We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service was lacking”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Olive Garden

Olive Garden
Ranked #32 of 477 Restaurants in Ocala
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
312 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“service was lacking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Had the soup and salad for lunch. The chicken and gnocchi soup was amazing. So good. The salad and breadsticks were the same as always, which is reliable and very good. My lunch companion had the same with the added spaghetti with meat sauce for $2.99, which is a very small plate of pasta. The service was very slow and our server didn't check back often enough, which she should have done, since we wanted more soup and salad and we were on a schedule to eat and be on our way. There seemed to be a lot of the employees talking among themselves instead of taking care of the customers.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    54
    22
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

The food was very good, but the service was even better. I wish the Olive Garden were we live ran this way!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank judy047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
175 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“There's a reason for the queue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

One of the nice things about holidaying in the US is the numerous chains of restaurants at which to eat. Some people eschew places like Bob Evans, Cracker Barrel, Red Lobster, etc but while you would not eat at these places all the time, they cannot be beat for consistency of quality and value for money. Our party of five had to wait about 15 minutes for a table (and the queue had not diminished by the time we left). All of us like Italian food and there was nothing not to like here. We had and eggplant parmigiana, a baked parmiagiana shrimp, a baked tiliapia with shrimp, chicken with gnocchi, garlic rosemary chicken and a grilled pork veneto. Salads and soups are complimentary and they will re-fill on request. The food arrived promptly and was tasty and well seasoned. We only had room for a shared dessert and the Tuscan bread pudding was a nice finish to a good meal. The check was a pleasant surprise given the amount of food we had.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paddykhaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
174 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very busy !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Went for a late lunch and it was packed. The waitress clearly had to May tables. Soup and salad was basically one soup and one salad because she was busy. The pasta ordered was a lunch size at dinner prices

Helpful?
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
837 reviews
648 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“On Hwy 200, a little peice of Italy waiting to be tasted.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

My wife and I stopped in for the every famous Soup and salad, for lunch. Changed out minds AFTER lunch and took dinner home with us! Soup and salad are fundamental to begin with, but when the weather is a tad chilly, this is the place to come. Soup was flavorful, and hot. While the salad was chilled and crunchy. We will return, always a great lunch spot!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olive Garden also viewed

Ocala, Central Florida
Ocala, Central Florida
 
Ocala, Central Florida
Ocala, Central Florida
 

Been to Olive Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing