We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, lots of wine!”
Review of Carmine's Cafe

Carmine's Cafe
Ranked #54 of 479 Restaurants in Ocala
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Telephone: 352-854-1000 This is the best kept secret in Ocala!!
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great food, lots of wine!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

There were 6 of us out for a nice Italian dinner. The menu was extensive. We shared two appetizers...capri salad and artichoke bites. The artichokes were something we never had before and were so tasty. Two couples asked to share entrees and we were presented with four individual servings that were wonderful...and no extra plate charge for sharing as some restaurants do. As seniors we are not interested in huge portions and taking the leftovers home to eat another day. We all ordered wine with our meals and were delighted by how gracious the pours were. Service was very good. We would recommend Carmine's for anyone desiring great food at a fair price.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ken344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    42
    13
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocala
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Italian food in Ocala!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My favorite spot for Italian food! Everything from the salad to the entree and dessert is the best in Ocala. The atmosphere, service and prices are just right. They never disappoint.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bella-Amo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Food here was GREAT, service less”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Four of us went there as first timers. The atmosphere is good, waiter was not so hot. The owner was on site and greeted us. Found the menu very diverse and the food was great. The ladies also ordered wine and the portions were very generous. You got what you paid for. We will definitely go back, this is one of Ocala better restaurants.

Our one issue as several have mentioned was the bill... It was not correct. Owner took care of it without incident.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GolfOcalaFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
1 review
“Mangiare y bere been! "Eat and drink well"!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband and I decided to try this place on the recommendation of a friend. So I searched online and started reading some of the reviews. Some reviews made me a little skeptical, but everyone has their own opinion and taste buds. So we took a chance.

Wow was my first impression when I walked through the door a Carmine's cafe. What a beautiful atmosphere! Fresh flowers, linen table clothes, glass water goblets, and romantic dinner music to start off a wonderful dinner experience. They have an excellent beer and wine selection, I went with the house Chianti. I was poured a VERY GENEROUS GLASS of wine for the price I would pay for a small glass at any other restaurant. For an appetizer we chose the beef carpaccio, which was deliscioso. Fresh grated cheese was offered for each course served except of course with our dessert. He ordered chicken parmigiana, while I had eggplant parmigiana. His chicken was half the size of his large plate, while my eggplant was just as equal the size. The portions are large for the price, which is comparable to any other Italian restaurant here in Ocala. We finished off with dessert of homemade tiramisu and a cannoli (yummy) both decorated beautifully.
This is why Carmine's is my new favorite restaurant. #1 the the hospitality, being welcomed by the owner Angelo or his wife Estella which makes you feel like family, #2 the atmosphere and ambiance, #3 the generous portions of food and wine and of course the attentive service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dee Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navarre, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Powerhouse of an Italian restaurant!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Who would know that a slice of Italy was located in a strip mall we pass by unknowingly! We made reservations for Mother's Day and were very glad we did! This cafe has possible 15 tables of various sizes that were all full. Lasagna was fantastic & enough for 2 meals! The special was a pork chop meal consisting of 2 pork chops covered w/ peppers & onions served on top of risotto. Tables are set beautifully w/ real flowers. The service is amazing w/ the owner swinging by to check on the food & service! Waiters more than once offered grated cheese! We were so pleasantly full that we had no room for dessert so we will just have to go back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank seniortraveler8383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carmine's Cafe also viewed

Ocala, Central Florida
Ocala, Central Florida
 
Ocala, Central Florida
 

Been to Carmine's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing