We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hot springs I have been to.”

Warm Mineral Springs
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in North Port
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At a temperature of 87 degrees, Warm Mineral Springs contains 9 million gallons of fresh water which replenishes itself every two hours. This natural resource is comprised of 51 minerals, which is the highest mineral content of any natural spring in the United States. The spring has been added to the U.S. National Register of Historic Places partly because it is one of the most important underwater archeological sites in America. During exploratory dives in the 1950s, the remains of a prehistoric hunter and seven other humans were discovered in a very well preserved state. Similarly, evidence of several creatures have been extracted from the spring, including saber tooth tigers, giant sloths, tortoises, and even camels. Today, with a goal of increased wellness for everyone, Warm Mineral Springs offers a natural experience to residents and visitors alike who want to soak in the warm waters.
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Worst hot springs I have been to.”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Far too expensive. Really $20+-, many I have been too have been free like they should be. Run down facilities. Won't go back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
13 Thank gb2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    70
    47
    32
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“NOT FOR ME”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I believe this spring is now closed. There was plenty of parking and the spring is right off the Tamiami Trail.
When you entered the smell would knock you over sort of a sulfer smell. As I remember it was pretty expensive for a one day pass.
Many of the locals who live there would purchase a resident pass.
So, at present the city of North Port is deciding whether to purchase the spring or let it go to developers.
It simply needs a complete revamping.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Moe-02169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous ”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Authentic old Florida. Over the years the facilities got tacky, but the local government takeover did a nice job improving the experience. My only disappointment was promising my friends who I invited to WS borsch for lunch. Let's start a campaign to get this place back!

Helpful?
20 Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Warm Mineral Springs. wish it were open”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

It's important that Warm Mineral Springs be reopened. Sarasota County and the city of Northport have to find a way. I didn't expect much of the springs, but for at least 2 weeks after I was there, none of my arthritis bothered me. Being there was a wonderful experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
22 Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange City, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“CLOSED WAS LOOKING TO REVISIT”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Very disappointing to here the park is closed, glad I went on line to verify where I was going, was more than willing to pay the fee and make the 2 hour drive, the city could charge at least $20 a person and it would certainly bring revenue and tourism, unbelievable wow.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
24 Thank 88Deb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Warm Mineral Springs also viewed

 
Englewood, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Warm Mineral Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing