We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ocala, Florida, United States
1 review
“Great Value!!”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I stay at Hojos at least one week out of the month on my way to Jacksonville for business. I can honestly say I would stay nowhere else. Cedric and Adrian have gone above and beyond to ensure that my stays have been comfortable AND affordable. They have a great sense of humor and know just how to put me in a good mood when, I'm exhausted and stressed out from workand traveling. Renee at breakfast also does an amazing job during breakfast, making sure that all the guests are pleased and the buffet area is clean. Kudos to the Howard Johnson crew and upper management for running such an excellent operation!

Room Tip: Across from the lobby. Lower floor is quiet and the rooms are spotless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thank you Fred! The staff at our Howard Johnson Ocala really appriciate your taking the time to say such wonderful things about us on TripAdvisor. I know I speak for Adrian, Cedric, Renee and the rest of our team when I say thank you for staying with us. We love to see familiar faces here at Hojo's!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    467
    221
    101
    64
See reviews for
489
348
182
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Cedric is has a great personality very pleasant and always ready to assist all guest, he is a great asset to Howard Johnson.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ohabailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Bailey, thank you so much for your wonderful review of our Howard Johnson Ocala! What sets us apart from other hotels in our market is absolutely our staff. Great front desk agents like Cedric, Adrian, and Rick ensure that the first thing each guest sees is a smiling face. You can rest assured knowing that our staff are available 24/7 and ready to assist with any problems. Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando,fl
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Me and My Father have stayed here in the past when we went to Ocala speedway. Yhr rooms are just great and the staff was just fineThey also have a place to eat here also and the price is right also. So if you are travling through the Ocala Florida area stop here for the night. This place is GREAT!!!!

Room Tip: Stay here is is worth the money and time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our Howard Johnson Inn Ocala! We really appreciate that you took the time to share your comments with other travelers! Our hotel is lucky to be located only a short distance from the Ocala Speedway and we are always excited when there are racing events there. Hopefully, we can contact the Speedway in order to set up a discounted Ocala Speedway rate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012 via mobile

The stay was nice for the price.The office staff was friendly and helpful. The room was what I expected in regards to cleanliness- it wasn't pristine but I could tell it had been cleaned. The only thing that bothered me about the stay was the smell of the room, it was a little musty/stale but that got a little better with the air conditioner on. The breakfast was okay they offered normal continental breakfast with boiled eggs and waffles.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GirlOutdoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate your staying with us and we will look into the issue that you experienced in regards to a stale smell. We truly want to improve our service through guest feedback and we value your feedback. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gavignano
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This hotel was chosen because we read the many reviews that were written about it. The hotel was conviently located, price was very good, rooms were clean,air conditioning worked very well,and would definitely return there if we have business there again. Did not have a chance to take advantage of the amenities as we were quite busy..a good rating.

Room Tip: Call ahead. They are very helpful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlphbald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Thank you for your review of our Howard Johnson Inn Ocala! We really do appriciate your taking the time to share your experience with others. So many of our guests book online these days based on what they read on sites like TripAdvisor. Your kind words are one of the best reccommendations we can ask for and they help our hotel and our staff trememdously. Again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

My overall score is excellent because of the location, staff, and price. Their price point is excellent and even super-excellent.

Our room had been freshly painted and included the amenities of higher priced hotels.

I was contacted before I checked in via a courtesy call and again after I was in the room. Staff wanted to know if I needed anything.

Service was excellent from check in to check out.

Pros: Cleanliness, price, service, convenience to our race track, parking, ATM, clean pool, access to I75, fresh room.

Cons: Pillows (they suck), I will bring my own next time. Fridge is a bit small, but does the job. Our light above the sink was weak.

Room Tip: We had room 246. It is at the far end of the hotel and trailer parking seems to be better there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FKCSDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Thank you for your review of our Howard Johnson Inn Ocala! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we really appriciate your telling others about our great value and customer service. Our friendly front desk staff always make it a habit to call each day's arriving guests and double check the details of their reservation, asking if thed if there is anything they need, any special accomidations or service. After check-in, we always call to see if the room is up to standards and if we can provide any additional service. We want to make sure your stay is perfect and we are willing to work to get there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Rose, Rick,Cedric,Sam,Kristy, Mark & Chris are THE BEST! The staff there is phenomenal. At first I didn't like the color of the buildings, I was like "here we go". When we went to the front desk, they were perfect. The rooms were clean, the hot tub was great, the pool area was clean...had plenty of towels. You would expect the prices to be higher than they were. It was a great experience. My "friend" and I had a great time. We spent the NEW YEAR there. I just came across my business card and wanted everyone to know that the people there are true professionals and they really do care about the care you get! GREAT JOB GUYS!

Room Tip: The rooms in front of the pool and jacuzzi are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Thank you for spending your New Years with us at the Howard Johnson Ocala. We are so glad that we could be part of your memorable holiday on the road. In the hospitality industry we are open 24/7 365 day a year. Our staff spend their New Years, Christmas, Thanksgivings and Easters at the hotel and it really makes up happy to know that our guests appriciate these efforts. We love spreading holiday cheer all year round! Thanks again for your wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocala hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocala
Comfort Suites Ocala
#5 of 34 in Ocala
328 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Ocala Park Centre
1.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ocala
Red Roof Inn Ocala
#11 of 34 in Ocala
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
13.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
4.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Address: 3951 NW Blitchton Rd, I-75 exit 354, Ocala, FL 34475-6765
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocala
#2 Green Hotel in Ocala
#12 Business Hotel in Ocala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering happiness and value, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida hotel is situated with easy access from I-75 and 4 Miles from Downtown Ocala, Florida Horse Capital of the World. Kick off your day with a free breakfast including Belgian waffles and free WiFi. With 125 rooms located on 10 acres of land, this Ocala, Florida hotel is ideal for families traveling with RV rentals, and includes ample RV and boat parking on-site. This green-certified Ocala, Florida hotel is situated within minutes from the Post Time Horse Farm, home of the annual Horse Shows in the Sun - HITS - Ocala event each winter. As the recipient of Howard Johnson's Best Practices of the Year Award for 2010, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida is dedicated to providing travelers the best combination of cheerful hospitality and convenience with a great value. Find all that this Ocala hotel has to offer within minutes of top attractions including Silver Springs State Park, Wild Waters Water Park, Florida State Fire College, Ocala Rotary Sportsplex, Big Sun Youth Soccer League, Shocker Park Softball Complex, Ocala Breeders Sales and the beautiful fresh water springs (Silver Springs, Salt Springs, Juniper Springs, Alexander Springs, Silver Glen Springs and Rainbow Springs) of the Ocala National Forest. Fun and convenience are a standard at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida with the areas largest outdoor heated pool, poolside cabanas and a relaxing Jacuzzi. In and around this Ocala, Florida hotel you will enjoy a complimentary Rise and Dine Breakfast along with on-site miniature golf, meeting and banquet facilities, and our on-site Howard Johnson's Restaurant.No matter what kind of traveler you are, the Howard Johnson Inn in Ocala, Florida hotel provides the ideal location and incredible value you have been searching for. Go Happy. Go HOJO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Ocala
Ocala Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing