We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious flavor”

Amrit Palace Indian Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 482 Restaurants in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious flavor”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My husband and I ordered vegetable samosas, nan, and chicken curry and aloo gobi (potatoes and cauliflower). The nan was delicious and both the chicken curry and aloo gobi had a delicious flavor. We have been to many Indian restaurants all over the world and we also cook Indian food. We feel that the flavoring that was used in both the chicken and vegetable dishes we had were exceptionally delicious. I wish I knew their secret. The rice which came with the meal was also very good. I didn't care for the potatoes filling of the samosa, and the pie crusty taste of the dough. All in all, I recommend this restaurant highly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChoosySuzy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    98
    30
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
855 reviews
666 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Cuisine of India - How would I know? But it was good!”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The notorious lunch bunch met this afternoon at Amrit Palace (It's closed on Mondays) so, today! Was not sure what I was getting in to. Last time I had lamb it was pretty bad. I should not have listened to my fears. Service was WONDERFUL, we had no longer sat down, the waiter took our orders, he hadn't disappeared yet when the soup was delivered - very good - added a little chutney to boost the flavor, even better! I had lamb Curry, as we all did - terrific! Cubes with spice flavor curry sauce, served with a cup of dal soup, 1/2 nan bread, rice and onion chutney.

We'll be back! WOW




Dinners

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Level Contributor
105 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic, Yummy Food and Great Service”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We love Indian food and have always had difficulty finding great Indian food restaurants. Then we read about Amrit Palace in Ocala…. We decided to give it a try on this past weekend… Wow!! The food was great! Fresh and authentic. We had Veg samosas and papadoms with various chutney for appetizers. All of it was great and I esp loved the mint chutney. Then we had Chicken Curry (medium spice) and veg Biryani for entrees. Again it was lovely! The curry perfect consistency and spice. This was nice change from other places that tend to get it too greasy. Also the chicken was very tender so we know it was cooked nice and slow for long time in the curry. The Naan bread was homemade and fantastic. I wanted to eat a lot more but just had no more room. The hot chai tea was also great. Service was attentive and very professional. The atmosphere of restaurant - very very clean and quiet enough to talk and lovely decor. Location - perfect - right off main road not far from freeway. We are going back for sure!! The price of the meal was very good - I would have expected to pay more and would have gladly. I also noticed that in the back they had a private room entrance - like for larger groups….

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dmacbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“One of the Best Indian Restaurants Anywhere”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is in my opinion is the best restaurant in Ocala. If you are unfamiliar with Indian Cuisine this is a great place to start. Amrit has been in business in Ocala for many years actually coming from a long successful restaurant experience in South Florida under a different name. This experience has given them a depth of knowledge about their Western clientele in appropriately preparing their dishes to be acceptable to Western tastes without loosing any of the authenticity in seasoning and taste. Fans of Indian cuisine drive from all over to come and eat here. Even UF students from Gainesville come here frequently. Lunch is always more moderate in cost compared to the dinner menu.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drjeffh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Indian restaurant in rural Florida”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Amrit is consistently very good and sometimes excellent. The soups, either vegetable or lentil, are savory and worth adding to any meal. A large variety of Indian breads and papadam are available. Entree servings are large and accompanied by white rice in abundance. I am not an expert on Indian cuisine, but the food served is satisfying and flavorful. The kitchen has been extremely accommodating for special requests. Hospitality and cleanliness are high. It is one of a handful of restaurants in Marion County which my wife will patronize. It is superior to Indian restaurants I have tried in major urban areas. My wife and I have eaten there many times.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slocal48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amrit Palace Indian Restaurant also viewed

 
Ocala, Central Florida
 

Been to Amrit Palace Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing