We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tallahassee Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

My Granddaughter and I stayed here one night, on our way to the Orlando-Sanford airport. It was a very pleasant stay--hotel staff were very friendly and helpful--even called me as we were making our way down to Ocala from Tallahassee--just to welcome us, and confirm our approximate arrival time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TallyLassie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you so much for staying at our Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala! We hope that your flight out of Sanford was a pleasant one and that your trip to Orlando-Central Florida was a lot of fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    441
    214
    94
    63
See reviews for
450
333
175
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
Level Contributor
122 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

Probably the cleanest hotel (for the price paid - $44.99 drive up special) I have had the pleasure of staying in. The staff had the best attitudes, and there is a rest. on site. The linens were new and the room was freshly painted and clean. The pool had some nice cabanas. People grilling out. It was a throwback to the days of traveling with my parents in the 60's. Back right up to your door, unload in 1 minute, and off you go!
Great experience!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshades1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you so much for your review of our Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala! We are so glad that you got to experience the classic feel of our hotel. We truly want to bring back the image of Howard Johnson as an old-fashoned, family-friendly place to stay. This is why we provide a mini-golf course, soft serve ice cream, a gift shop with snack and fun knick-knacks, and great service. Our large pool and hot tub have several cabanas, as you mentioned, so that you can enjoy the sunshine without getitng burned. We also have BBQ grills so that you can cook out and feel like you are right in your own backyard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed at the hotel; on 7/09/2012 for 2 nights we had one of their jaccuzzie room which
was very nice. we enjoyed our stay staff was friendly and helpful. We will defintely stay here again it is close to 75 which was great.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Jenney, thank you for your wonderful review of our Howard Johnson Ocala! Many people do not know that we have deleuxe room types such as the room that you mentioned. Some of our rooms provide essentially the same amenities as your typical Holiday Inn Express but at a fraction of the price. Our rooms have the option of of a microwave and mini-fridge, iron & ironing board, in-room safe, free breakfast included, free wi-fi, ethernet ports, coffee maker and more. Additionally, our rooms are spacious and allow both a workspace and sitting area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Place should be closed,dirty full of dead bugs,carpet was filthy white socks turned black after two hours of walking on it,blood on clean sheets.Had to clean room myself,told thats because its a smoking room,health department should& will be called...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Cheryl, although our management does appreciate guest feedback and constructive criticism, your review is very misleading to people considering booking at our hotel. You don't mention many relevant pieces of information about your stay including that you got a full refund, that you not only stayed for days after getting a refund, but that you also extended your stay with us after having issues. You do not mention the great lengths that our staff went to to address your concerns and try to fix any problems which you brought to our attention. You do not mention how our staff has followed up with you after you checked out to further try to pacify you. Our staff is still very willing to speak with you and work with you but we would prefer that you speak with us directly and not vent your frustrations online. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Never stayed at Howard Johnson but this one was remodelled on the outside. Has a fabulous and very clean pool with the perfect temperature day and night. The staff are very friendly and speak when passing you and practically bend over backwards to help you. There is a putt putt course but needed a little work. Typical continental breakfast but for $5 more they would make you what you would like for a hot breakfast. Staff took extra time to tell me about the town of Ocala and the springs near there. The only downfall was that it is off the interstate so you do get some traffic noise and the room is painted burnt orange. However the rooms are clean. It was a great value.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weeniedoglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review of our Howard Johnson Ocala hotel! We are so pleased that our friendly and helpful staff could tell you about the area and that our renovations made your stay better. We are planning on a BIG renovation of our Lobby and fitness center in the next few months and hope that you get a change to stop by again and see the changes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Through hours of research, I decided to stay at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala. I found it to be professionally operated hotel. The staff like Barbara, Heather and Bridgette were all very helpful and friendly. Many hotels in this area are not as good in my opinion. There may be several trucks parked in front of the building facing the interstate with their reefers running all night. There were towels for the guests at the swimming pool, and the water and the whirlpool water were clean. I saw security patrolling the grounds. The price to value ratio was excellent. Meeting space was available and there was a fitness facility onsite.

Room Tip: ADA guests on first floor. Rooms close to reception may be quieter. Complimentary Continental breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conciergeforyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at our Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala! Our staff works very hard to offer a great product at a great price. As you mentioned, we have a wonderful pool and hot tub. Our staff patrols the hotel grounds at regular intervals in order to ensure that there is no rowdy behavior. If guests report noisy neighbors, our staff will respond ASAP to quite things down. We may cater to truckers and other highway traffic but we expect all of our guests to be respectful of one another and we try to maintain a safe, comfortable, and family-friendly atmosphere so that every guest can feel at home with us. Thank you for sharing your experience with others!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STUART
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

The room was clean, bed was comfortable and everything was in good working condition. the pool and hot tub were clean and nice. They have coin operated laundry facilities which were in good shape. There is plenty of parking. The hotel is older but seems to be fairly well maintained. We had a room right above the pool and covered patio area. It was convenient for swimming but was pretty noisy all night long.

Room Tip: There was a lot of all night partying at the pool area so a room away from the pool would probably b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Although we are an older property, we invest a lot of time and effort into maintaining our facility. We are even working to renovate and update as funds allow. We recently replaced bedding and added accent walls in the rooms. In the near future we will be starting a significant renovation of our lobby and restaurant area. We do apologize for the noise issues that you experienced with us but are pleased that you felt you received a good value for the price you paid. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocala hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocala
Comfort Suites Ocala
#4 of 34 in Ocala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
1.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ocala
Red Roof Inn Ocala
#10 of 34 in Ocala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocala Park Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Ocala
12.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ocala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Address: 3951 NW Blitchton Rd, I-75 exit 354, Ocala, FL 34475-6765
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocala
#2 Green Hotel in Ocala
#12 Business Hotel in Ocala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering happiness and value, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida hotel is situated with easy access from I-75 and 4 Miles from Downtown Ocala, Florida Horse Capital of the World. Kick off your day with a free breakfast including Belgian waffles and free WiFi. With 125 rooms located on 10 acres of land, this Ocala, Florida hotel is ideal for families traveling with RV rentals, and includes ample RV and boat parking on-site. This green-certified Ocala, Florida hotel is situated within minutes from the Post Time Horse Farm, home of the annual Horse Shows in the Sun - HITS - Ocala event each winter. As the recipient of Howard Johnson's Best Practices of the Year Award for 2010, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida is dedicated to providing travelers the best combination of cheerful hospitality and convenience with a great value. Find all that this Ocala hotel has to offer within minutes of top attractions including Silver Springs State Park, Wild Waters Water Park, Florida State Fire College, Ocala Rotary Sportsplex, Big Sun Youth Soccer League, Shocker Park Softball Complex, Ocala Breeders Sales and the beautiful fresh water springs (Silver Springs, Salt Springs, Juniper Springs, Alexander Springs, Silver Glen Springs and Rainbow Springs) of the Ocala National Forest. Fun and convenience are a standard at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida with the areas largest outdoor heated pool, poolside cabanas and a relaxing Jacuzzi. In and around this Ocala, Florida hotel you will enjoy a complimentary Rise and Dine Breakfast along with on-site miniature golf, meeting and banquet facilities, and our on-site Howard Johnson's Restaurant.No matter what kind of traveler you are, the Howard Johnson Inn in Ocala, Florida hotel provides the ideal location and incredible value you have been searching for. Go Happy. Go HOJO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Ocala
Ocala Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing