We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for the price you pay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good value for the price you pay”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Very fair price for what you get, better than any other motel we've been to so far! The highway is very close and therefore, it's not very quiet, but it wasn't bothering us. Breakfast was okay, nothing special, but we wouldn't have expected one at that rate...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3DeeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank you for your review of our Howard Johnson of Ocala. We are so pleased that we could give you more value than you expected. Often times, people will book a budget hotel and be disappointed at the lack of amenities and services. We work to make the opposite happen. We can't promise to offer everything that the Hilton has but we believe that we can meet and beat the values offered by other budget hotels in the Ocala area. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    447
    215
    100
    64
See reviews for
461
342
176
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala FL
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We live in Ocala but needed a place to stay for two nights. This was an inexpensive option - it was a pleasant surprise to find this property. It was reasonably updated; rooms and lobby were sparkling clean, breakfast was standard and even though it is right on a busy highway, the road noise was not disturbing. The nicest thing were the people - every staff member we encountered treated us well, and they appeared to enjoy doing their job. If we needed a place to stay again, we'd chose this hotel.

We had a room on the first level and I suspect it would be a bit quieter on the second floor. Didn't use the pool or spa.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haydenbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Thank you so much Barb! We are so pleased that your found our local Ocala Howard Johnson hotel to be a perfect fit for your needs. As you mentioned, our pricing is very economical and we work hard to provide a lot of bang for your buck. We always want to provide a clean room, great service and lots of little amenities like the breakfast, heated pool and hot tub, and fitness center. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enola
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2013

This hotel is near the interstate and is easy to get to. I recently stayed twice in two weeks and had two different rooms. Both were nice and clean. Internet connections were good. On the down side, one of the rooms was not equipped with an adjustable desk chair.

Based on prior reviews, I tried the restaurant (roast chicken). I thought it was okay for the money and would eat there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Enola_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Thank you for staying at our Howard Johnson of Ocala. We are pleased that you enjoyed your dinner in our restaurant and found our rooms to be clean with good wi-fi. We certainly hope that if you continue to travel through Ocala in future, you consider staying with us again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bargersville, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I have stayed here several times and have always had a great experience. The staff is like no other! Every person is extremely friendly and makes you feel at home instead of in a hotel. I feel like a welcomed home friend instead of a guest. I have gone 50 miles out of my way to come back and will continue to do so to stay at my new home away from home. I had a small issue while there but Cedric took care of it immediately !!! Thanks guys, you're the best !!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Thank you so much Kim! It is true that our front desk staff, housekeepers, restaurant staff and maintenance staff truly love what they do and treat each guest like family. We are always excited to see a familiar face and when we get return guests like yourself, it is always like welcoming an old friend. Thank you for seeing this and telling others about our friendly atmosphere!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We spent one night here on our way home from a trip. Upon check-in, the front desk clerk was very friendly and pleasant. Once we got our room keys, we drove over to the next building where our room was. We arrived around 9:30 p.m., so it was completely dark outside. The parking lots were very poorly lit, and although there were lights along the exterior corridors, the room numbers on the doors were almost impossible to read until we walked right up to them.

This appears to be an older hotel. Our room was clean, but it smelled somewhat musty. The TV was in a cabinet with sides on it, and the whole thing was positioned near the couch and door area, making it difficult to view while sitting on the bed. The room was a fairly good size and contained a couch, large desk and chair, small round table and chair, frig and microwave, and king size bed. There was plenty of lighting in the room itself, and it appeared that the walls had been recently repainted. Some of the curtain hooks were unhooked, making the curtain droop a bit, but at least the window was covered. One of the extra locks on our door was loose, rendering it useless.

The bathroom offered just 2 towels, which were thick but fairly small. The tub/shower combo had a curved shower rod and a deluxe shower head, and hot water was available almost instantly. There was no exhaust fan, but there was a window high in the shower wall that was open when we arrived. We shut and locked it because it seemed big enough for a small person to climb through. The lighting over the bathroom sink was very dim, and because the counter was quite deep, it was difficult to lean close enough to the mirror in order to see well enough to apply my makeup.

This hotel is right next to the interstate. We always travel with an air purifier for white noise, but without that running, we would have noticed the noise of the interstate traffic quite a bit.

We were anxious to be on our way in the morning, but in order to save money we wanted to eat the hotel breakfast before leaving. The night clerk had told us that breakfast started at 6:15, so we dawdled a bit before driving over to the main building which contained the restaurant and breakfast area. When we arrived a few minutes early, I said something to the morning desk clerk about being a bit early for breakfast. She airily replied, “Oh, breakfast has been ready for an hour.” I said, “I thought it wasn’t open until 6:15.” She said, “We just have to tell people that.” If we had known this, we would have gotten an earlier start on our day by coming to breakfast sooner.

I thought that because there was a restaurant on site, the free continental breakfast would be somewhat decent. However, we were pretty disappointed. Breakfast consisted of a pitiful selection of mini-bagels and other small pastries, a waffle maker, cold hard-boiled eggs, and coffee.

Because of the exterior corridors, the poor parking lot lighting, the loose door lock, and the distance of our building from the main office, I did not feel entirely safe here. The next time I am in this area, I will definitely consider other options.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melodie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Thank you for your review. As a budget property, we are somewhat limited in what we offer to our guests. Unlike a Hampton where you pay 50% more, you will not get omelets or bacon, however, we do provide made to order waffles, fresh fruit, fresh baked banana bread, cereals, boiled eggs, pastries, juice and coffee. This is complimentary however, we offer hot breakfast combos for about $5. Our breakfast is technically open at 6:15 but if our attendant has things ready before then, we are happy yo serve any guests who may show up before then.

As for safety concerns, we have the automatic door locks, the deadbolt and the slide lock. I am sorry that the slide lock was loose. We do patrol the property regularly to ensure that there are not any rowdy guests being loud.

Although we understand that you were not impressed by our hotel, we encourage other travelers to peek at your photos and see exactly what you saw. Although our hotel may be a bit older, it is still clean, spacious and has many amenities that other budget hotels do not. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, WI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Late in the rainy Florida evening we got into Ocala looking for a hotel, and were lured in by neon-advertised low rates at the Howard Johnson. For this price, we expected a shabby but hopefully clean room. Imagine our surprise to find luxurious accommodations priced far below their worth. The room was impeccably clean and well-appointed, including mini-fridge, microwave, and coffee pot. The bathroom was new and fresh, with lots of fluffy white towels. The hotel amenities included free Wi-Fi that worked flawlessly, on-premise guest laundry, and a bathtub warm heated pool and hot tub. There was also free room service and breakfast that we didn't take advantage of. Seriously, this hotel has it all. However, one of the best features of this hotel was the personal attention to detail shown by the courteous staff. The desk clerk explained all the hotel features upon checkin and personally pointed out details about the pool, such as where the extra pool-side towels were kept. I could not get one of the soda machines to take my dollar bills and happened to mention it when I went to the front desk to get change - as I was leaving I overheard the clerk noting to another staff member to "make sure to get the pop machine checked out before the end of the shift" (this was 10PM at night) - many places would just not even bother with something so small, but this night crew seemed to take extraordinary pride in the hotel and seemed very concerned about my small little problem with the soda machine (I was able to purchase a soda at the front desk, so no real problem). My husband and I are talking about visiting Florida again next winter, and we talked about spending the entire vacation in Ocala because it's just such a good value. Not related to the hotel, but we also had a great time taking country drives in the surrounding horse-country area which is so beautiful with rambling lanes full of live oaks draped in moss.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Thank you so much Lori! We are absolutely glowing at the wonderful comments that you have for our Howard Johnson of Ocala staff. We truly hope that you and your husband do come back. Ocala has a wealth of activities and things to do. Most people who stop here only see the tip of the iceberg but Ocala truly has a lot to offer. If you are interested in finding out more, then you can visit our website, http://hotelocala.com/things-to-do/ . Here you will find a wealth of resources and if there isn't enough there to plan your vacation, our friendly front desk staff are always pleased to tell you about the area and what there is to do. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

Excellent customer service, room was clean, but dated. Stopped on our way through town. Nice location in that it was directly off the expressway. It included a continental breakfast which was nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamthule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Thank you for your review of our Howard Johnson of Ocala! We are pleased that our friendly staff could make you feel at home. Our property is a bit older as you mentioned but we are constantly improving. For instance, we are replacing the bathroom tile and vanities one by one and will be resurfacing the parking lots in the near future. We also work to replace the carpeting and furniture as funds allow. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocala hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocala
Comfort Suites Ocala
#4 of 34 in Ocala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ocala
Red Roof Inn Ocala
#12 of 34 in Ocala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Ocala Park Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Ocala
12.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ocala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Address: 3951 NW Blitchton Rd, I-75 exit 354, Ocala, FL 34475-6765
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocala
#2 Green Hotel in Ocala
#12 Business Hotel in Ocala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering happiness and value, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida hotel is situated with easy access from I-75 and 4 Miles from Downtown Ocala, Florida Horse Capital of the World. Kick off your day with a free breakfast including Belgian waffles and free WiFi. With 125 rooms located on 10 acres of land, this Ocala, Florida hotel is ideal for families traveling with RV rentals, and includes ample RV and boat parking on-site. This green-certified Ocala, Florida hotel is situated within minutes from the Post Time Horse Farm, home of the annual Horse Shows in the Sun - HITS - Ocala event each winter. As the recipient of Howard Johnson's Best Practices of the Year Award for 2010, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida is dedicated to providing travelers the best combination of cheerful hospitality and convenience with a great value. Find all that this Ocala hotel has to offer within minutes of top attractions including Silver Springs State Park, Wild Waters Water Park, Florida State Fire College, Ocala Rotary Sportsplex, Big Sun Youth Soccer League, Shocker Park Softball Complex, Ocala Breeders Sales and the beautiful fresh water springs (Silver Springs, Salt Springs, Juniper Springs, Alexander Springs, Silver Glen Springs and Rainbow Springs) of the Ocala National Forest. Fun and convenience are a standard at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida with the areas largest outdoor heated pool, poolside cabanas and a relaxing Jacuzzi. In and around this Ocala, Florida hotel you will enjoy a complimentary Rise and Dine Breakfast along with on-site miniature golf, meeting and banquet facilities, and our on-site Howard Johnson's Restaurant.No matter what kind of traveler you are, the Howard Johnson Inn in Ocala, Florida hotel provides the ideal location and incredible value you have been searching for. Go Happy. Go HOJO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Ocala
Ocala Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing