We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thoroughbred fan's dream visit”

Farm Tours of Ocala
Ranked #7 of 57 things to do in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Insider`s Tour of Ocala`s Horse Country. Jan to June is foaling season! And yes, you will see newborns. Get "Behind the Gates" and get an exclusive look behind the scenes of 3 locations to get up close to horses of different breeds, disciplines and meet the people train and care for them. An avid horsewoman and and long time resident of Ocala`s Horse Country, Karen shares her enthusiasm, knowledge and ability to enter the inner circles of some of the most beautiful farms in the area. M-SAT. Tours are by reservation only. Start 8:45 to aprox 12. This tour requires a lot of walking. And not suitable for children under 10. This is a small "Boutique" trip with not more than 10 people.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thoroughbred fan's dream visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

If you love Thoroughbred horses, this is the best farm tour you could wish for. Meeting Karen at the office of the Florida Thoroughbred Breeders' and Owners' Association before starting the tour gives you an idea of what treats are in store for your planned morning tour. The FTBOA has a fantastic display of Florida's racing history, look out for 'Affirmed' triple crown winner 1978. Karen is an excellent tour guide, very modest about her knowledge of horses, racing and her contacts in the world of Thoroughbred breeding and racing. Really appreciated Karen's plan to visit farms to suit mine & my sister's interest in race horses. Many thanks to Gayle Woods & Crystal Fernung for making us feel welcome at their superb establishments. Karen, you are a fantastic person, a pleasure to meet, I wish you every success in expanding your Farm Tours of Ocala business in 2014. Looking forward to another visit in 2014!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    17
    2
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Acton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Thanks to Karen, my sister and I got to see behind the scenes of life working with horses. Karen is such a wonderful tour guide....respectful of the people working and her tour participants. The tour exceeding our expectations and we were so happy just to spend time with some incredible horses. Thank you Karen for a fantastic time. Will absolutely recommend your tour to our fellow Canadian and English friends. There is something for everyone.....you don't have to know anything about the horses and Karen was so easy to talk to and ask questions without making you feel stupid! Cannot wait to return to see more. Thank you Karen and also to Barns that let us see behind the scenes. Again.....just awesome

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome tour!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We had a pleasant tour yesterday of some of the most exquisite horse country I have ever seen here in Florida. If you love horses you will enjoy the tour. Our tour guide was awesome!! We saw other breeds of horses besides racing horses. Also got to meet a sweet horse by the name of Wesley. We made three different stops.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lindyclfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farmtoursmanager, Owner at Farm Tours of Ocala, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Yes Wesley is a HAM with lots of personality! He was bottle fed as a baby foal and now at 12, still sticks his tongue out and sucks it. He is my personal horse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ditto the Other Great Reviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

I am late posting this review as we enjoyed Karen's fantastic tour in March but felt I had to ad our opinion. Everything you read in all of the favourable reviews about this tour are correct and there is little additional that can truly be added. If you really want to experience something different that is educational and fun, book yourself on board.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank beachmanToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farmtoursmanager, Owner at Farm Tours of Ocala, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
AWWWWWWWW! Thank you so much!!!!! I actually become a little sad when the tour is over and I watch everyone drive away. It`s like being best friends for 3 hrs.I have been SO fortunate to have the most fantastic tour participants. A lot of husbands still crack me up though. With some, I can sense they were dragged to go on the tour and would rather be golfing. But in the end, they are horse lovers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A great day in Horse Country...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

I don't know if people realize what a unique opportunity this is to see inside the thoroughbred horse world. Karen makes this complex and exclusive world accessible and easy to understand for even the most non-horsey person. We saw a field of shy foals shadowing their beautiful mothers, vets testing for pregnancies, novice racehorses learning to navigate the tracks, and a dozen of the most gorgeous studs you ever saw. We drove quiet, tree-shaded lanes of Marion County with Karen bringing alll the bits and pieces together for us like only a local can do. Karen loves what she does, knows what she's talking about, and her sincerity and sweet perrsonality made the morning fly by. No one on the tour wanted it to end. I can't wait to go again---every tour is a little different because Karen tailors the tours to take advantage of whatever is the most interesting horse events of that particular day.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ticketme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farmtoursmanager, Owner at Farm Tours of Ocala, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
The tours do go by fast don`t they?? :) Thank you SO much and we will see you again soon! Next time those foals will be BIG! They grow fast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Farm Tours of Ocala also viewed

Ocala, Central Florida
Ocala, Central Florida
 
Ocala, Central Florida
 

Been to Farm Tours of Ocala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing