We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Man, my room was really bad...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ocala
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Ocala
Dalton Ma
Level Contributor
150 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Man, my room was really bad...”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Beware...

I think there are many things to consider in judging lodging and I think number one has to be cleanliness...

and in that, this place failed as bad as I've seen in a decade. Bathroom door had something bad splattered on the inside, Linens had stains, bed ruffle had something spilled on it, carpet was badly stained with something 'red', but worst of all was the smell...just terrible...musty and moldy and although it's supposed to be smoke-free, it smelled like smoke...and so did the towels.

God forbid you get up-close to the A/C- Heating unit..that is where the smell is coming from.

Ugh nasty. We had a tough night of sleeping here.

And yes, the room is noisy because it's close to I-75 but I can't hold that against them...My eyes told me where the place was...

And add to that that the Men's room on the main floor near the front desk was 'unusable' due a back up of nastiness...don't they have people to keep an eye on that kinda stuff?

You would never know how much of a 'fail' this place was from the outside.

Beware.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimfromDalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOcala_34474, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ocala, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for reaching out to us through this review. We are sincerely grateful for the fact that you made an effort to ensure that we are aware of our shortcomings. The displeasure you felt with regards to your overall experience is most troubling, and we wish to sincerely apologize for what you found lacking as well as the inconvenience it has brought you. Please know that we will meticulously handle the situation at hand and correct the deficiencies we find particularly in the maintenance of cleanliness. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to improve, and we hope that we may be able to change your perception of our hotel by giving you a far better experience next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    131
    70
    52
    38
See reviews for
218
106
40
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
319 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We have stayed here before but are now looking for another hotel that is further away from I-75. With the way this hotel is situated on the property and how close I-75 is, it is very difficult to get away from the traffic noise. The hotel & the rooms are nice, The breakfast, on the other hand, left a lot to be desired, definitely not up to the usual Country Inn standard.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onehappyretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOcala_34474, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ocala, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
We wish to let you know that we value your loyalty and your constructive feedback. Thank you for reaching out to us and make us aware of the things we may have overlooked during the time of your visit. It troubles us to hear from you that the services during your last visit were not of your liking. Please know that your feedback means so much to us, for it gives us opportunities to correct our shortcomings and improve on our service in total. We apologize for the incurred disturbance, should you wish to stay with us again, please don’t hesitate to request for a much quieter room as we are more than willing to cater to your needs and find a way to deliver you your room of choice. Thank you for inspiring us to do so much better to give you the best service there is to offer. We hope that we could be of service to you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This is our fourth visit to this Hotel, we have family nearby and like to stay somewhere close, the staff have always been very nice to deal with and nothing seems to be a problem, on our most recent visit we had the pleasure of being checked in by Carolyn, she's very efficient, pleasant and the perfect first greeting for any guest, the rooms are always well presented with clean fresh linen and towels, I have read negative reviews of the hotel but my experiences tell a different tale. I have recommended the hotel to friends traveling over from Ireland as it's value for money with easy access to I-75. All told the Hotel isn't the Ritz Carlton but it's a home from home for weary travelers and I will return again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcusoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOcala_34474, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ocala, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Your loyalty means so much to us, knowing that we have consistently met your utmost satisfaction over the years is indeed heart-warming. We consider you a part of our family, and we are overjoyed to extend our sincerest service to you. Your visits have always brought a smile to our faces, and the appreciation you gave pertaining to the convenient location, our reliable staff, and the overall comfort you experienced is what we particularly aim for to give to our valued guests. We thank you for always making us your hotel of choice, and we couldn’t wait to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This hotel isn't great but it will get the job done for a night. It is clean the beds are ok and staff is alright. Parking was fine as I guess it wasn't to busy. I did not try breakfast as people say its gross.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOcala_34474, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ocala, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
We wish to let you know that your voice is of utmost importance to us, and it means a lot to us to know that you have made an effort to inform us of the things we may need to improve to better our services in total. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and pin pointing the deficiency you found with regards to the served breakfast. Rest assured that such matters will be evaluated accordingly and be given prompt actions so that it may be corrected in the best possible way. Thank you for the opportunity to grow and improve more and we certainly hope to be of service to you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Hotel staff upon arrival was pleasant and check in was good.
Bathroom light was flickering for the first 4 seconds or so. All over the bathroom door was splattered with something... hopefully coffee. Small piece of hair that was definitely not mine, found here and there in the bathroom. The wall where a trash bin was placed had all kind of smears. I would have asked to change rooms if I have not taken shower.
A refrigerator was rocking, and inside of it was dirty.
The room was OK. None of the furniture was coordinated and the couch made unpleasant noise when I sat down. The mattress cover was probably a queen size, trying to cover king size mattress.
My previous experience at this hotel was so much better. It is unfortunate that another hotel has become like one of the motels with a numbers with their names. They might as well lower their price to match those.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neillieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOcala_34474, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ocala, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
We sincerely aim to always make the stay of our guests as comfortable and pleasant as possible, which is why it troubles us to hear that we have failed to give you that experience. We wish to let you know that we are indeed very sorry for the inconvenience the entire experience has brought you, especially with the hotel upkeep and the cleanliness in particular. Please know that your voice means a lot to us, and we seriously take all your feedback and evaluate the points we need to do to correct and improve in the delivery of our services. Rest assured that the opportunity you have given us will not go to waste and we will certainly act on such matters to better serve our valued guests. We hope that you reconsider and visit us again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Carolyn at the front desk was very helpful & friendly. The cookies were awesome! The beds were very comfortable after a long trip. Just one small detail that we missed was ice machine on every floor. The continental breakfast was also good

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7lesley3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOcala_34474, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ocala, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
To hear that we have served our valued customer well is indeed heart-warming. Thank you for staying with us, and sharing your wonderful experience to us. It brings us great joy that we have successfully shown you how dedicated we are into serving you. Your positive feedback regarding our reliable staff, the good breakfast, as well as the comfort you felt with the beds is indeed inspiring. Thank you for choosing the Country Inn & Suites Ocala experience, we couldn’t wait to be of service to you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Just back from 3 days in this filthy,smelly dump.Staff nice though.
Checked in,corp booking for me,$104+taxes.
Small dark room,no fridge,no sofa,not nice for 3 days.
Night receptionist,Tangela gave us a replacement,mini suite, fridge,sofa,2 tvs for NO EXTRA FEES.(my wife is a travel agent,perhaps that helped!)Everywhere smelled of bleach/mildew.Fan was going on our floor day and night.Average breakfast but no eggs on 2nd day.Room service!Hah... made bed, new towels, NO cleaning of floors, bathroom or ANYWHERE.No new toiletries by end of stay.
On checkout,manager(?Lydia) upped the rate to $112.50 and would not budge,even though we have 5 more weeks to work in Ocala and need a decent hotel.
Customer lost to Homewood Suites a mile away for the same or less price, with evening manager food and drinks for free!.
Oh,very difficult to return to hotel by car.Have to go past,wait at long light, u-turn then in.
BTW,cant get wifi on wife's Ipad in room.

Room Tip: Use the Hilton ,La Quinta or Homewood for a MUCH better experience.Its a 2 star dump!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hfettuccini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMOcala_34474, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ocala, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and sharing to us your hotel experience. We however apologize for the shortcomings during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests; therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short on some aspects. We have taken note of your valuable comments regarding the cleanliness, the wifi connectivity as well as the availability of stocks in the room in total and we will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again and give you a far better experience next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocala hotels
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocala
Comfort Suites Ocala
#4 of 34 in Ocala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Ocala
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
0.1 mi away
Best Western Ocala Park Centre
0.1 mi away
Hilton Ocala
Hilton Ocala
#3 of 34 in Ocala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ocala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ocala

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ocala
Address: 3720 SW College Rd, Ocala, FL 34474-4441
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Ocala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ocala 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ocala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Ocala Hotel Ocala
Country Inn And Suites Ocala
Country Inn Ocala
Ocala Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ocala Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing