We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for breakfast”
Review of First Watch

First Watch
Ranked #20 of 479 Restaurants in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: First Watch specializes in delicious creations freshly-prepared to order. Their fresh, award-winning Breakfast, Brunch and Lunch dishes are made using only the best ingredients without the use of heat lamps or deep fryers. The best part is their creative menu features traditional favorites like omelets, pancakes, salads and sandwiches.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I love this place for breakfast or lunch even though it has a healthy menu and I generally go with less healthy menu choices. My go-to meal, breakfast or lunch, is usually whole grain pecan pancakes with a side of ham. The pancakes are huge and cheap, the place is very pretty, and the servers are usually fun. My one complaint is that for some reason they position the coffee cups right at the corner of the tables and I have knocked a couple off over the years. They would save money if they simply put the cups in the middle of the table. There is a reason most restaurants do that! It's also absurdly hard to get into the parking lot if you don't know your way around.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ocalaed_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari T, Guest Relations Manager at First Watch, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
ocalaed_13 - Thank you for all of your breakfast visits over the years! We will pass along your suggestion about the coffee cups. We hope to see you back for a couple more pancakes soon!

Cari, First Watch Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    38
    14
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Bustling diner”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My aunt and I ate lunch here June 19. We each ordered a different version of the quinoa salad, both with chicken breast. We were a little--no, a lot--surprised when a bowl of hot quinoa was set in front of us with no greens in sight. It was a bit like getting a bowl of porridge when you were expecting a green salad. The salads were tasty once we got by the surprise factor, although there could have been more goodies and less quinoa. We each had enough to take home to make a complete meal that evening, with the addition of more typical salad ingredients. This is a bustling place with lots of hard surfaces and high ceilings so it's extremely noisy--impossible to carry out a quiet conversation. We might try it again as my aunt was coveting our neighbour's pancakes.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luvveggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari T, Guest Relations Manager at First Watch, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
luvveggies - Thank you for your visit and feedback! We appreciate your comments about our quinoa bowl and will pass along your suggestions to our culinary team. We do hope you and your aunt come back to see us for some pancakes.

Cari, First Watch Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great food !!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

we always get a great meal each time we visit from a very friendly staff !!!
waffles are yummy and they have a lot of healthier choices !!!
more restaurants should these days !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnanderin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari T, Guest Relations Manager at First Watch, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you, johnanderin! It's great to know you always have a fantastic meal whenever you stop in to First Watch for breakfast, brunch or lunch!

Cari, First Watch Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good breakfast/lunch place”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Basic, simple decor and a nice menu of breakfast selections plus some lunch. Nice mix of customers: business people, students, seniors, friends gathering for coffee and pancakes. Great service. I've always been happy with what I've ordered. Prices may be a little higher than others in the area, but you get what you pay for.
I like knowing what I order is going to be worth it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari T, Guest Relations Manager at First Watch, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
D F - We are happy our breakfast and lunch items and service have always left you impressed. We hope to see you back soon to try more items off our menu!

Cari, First Watch Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
158 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fresh and tasty”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Nice and bright sit down place with good wait staff. We all enjoyed our sandwiches: beefeater, chicken salad, and turkey/bacon. I had a pick 2 w/ salad and sandwich. Fresh, quality ingredients. Parking in back. And great prices.

Helpful?
Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cari T, Guest Relations Manager at First Watch, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Lori P - Thank you for visiting! We are happy you enjoyed our tasty food and fresh ingredients. We hope to see you again soon!

Cari, First Watch Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed First Watch also viewed

 
Ocala, Central Florida
Ocala, Central Florida
 

Been to First Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing