captive Pizza & Yogurt next to Key Lime Bistro. The pizza seemed to have been made in a Chuck E Cheeze Play Oven, antipasto wasn't much better.
You might want to stop at the Publix in Ft Meyers prior to driving to Captiva or Jerry's Market on Sanibel or even the Bailey's Center Market on Sanibel just prior to Captiva to purchase your milk, bread, butter, eggs, coffee & whatever else you will need when not dining out. The 2 groceries on Captiva are very expensive, especially the one at Chadwick Square across from the South Seas Resort, where an 18oz bottle of club soda will set you back to almost Yankee Stadium prices ($4.00).
There are many nature related places in the area & Jensen's Marina a 3 minute walk away has boats to rent, free fishing gear to use on the beach & manatees that come right up to the dock. Red Sox fans will appreciate the small Ted Williams fishing gear display along with 2 checks signed by Theodore himself.
Jensen's On The Gulf is definitely on our "must go back" list. There is just too much to like going on here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ankh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a one week's stay at Jensen's On The Gulf. Our unit was the PO Box Sweet which was spacious, cute, and very clean. A well equipped kitchen had everything we needed to cook simple meals. Bed was quite comfortable. Beach access was steps away and chairs, umbrellas, and other beach amenities were plentiful (provided by Jensen's). Staff is quite friendly; after you check in they more or less leave you alone unless you have questions. Hotel is walking distance (beach or roadways) to many restaurants and the few little shops on Captiva. Booked a one hour boat ride with Jensen marina staff and had a great dolphin watching experience. Lovely beach days watching the dolphins play off shore and strolling over to marina-side to see manatees off the docks. We wanted a relaxing low key honeymoon in a prime location and we hit the spot. Five stars for Jensen's!

A few minor cons: road noise in the PO unit should be noted as some travelers might not like this, but it was not disruptive to our stay overall.

AC unit over our bed at night rattled softly which was disruptive but easily fixed by using ceiling fan instead. I'm sure if we had reported this Jensen's would of fixed, but we were not inclined to do so.

Jensen's stocks the bathroom with towels for your arrival and 2 beach towels in the closet. It would have been nice to have a few more beach towels as they were a bit thin an worn, or at least a clean towel exchange. There is a laundry room for guests but I personally could not bring myself to do laundry on vacation in paradise.

We would absolutely return to Jensen's in the future!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
0.6 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
10.5 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
0.5 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
0.3 mi away
Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast
8.8 mi away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jensen's "On the Gulf"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jensen's "On the Gulf"

Property: Jensen's "On the Gulf"
Address: 15300 Captiva Dr, Captiva Island, FL 33924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captiva Island's only small resort directly on the beach. Romantic, intimate, laid-back, on your own peace. SW Florida, USA, beachfront resort on the shores of the Gulf of Mexico. Enjoy gentle surf lapping on our white shell strewn beach, swaying palms, and your loved ones from your front row seat to incredible sunsets that will take your breath away. Reserve one of our dramatic view suites or garden cottage suites and learn the secret of the best small Inn on Captiva! Walk to everything including Jensen's Historic Twin Palm Marina - Captiva Island's Boating & Fishing Headquarters. Join the generations who've returned to us over the last nearly 40 years the Jensens have preserved the natural beauty that stole their heart - True Captiva Island. PEACE - LOVE - CAPTIVA. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jensen`s `On The Gulf` Hotel Captiva Island
Jensen's "On The Gulf" Captiva Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing