We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service, lack of options”
Review of Ceviche by the Sea

Ceviche by the Sea
Reserve with OpenTable
Ceviche by the Sea is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 112 Restaurants in Oakland Park
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Peruvian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bad service, lack of options”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

First, I think restaurant changed ownership, however it did not change for better or worse, food was ok, they took 40 minutes for 2 dishes ( lomo saltado and a sandwich), waiter told us 15 minutes later they did not have whole grain bread. Worse, they served a bigger table before us when they ordered after. No bread or cancha to offer, what a disappointment, I don't think I will come back there, three times was enough.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Felipe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    55
    19
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Peruvian cuisine”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We went there with a Living Social coupon and were absolutely delighted with the food. Started with the grilled octopus appetizer uniquely served on a stick with roasted potatoes and choclo corn. The chilean sea bass was cooked perfectly and served over seasonal vegetables. All was in an aji amarillo broth that had great flavor. The snapper was served with a choclo corn and cheese polenta cake and asparagus. All perfectly cooked and seasoned. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the restaurant decor is understated and modern. Next time we're trying the ceviche!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nancy405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fabuloso”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I was driving around when visiting my family, looking for a place to have dinner and we stumbled across Ceviche By The Sea. They were apprehensive, but after the appetizer of the ceviche sampler, no doubt about it...a real find. We all had different dishes (pasta and seafood, seafood specials and a steak(?), and the meals were terrific. The staff couldn't have been nicer, describing the ingredients, cooking methods.... The food was delicious and this is a definite keeper.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shannon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always great food and service”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

You can not go wrong when dining here. The food is incredible save the em service and staff are great the atmosphere is perfect for a date or family dinner. I always recommend this to my friends.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LCITARELLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
235 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent Peruvian style ceviche”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This restaurant has a more modern setting which I was not expecting out of a Peruvian restaurant. They have several types of ceviche but I suggest the mixto. It is not drenched in citrus juice and the flavors are very good. They also have a marinted skirt steak that you finish on a ceramic serno grill at the table which is dynamite. prices are not cheap the quality is all there and the portions are large.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ceviche by the Sea also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Ceviche by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing