We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood market & restaurant”

Cod & Capers Seafood Marketplace and Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bahamian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 13 May 2014

They have a huge selection of seafood with a casual atmosphere of in or outside dining. It's easy to find in the Crystal Tree plaza & with lots of parking.

Thank CaptErnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica Z, Manager at Cod & Capers Seafood Marketplace and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you!! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 308 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

Took the wife out to an early dinner. I had a lobster roll ($23) and she had the fish and chips ($19) with a side of rice and peas ($3).

The lobster roll tasted good but, it was mostly 'roll'. The amount of meat was comparable to that of a hot-dog. That's what it was like eating. Definitely not work $23 -- worth more like $8-$10 based on the weight of meat (4 oz I would guess). Just last week I had a lobster roll at a restaurant very close by to the south and it had twice the lobster for half the price.

My wife's fish and chips was okay but, not stellar (or worth the price). The fish was not seasoned -- without the batter it had very little flavor. That being said, I believe the fish was fresh.

I've never written a review and felt compelled to because I was so underwhelmed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica Z, Manager at Cod & Capers Seafood Marketplace and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

I'm sorry to hear that you did not leave here feeling as though you had a good experience.

As stated on our menu, we steam live Maine lobsters daily and hand-pick the meat to make our lobster rolls. We do not use a frozen cooked meat or a pre-made lobster salad. We have had many newspaper write-ups about our fabulous lobster rolls for that very reason. It may be true that there are places that offer them for less money, but we promise you it is not the same product. Hopefully, this will help you understand why our lobster roll is priced differently than it might be at other places. It is one of our top-sellers and one of the items that gives us the MOST repeat business.

We are happy to hear that you appreciated the quality of the day-boat Cod we use in our Fish & Chips. It is a very traditional beer-batter recipe.

At Cod & Capers, we truly pride ourselves on quality and not price. We don't promise to be the "cheapest", but we absolutely strive to offer the best product. I hope that you will come back and give us another chance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The menu offers some things that you won't usually get when you eat at my house !

For example, the scallop roll. I Have not seen this on any menu, anywhere, It was fabulous and the scallops were melt in your mouth good. My husband ordered the fish sandwich and was more than pleased. This is from someone who orders this wherever he goes.

Seating out side was nice and then we looked at the seafood market itself and was totally impressed with the variety and yes, the beauty of the presentation of the selection of seafood. The market looked spotless and gleamed of clean.

We will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank magFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica Z, Manager at Cod & Capers Seafood Marketplace and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you so much! The Scallop Roll is one of our favorites and the cleanliness of our market is something we take extremely seriously. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We just arrived in West Palm Beach today, and were hoping to find a place for dinner that would offer fresh fish and a healthy meal. We truly lucked into Cod & Capers--arrived shortly before they were closing, but they quickly put together a table for our group of 5 adults, and explained how the menu was set up--you can either order from the menu, with its wonderful variety, or you can go into their fish market and select your choice of fish and the size of the serving, have it prepared the way you like, & select side items to go with your fish. I decided to go with the swordfish from the market, 3 of our group selected the maple-dijon glazed salmon, and the last person selected the lemon aioli grouper. We all had salads--crisp and fresh, and then the entrees--ALL of the entrees were exceptional, and they came with fresh veggies that were cooked perfectly. Our server was helpful,
efficient, and made our dinner a lot of fun! We are already talking about what we plan to order on our next visit. We have decided to give it 4 stars instead of 5, based on the ambiance--you overlook a parking lot instead of water.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank scubamom1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica Z, Manager at Cod & Capers Seafood Marketplace and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you!! We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience. This is exactly what we try to achieve for each and every guest we serve! We can only wish we would have been fortunate enough to find a location that would have allowed us to do everything we do AND be waterfront, but we really do love our new location. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My wife and I visited this restaurant for the first time 2 weeks ago, it was recommended by a friend. The manager and wait staff were very hospitable and friendly, the service was very good - just right with good follow-up after main course was served. We started with oysters on the half shell from the Northeast and they were fresh, plump and tasted great; then we had Florida stone crabs and they were delicious. For what we ordered the price was very fair.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica Z, Manager at Cod & Capers Seafood Marketplace and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you... and welcome!! We love hearing about our guests' first experiences with us and we hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cod & Capers Seafood Marketplace and Cafe also viewed

Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
 
North Palm Beach, FL
 

Been to Cod & Capers Seafood Marketplace and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing