We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique Collection” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don Garlits Museum of Drag Racing

Don Garlits Museum of Drag Racing
Ranked #3 of 56 things to do in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unique Collection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Really enjoyed the tour here. There are lots of one-of-a-kind cars and some very interesting memorabilia for car enthusiasts. Definitely worth the time and money if you like drag racing or fast cars in general.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MileMarker69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    82
    12
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A buried Treasure on a I-75”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

My husband has wonderful memories of his Dad taking him here many, many years ago. So to go back and relive these memories is a treasure in it's self. You don't have to be a Drag Racing fan to appreciate the history and wonderful facts that this museum holds, but if you are, it's even better. The two buildings of Pure History are so much fun to walk through and it's a nice little stop on your way in or out of Florida... It's a buried treasure that Big Daddy has blessed us with:)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim-MikeHaislip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida, Usa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“what a very pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Although not a drag racing fan I accompanied a friend who is keen on the sport and also old cars. I was very pleasantly surprised at the size of the place and especially the number and variety of old cars, trucks etc on display in an adjoin building to the drag racing museum. The staff were very friendly and answered all our questions with enthusiasm. If you like old cars and drag racing this is definitely the place to visit. Very close tot the I75 and all major roads south of Ocala and North of Orlando. Try it out, like me, you will probably be very pleasantly surprised that you can spend 4-5 hours enjoying the exhibits.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank gandiatourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturkie, Arkansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“2nd time here even better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I have been here before and looked forward to coming back here for 7 years. Absolutely love all the cars and stories behind each one. Nice people and make sure you stay at the sleep inn great place also right next to there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It is More Than A Drag Racing Collection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Don Garlits' race cars, OH YEAH, but there is so much more. Antique cars, and some that are just plain old cars. Tools, and other memorabilia abound. . . .AND. . . if you are lucky, as we were, you will get to see, meet, and speak with Don as well.
It was a stop well worth it.
There was a fee, $20 for adults, $15 for all others except children and they are $10. I don't think that it would be that interesting for the "wee" ones, and then that would take from your enjoyment, BUT all things considered my wife and I felt that it would have been worth it at twice the price. I only wish that we had more time that day.
SO, that means I will just have to go again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Don Garlits Museum of Drag Racing also viewed

Ocala, Central Florida
Ocala, Central Florida
 
Ocala, Central Florida
 

Been to Don Garlits Museum of Drag Racing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing