We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“to crowded, to busy, to bad”

Morton's The Steakhouse - North Miami Beach
Reserve with OpenTable
Morton's The Steakhouse - North Miami Beach is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 173rd
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“to crowded, to busy, to bad”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

I am a Morton Fan and i will still be a Morton fan - but never again this morton north of Miami. Poor service, all to busy kitchen, wrong cooking of steaks, long, long waiting time. This was my first bad experience with morton but it was really bad. Forget North Miami, Coillins on the Beach is much better. Every chain has a week link. At Mortons it is in North Miami...

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carlbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    60
    35
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Disappointed - Never again”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We had an option of three steak restaurants and were advised Mortons was the best. We arrived and were quickly shown to the table from that point on the rush began. Why? it probably seats over 100 and only 18 people were in the restaurant. We ordered the iceberg and blue cheese to start which was good but they brought the steaks before we had finished. Mine was rare when I asked for medium rare but finding someone to deal with it was a task the waiters who were in different at best seemed to disappear into another room. On the second run the steak was warmed up but still undercooked.

As soon as we had finished a tray of tited looking deserts was presented . No thanks we had not even digested the first two courses. From start to finish we were out in 50 minutes and had drunk a bottle of wine as well. All this for two people came to $178. When we left the resturant was still quiet. No wonder!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 657maestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good but not excellent”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I got a nice appetizer , the salmon was ok but not excellent , the place is nice and clean service good .

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank alonmoradi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa,Canada
Level Contributor
306 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Good but very overprice”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

My wife and I stopped there for dinner around 8h30 pm on a Wednesday night. We first intended to go to Houston, which shares the same parking lot but it was full and tons of people were waiting for a table. At Morton, about 75% of the tables were taken and we were seated without any wait. My wife chose the 6oz filet mignon ($42) and I had the 8 oz ($50). Both were excellent and cooked as requested but, at this price, you would expect a small salad (sorry...not here) and some side dish. But side dishes are an add on. The mushrooms with spinach were good but the baked potato was so so . At $12 each !!! You are right: $12 for a baked potato. The wine ist is great but again very expensive, about 6 times what you would pay at the store. Service was OK.

In total, $217. for two steaks, no appetizer, no dessert, and one overpriced bottle of wine ($79).

We will definitively not go back as you can get good steak elsewehere for much less.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“still very good ....”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

i have been here about 100 times over the past 10 years and about 4-5 times since the transition to new management a few months ago ...i read a few other recent comments by trip advisor members complaining cause they don't sing happy birthday anymore or because the bread has changed ?!?!? if im spending 150 bucks for dinner for two , im concerned with the food and service . if i want birthday singing i'll go to fridays .
bottom line is the food is consistently good ...through the transition the menu has changed some ...a few new items were added and some subtracted ...this is a clubby understated restaurant with dimish lighting and wooden bar ..matre 'd in tuxedowell dressed servers , white table cloths , stem glasses . fresh chops lobster you can compare it to the palm ..service is always good but its very expensive...only change it they no longer play sinatra and 50's hits ...more of a modern nuvo sound ..

if u go during happy hour m-f before 6:30 and after 9pm at bar only, u can get bar bites ..mini burgers, steak sandwiches,crab cakes, jumbo shrimp cocktail , lettuce wedges etc for about 1/2 price .great deal .

very good

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephenbru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Morton's The Steakhouse - North Miami Beach also viewed

North Miami Beach, FL
 
North Miami Beach, FL
North Miami Beach, FL
 

Been to Morton's The Steakhouse - North Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing