We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,881)
Filter reviews
2,881 results
Traveller rating
1,756
771
215
82
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,756
771
215
82
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mangos restaurant gulf view double tree warm cookies breakfast buffet great beach top floor gulf of mexico parking garage beach chairs john's pass ocean front spring break the entire staff pete beach tiki balcony
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 2,881 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed here 12th and 13th October, we had been made aware of the coastal beach erosion project and were prepared for disruption.
The hotel is in a great location right on Redington beach, it has its own car park. Our room was on the 6th floor so we had a great sea view from the balcony, the other side has lovely views of the waterway.
Our room was very clean and comfortable, great WiFi and tv, lovely beds. There was a small area with a fridge, cuisinart machine, ice bucket and glasses. The bathroom was lovely with plenty towels, toiletries and a hairdryer. The shower had fabulous hot water and plenty of it.
Dressing gowns were provided as well as a safe, iron and board.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful, the receptionist was a trainee but very professional and helpful.
We had breakfast at Mangos the on-site restaurant, our waiter John was very friendly and helpful and the food was delicious, hot or cold buffet style plenty of choice and very tasty. They offer other meals as well.
The tiki bar was kept busy, they also have outdoor seating areas and a pool. Beach chairs are $25 per day.
The highlights are definitely the location and views, wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2018
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

My wife and have careers that are demanding and stressful so our escape to the Doubletree was highly anticipated. Knowing that hotels frequently have renovations, events, and unforeseen circumstances that could be disruptive, we kept a close eye on the hotels website and social media. Prior to our arrival, we stayed in Orlando and found that an alert pertaining to beach clean-up will be underway during the week of October 8th. Since we would have checked out by then, we did not change our reservation to a different Hilton property where beach clean-up was not taking place. Upon or arrival, the check-in process was cumbersome and although our front desk associate had a name tag indicating that she is a "Trainee", she perhaps should have had someone shadowing her since it was clear more training/experience was necessary. When I asked her about the beach clean up she indicated that it had not yet begun and we will be fine. Based on this discussion, we proceeded to check in. Once we arrived at the room, I saw beach clean up crews working down the beach a few properties down. Since no one was working, I assumed that they were moving away from our property and all would be well. The next morning, we saw that the beach clean up was indeed moving toward us and soon the beach would be unusable. When I spoke with Sarah at the front desk she told me that parts of the beach would be accessible still and that the machinery would not impede our relaxation. We decided to stay another night based on this reassurance. The next morning, we were woken by loud excavators pulling up the sand and sounding a reverse warning. Already, this invoked a strong sense of stress and unrest for that day and we knew the day at the beach was ruined. To make the best of a bad situation, we proceeded to drive to Clearwater beach which was relaxing and peaceful. Upon our return, the machines were in full operation and much louder/closer than this morning. We planned to eat at the hotel restaurant and were seated outside. We, along with other guests, began coughing due to the spray of sand and saltwater coming from a pipe used to replenish the beach sand. We requested to be seated inside and finished our meal without enjoying the outdoors. At this time, I decided to discuss the situation with a manager since we were not able to use the hotel accommodations as expected or represented. I spoke with Sarah once again and she most likely had to handle other guest complaints because she had very little patience with my grievance. I explained to her that our expectation was to relax and we chose this hotel specifically for the beach experience. I continued to explain that we looked into any special notifications prior to our arrival and nothing indicated work during our stay. Her response was condescending and rude stating that she would give us a free meal for our "pain and suffering". We were not in pain or experienced suffering. We paid for a product that the hotel she represented could no longer provide and we expected a discount or complete refund for our stay. After I explained this to her she told me that since we booked our stay with a third party, she could not help us. I later called Hilton and found out that her statement was untrue which made the matter much worse. Due to the residual environment related to heavy machinery and beach cleanup within feet of the pool, we were not able to enjoy that amenity as well.

Essentially, we were not able to use your primary product as expected or marketed and your secondary product (service) was severely lacking.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank alwaysjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoriR1470, Front Office Manager at Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Please accept my apologies for the discomfort you experienced with the Coastal Beach Erosion Project that was going on during your stay. We do our best to inform our guests of unusual circumstances such as this through our website and our Front Desk so guests can make plans accordingly. On Monday, October 1, the state informed us that they had moved up the project by one week. Up until then their website still had us listed to begin on October 16. We immediately put that information on our website, but we realize that when guests are traveling, they may not check the site after leaving home. This type of project only occurs every 7 to 8 years. Without it there would be no beach to enjoy. Again, we apologize that you could not enjoy the beach for your entire stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

We have been visiting this hotel for over 25 years and our visit in September 2018 was our worst ever holiday. A red tide caused by naturally occurring algae in the water led to thousands of dead fish being washed up on the shore. The smell from the dead fish is overpowering and after our first two days of our 14 day holiday my wife ended up with streaming eyes, sneezing fits and a chest infection. I fed this back to the Doubletree but no one bothered to contact me to discuss my concerns. Do not book the hotel unless you have a cancellation option on your holiday and check prior to travelling to the hotel that the beach is clear of dead fish and algae. I feel sorry for the hotel staff having to work in these conditions. Our trip was booked as a celebration for my wife’s birthday and our wedding anniversary and it was a disaster.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Californiadreaming66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerryGM, General Manager at Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Please accept my apologies for the discomfort you experienced with the red tide during your stay. We do our best to inform our guests of unusual circumstances such as this through our website and our Front Desk so guests can make plans accordingly. However, these types of situations can be difficult to determine due to its fluctuations. The city worked hard to clean up and maintain the beach area as best as they could. We pride ourselves on having very loyal guests that continue to visit us repeatedly over the years. We do hope you’ll return again in the future and provide us with another chance to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Title says it all. Found and killed cockroach crawling on desk. Didn’t expect to find in an otherwise nice room. Hotel staff nice and friendly, looks like a clean property but big issues in the room. Great view of the beach, close to shopping.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank benjones62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerryGM, General Manager at Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Please accept my sincere apologies for the unexpected disappointment you experienced in one of our rooms. The hotel and housekeeping staff take pride in making sure everything is taken care of for our guests. We do appreciate your kind words regarding the close location to shopping and the beach. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope that you’ll give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

We had a very enjoyable stay in this very nice hotel. The room was very clean and attractive and had a lovely view from the balcony. Internet could have been better. The prices in the restaurants were high.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank LoveTravel302967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews