We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for a beach stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The room was comfortable and clean. I would recommend paying the extra to be on a higher floor. I had a 2nd floor Balcony room which placed me right above the veranda for the restaurant so I had noise from that to contend with. Not bad but I could see it being annoying at a more crowded time. The facilities were nice and the beach a good location.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Bernadette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,433 - 1,439 of 2,682 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have stayed here several times and it always is wonderful. Friendly staff. Clean. The beach is awesome. You can charge the umbrella and chairs to your room. The food is good. The drinks are great. The bed is comfortable. The room is spacious and quiet. We LOVE it here. The cookies are awesome, too.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Jodys C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Can't beat an upgrade to an ocean front room. However, it was so humid and stuffy outside, I did not get to enjoy it too much. Also, there were several mosquitoes camping out in my bathroom when I arrived...no bueno. There were also loud families on my floor. Best breakfast ever!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Casey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I really recommend this beautiful hotel to everybody;n there was a very nice beach, excellent amenities such as rentable chairs and umbrellas and free homemade cookies when checking in and out. There was also a nice bar next to the beach which provided good drinks and snacks.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Julio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Member of Mango Club for nine years. Buy one get one free food. 10% discount at the Tiki bar. Did not rejoin. Food is terrible. Service is terrible. $5.00 drafts. $7.00 wells. With the pourers now on the bottles, no alcohol in the drinks. Most employees are lackadaisical at best. Been going there for 20 years. No more.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank JackLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerryGM, General Manager at Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

I apologize that we were not able to meet your expectations. Losing a loyal patron is not something we take lightly, and had we known about the food or service issues you recently experienced, we certainly would have made the effort to resolve it right away. I assure you that we all strive as a team to provide great service and a positive experience to all our hotel guests and local patrons of our restaurant and tiki bar.

Sincerely,
Terry Graber, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Not a horrible place, but certainly not the best place.

The hotel is probably one of the few main chain hotels in the area. My family and I stayed on a short weekend getaway. The hotel is very nicely placed on the beach, so great place to just unwind , relax , and take in the waves.

Upon being greeted by Steve, we were given a room on the fourth floor. I noticed after checking in , that the HILTON HONORS floor was the fifth floor. I asked why , being a HILTON HONORS member for over 10 years, was I not placed on this appropriate floor. I was told that the assigned floor meant nothing , and that all the floors were the same. Horrible answer in my opinion for a manager, or whatever his position may be. When you are a member of a group that is supposed to be treated above and beyond when you stay at Hilton properties, I didn't get that feeling at this hotel. Put us on the appropriate floor, even if it is the same, as It makes me feel like me being a HILTON HONORS means something.

The restaurant was very plain and good place if you didn't want to leave the hotel to get a bite or drink. The staff was very pleasant at the restaurant and seemed to go the extra mile to make you feel welcome and on vacation.

The next morning , after having breakfast, I realized that we were not given the appropriate amount of breakfast vouchers ( again a HILTON HONORS perk ). After going to the front desk, I was told by Julie that even though my family was of 3 , we were only allowed to have 2 breakfast vouchers for each day. In the 10 years I've been staying at Hilton properties, I've never not gotten a breakfast voucher for my entire family of 3. Julie told me repeatedly that they were the number one Doubletree in terms of occupancy percentage. Being only a 6 floor hotel , im sure that's not hard to do, and seemed like a silly thing to say to a customer as an excuse. Here I am, a HILTON HONORS member , and im being told by the manager that my son is not allowed to have a breakfast voucher like the rest of my family was given. REALLY ?????

It seems that Julie is clueless when it comes to customer service , as the correct reply when I explained my situation should have been , here you go Mr XXXX , is there anything else we can do for you ? Thank you and hope you enjoy the rest of your stay.

Is a breakfast voucher for a 10 year old kid really that BIG OF A DEAL to HILTON. Customer service goes a long way when its done correctly , and helps insure repeat business. Its the little things that help people enjoy their stay when away on vacation.

Besides the apparent short comings of the front desk staff, the rest of the stay was very pleasant. The hotel lacks charm , but I think its more the area , than the hotel. Being from Ft Lauderdale, I know what real customer service at beach front hotels is supposed to be like. I think the entire front desk staff should take a trip to the either Hilton in Ft Lauderdale and get some training on what customer service really is about.

Nice place to stay if in the area , as the location of the hotel is right on the beach. But expect shortcomings from the staff if you are a HILTON HONORS member , or expect above average customer service from the front desk. The rest of the staff was EXCELLENT, except for housekeeping, which once forgot to put waters out when turning the room over, and the fact that there was long brown hairs on the walls in the shower, and no one in my family has long brown hair..... GROSS...both times the room was turned over, the hair was never wiped clean in the walls of the shower.

I would travel further down the beach in either direction , and stay someplace else if I came to this side of the state again.

Room Tip: I would stay in a beachfront room, but the staff doesn't seem very flexible if you are a HILTON...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank SFLA954_TRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerryGM, General Manager at Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

I am truly sorry we did not meet your expectations. Upon investigation, I found that you were issued and used three HHonors Breakfast certificates each day of your stay, even though it is true that HHonors terms and conditions call for a maximum of two per day. In addition, every single room was occupied on both nights of your stay. It is no surprise that the HHonors floor was fully occupied by HHonors guests based upon availability at the time of check in. When you checked in at 8pm, the HHonors floor was fully occupied. I hope you will give DoubleTree another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,
Terry Graber, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Great place and a great location. Right on the beach, great food. great service and rooms were very clean. I am for sure coming back! The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We will be bringing our kids back next time for a great week.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Redington Beach
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Sol
The Hotel Sol
#1 of 4 in Redington Beach
434 reviews
2 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Clearwater/Madeira Beach
3.2 mi away
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Madeira Beach
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#7 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,835 reviews
11.3 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,490 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites St. Petersburg - Madeira Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach

Address: 17120 Gulf Blvd, North Redington Beach, FL 33708-1443
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > North Redington Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in North Redington Beach
Price Range: £117 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Beach Resort by Hilton is a true combination of Florida and the Tropics! Experience our tropical sun, gentle breezes, powder white sand and the sparkling blue green waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Centrally located between Clearwater & St. Pete Beaches, directly on the Gulf of Mexico. 125 tropically appointed guest rooms, each with a private furnished balcony, 40" flat panel TV with 66 channels including 24 HD channels, mini refrigerator, wireless high-speed internet access, ergonomic desk chair, iron/ironing board, USA Today delivered each weekday morning, two telephones, and CITRON Honey & Coriander by Crabtree & Evelyn Bath Products. Private beach and beachfront swimming pool, 24 hour business center and gift/sundry shop, Mangos Restaurant with indoor/outdoor seating, beachside Tiki Bar featuring live entertainment, and onsite cabana and water sport rentals. Come see us! We'll always have a warm chocolate chip cookie with your name on it ready and waiting! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Beach Resort By Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach Hotel
Doubletree North Redington Beach
Doubletree Beach Resort Tampa Bay
Doubletree Beach Resort By Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing