We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retesting the cuisine, is it still as good?”
Review of Apple's Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Apple's Bar & Grill
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery
Ocala, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
883 reviews
686 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Retesting the cuisine, is it still as good?”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

A return trip to see if the restaurant remains as good as it way - YEP! It is! Dinner last night was terrific - the New York Strip Steak ($11.95 - 10 ounce) was as close to perfect as it could get! Sides of potato salad, and broccoli were good as well. Checked - between mouthfuls - with other tables (they had the New York Style pizza) an they raved about it. My friends had the chicken scallipone (excellent) while his partner had the steak too. Everything was great, and the wait staff effeicent and friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    19
    2
    0
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

The food is very good and reasonably priced. The staff are pretty friendly. The place is always clean! I like to watch the TV sometimes and the place is pretty quiet even when it`s busy.

Helpful?
1 Thank PappyCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Beware of this "Rotten Apple"”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

A group of us decided to try Apple's Bar & Grill, what a disappointment. First of all it took a very long time for our server to come over and take our orders. Drinks were, of course, the first order of business after which we ordered appetizers. Seemed that the Big City Sampler was a good way to start (fried mushrooms, poppers, mozzarella sticks and onion rings). Out came a big plate of mostly fried mushrooms (about 20), a couple of mozzarella sticks, two onion rings and three poppers. This came with dipping sauces including marinara, ranch and one that seemed simply like diluted grape jelly. NONE OF THIS WAS GOOD! We ordered soups, salads as well as our main courses. To our dismay the soup, salad and main courses all arrived at the same time. To say the least, most of the food was ice cold by the time we got to it. Various main dishes were ordered, a cheese pizza which was mushy and flopped over when a slice was picked up. Frozen pizza from the supermarket would have tasted better and had better texture. Someone in our party ordered the cheese calzone, which was huge but without flavor. The eggplant parm was obviously frozen, not fresh and tasteless. The eggplant was left almost untouched. At some point we asked for refills of our beverages, those refills never made it to our table. They asked if we wanted to take home the leftovers, which were plentiful. We declined. Normally if customers leave this much food behind a manager will come over and ask if everything was alright. Not Apple's Bar and Grill. We all agree that the only type of person that will enjoy their food are the type that think Chef Boyardee Beefaroni is a gourmet meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyFloridians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ocala,fl
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Great tasting food, no skimping on quality, reasonable prices and a pleasant wait staff.
Referred to us by a friend and last night referred other friends to Apple's. Located in the Ramada Inn on Rte 27 in Ocala. Give it a try.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fussytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“bad”
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Really very bad -soup was luke warm- sanwich terrible- soaked in some strange sauce ...... Never had such a bad expereience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Apple's Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Ocala, Central Florida
Ocala, Central Florida
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing